Beloved double life

How do I do that with child and work? Is that even possible? "Almost all mothers have asked themselves at some point Dagmar Reiß fencer, But for her the answer was clear: "That has to go." The lawyer was in the middle of her traineeship when she first became pregnant.

Stay home now? With such an education? "Everyone in my area would have shaken their heads." First, her mother, who ran a canteen and funded her daughter's studies. Then the grandmother, who always had her own income as a cook. Dagmar Reiß-Fechter learned as early as childhood that women, including mothers, go to work, just like men. She wanted that as well: "I told my husband from the beginning: He only gets me with my job." With her life model was the 54-year-old in the 70s an exotic. Her husband, who was in agreement with her, had an exotic effect on her: childcare is a matter for both parents.



As a photojournalist Hans-Rainer Fechter mostly worked in the evening, during the day he took care of the two daughters. In the afternoon, a nanny helped him, and in the evening his wife came punctually out of the office to replace him. Often the custom work was to the minute. In addition to this, the young mother initially worked and hired between several occupations: in addition to her work as a trainee lawyer, she was preparing for her state examination and was a research associate at the university. Even on Christmas days she learned for the exams, next to the stroller with the new-born daughter Marthe, and under the Christmas tree 160 seminar papers piled up to correct.



Only later, with two small children, has she become the principle: not to take work home. Although the responsibility grew bigger and bigger. The lawyer rose to Oberkirchenanwältin, then to the managing director with 150 employees and 70-hour work week. But at home she was only a mother. "Otherwise you get bogged down."

"What a stress," many say, when Dagmar Reiß-Fechter, now managing director of a housing construction company, tells about it today. That's right: the everyday life of a working mother is easily the ordeal. In the morning before the job, the first "shift" at home: "Quick, children, we are too late." Hunt through the work day and back home from work in the evening. Only rarely have time for a bar evening with colleagues or friends, for sports, theater, reading. Always needed somewhere where you are not right now.

Decision for a double life: job and children

The smaller the children, the bigger the bad conscience? to the family as well as to the employer. Because no one can be both a 24-hour mother and a worker available at all times. All this is incompatible with the claim of many women to be perfect everywhere. And what do you answer to questions and comments like, "Why are you doing this? That must be hell!" "Oh, what," says Dagmar Reiß-Fechter. She would always opt for the double life as a career and family wife again: "I was suddenly much looser in the job," recalls the 54-year-old. Her duties took her seriously, but conflicts no longer so personal. Her first boss distrusted her: "It was hard for him to endure a woman in a responsible position, and then a working mother, that was suspicious." The supervisor eyed every move, asking behind her back if others were happy with her.



She bounced that off: "There was nothing wrong with my work, he had a problem, not me." And she still had her second life. Sometimes she literally fled from one to the other. Whenever she had a business dinner in the evening, she was glad to say good-bye to the many gray gentlemen: "My children are waiting at home." Conversely, she was only too happy to go to the office when her daughters whined about food, the weather, or just a bad mood.

Today, Dagmar Reiß-Fechter is "proud of my two girls", who build their own lives. And she encourages her family members to stay on the ball at work. However, she knows from the women around her that many are quarreling. The full-time family women ask themselves: Do I possibly miss the connection in the job? Will the pension be enough later? The non-stop workers, on the other hand, doubt: am I caring enough about the family? Does not it hurt my child that I'm not there during the day?

Of course, a lot remains on the track in everyday life, says the manager. As long as it was not about life-important things, Dagmar Reiß-Fechter always saw that with calmness: "The household was unimportant to me, so I never intended to be perfect, nor was I a super mother." That's what their daughters like. "That was just right," says Marthe, the Elder."I still do not like it when someone keeps looking over my shoulder, we were able to do whatever we wanted in the afternoon, and we learned to take responsibility for ourselves, but you were always there for us, in any case . "

I also want recognition from the outside.

If her mother had not shown her how to reconcile family and work, "then I would not have thought so," says daughter Marthe proudly. Her children Benedikt and Lena were born when she was in the middle of business studies. That was planned. The question "How do I do that with child and work?" the 28-year-old has not asked. She knew from her mother how to do it. Eike Ostendorf from the Association of Working Mothers confirms that this model of life lies in the family, so to say: "If a mother continues working in her profession, the daughter is likely to do the same later." Although Marthe is now completing her studies as a distance learning course, she also manages a hotel with her husband and mother-in-law. "I could not just be at home, I also want external recognition," she says.

