Amos Oz: The Israeli author died at the age of 79

"My beloved father died of cancer today," with these words, Fania Oz-Salzberger (58) has announced the death of Israeli writer Amos Oz ("A story of love and darkness"). He was 79 years old. In her tweet she also wrote that her father fell asleep peacefully, surrounded by his sweetheart. "I thank everyone who loved him," says the 58-year-old historian.

Awarded and politically active

The award-winning author was born under the name of Amos Klausner in Jerusalem, the son of Ukrainian immigrants. His novels are about life in the kibbutz and the history of Israel. His novel "A Story of Love and Darkness" made him world famous. The book was filmed in 2015 with Oscar winner Natalie Portman (37, "Black Swan") in the lead role.



His other works include "Judas," "My Michael," "The Perfect Peace," or "Another Place." His books have been translated into 36 languages, making him the most translated Israeli author. He was repeatedly considered a candidate for the Nobel Prize for Literature, but could never receive the award. He received numerous other awards such as the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade (1992), the Goethe Prize of the City of Frankfurt am Main (2005) or the Siegfried Lenz Prize (2014).

Oz was also politically active. He was a member of the peace movement Shalom Achschaw (peace now) and always spoke against the Israeli occupation policy.

Israeli author Amos Oz dies at 79 (May 2021).



Twitter, Amos Oz, Death, Fania Oz-Salzberger, A Story of Love and Darkness

Amos Oz: l'auteur israélien est mort à l'âge de 79 ans

Fania Oz-Salzberger (58 ans) a annoncé aujourd'hui le décès de l'écrivain israélien Amos Oz ("Une histoire d'amour et de noirceur"). Il avait 79 ans. Dans son tweet, elle a également écrit que son père s'était endormi paisiblement, entouré de son amour. "Je remercie tous ceux qui l'ont aimé", a déclaré l'historien de 58 ans.

Récompensé et politiquement actif

L'auteur primé est né à Jérusalem sous le nom d'Amos Klausner, fils d'immigrés ukrainiens. Ses romans parlent de la vie dans le kibboutz et de l'histoire d'Israël. Son roman "Une histoire d'amour et de ténèbres" l'a rendu célèbre dans le monde entier. Le livre a été tourné en 2015 avec Natalie Portman (37 ans, "Black Swan"), lauréate d'un Oscar, dans le rôle principal.



Ses autres œuvres incluent "Judas", "Mon Michael", "La paix parfaite" ou "Un autre endroit". Ses livres ont été traduits en 36 langues, ce qui en fait l'auteur israélien le plus traduit. Il a été à plusieurs reprises considéré comme candidat au prix Nobel de littérature, mais n'a jamais pu recevoir ce prix. Il a reçu de nombreux autres prix tels que le prix de la paix du livre allemand (1992), le prix Goethe de la ville de Francfort-sur-le-Main (2005) ou le prix Siegfried Lenz (2014).

Oz était aussi politiquement actif. Il était membre du mouvement pour la paix Shalom Achschaw (paix maintenant) et a toujours parlé contre la politique d'occupation israélienne.

L'écrivain israélien Amos Oz est mort d'un cancer à l'âge de 79 ans (Février 2023).



Twitter, Amos Oz, Mort, Fania Oz-Salzberger, Une histoire d'amour et de ténèbres