What working mothers have to learn rather than others: let go. They are usually not present when the child makes the first move, the first word says. Some regret this. Others are happy about the second word. Like Marthe, who got a kindergarten place early for her son. She knows him in good hands with the educators, and he loves to play with his peers.

But a good child care within reach is rare. Most mothers therefore have to "constantly perform this care egg dance," such as Beate Eisinger that's called. Are you rushing out of the office in a panic because the cribs are more busy than they are? or reduce their number of hours.

As a half-time worker, the satisfaction in the job is only half

That would have been out of the question for Beate Eisinger. "As a half-time worker," she says, "you do not feel the full satisfaction at work: Whenever it gets interesting or critical, you're not there." In addition, in her marriage she brought home a secure income as an employee of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry. Her husband Günter had a temporary contract as an editor when the first child was born. He ran out soon. For both it was clear: He would stay home afterwards. But not just because of the money: "I'm not so into parenting," says the 46-year-old, "too little patience, I know what I can do at work, but as a mother you're always a dilettante."

If she had been there when the kids once spilled a bag of flour, she would have had a tantrum, she says. Her husband took out the video camera and filmed the "white splendor" under the kitchen table. When Günter Mayr-Eisinger signed a permanent contract shortly after the birth of the second child, the two brought two shocks to the environment at once, his wife recalls: "Günter went on child-care leave, that was awesome in his company There was great amazement in the office when I returned. "

For the Eisinger family, the father is usually there for the children Judith and Matthias during the day. "He tries harder than some mothers," the two say about him

At first, however, did Beate Eisinger have a hard time with her new role? especially when a child got sick: "Then you have a bad conscience and think: I have to be with him as a mother." Really? The first time, when both children were sick, Beate Eisinger raced home from the office to help her husband. He had already packed the children to bed and cooked them tea: "The three came wonderfully without me."

"Dad was there," says her 13-year-old daughter Judith. "If both parents were sitting by my bed, I would not have gotten better faster." Her 14-year-old brother Matthias thinks, "We have it as well as others, or even better, Daddy is more bothered with us than some mothers." Even if Beate Eisinger did not wipe every tear and did not play every game? Now she is looking forward to seeing her children grow into conversation partners. At the dinner table, they give tips on how best to counter with inappropriate criticism, or recommend her an outfit for an important appointment.

On the weekend, mother and daughter like to treat themselves "such a real woman's pleasure" and go "like two coffee fans" in the chocolate factory. Beate Eisinger enjoys both life, both professional and private.

Erika Kelz For decades had little time to enjoy. Her husband was an electrician at a fertilizer company and on Mondays during assembly. She herself worked nine hours a day in the office, including Saturdays. And by the way done the household almost alone. "But that was quite normal," says the 61-year-old smiling, "at least in our time." In the GDR, the full-time job was self-evident for almost all women. And her husband's income would probably not have been enough for the family. "But I also like to work", says Erika Kelz afterwards.When she talks about the office without any point or comma and the former colleagues she's meeting with today, they think so right away. And she works until today. After the turn she opened a small sports shop with her husband. Since his death, she continues to lead it alone, although she could retire already. As far as gainful employment is concerned, the mothers in the new Länder are still reliant on women in the West, twice as many working. "Mum did it right," says Erika's daughter Claudia, today mother of two children.

It is important to stand on your own feet

Claudia is not only cut out of her mother's face. She has also taken the attitude from her: "The responsibility for your own life should not be out of the hands." When she separated from her first partner, she realized how important it is to stand on her own. Therefore, Claudia continues to work in her profession, although many would say that especially their three-year-old daughter Luisa still needs them. And even though she has to travel a lot as a sales representative. Erika Kelz strengthens her daughter's back.

What upsets both of them is, "When a mother works, she is asked if she needs it, not if it is her need." And Erika Kelz wonders where the fathers are, why so few feel responsible for their children in their everyday lives: "Workshops for mothers:? How do I enforce my equal rights at home?" Somebody would have to offer it here. "

For her mother it was not easy between partnership, the children, the profession, and all the lives. "It's just a question of discipline," says Dagmar Reiß-Fechter energetically. "I have to send an e-mail quickly, is that possible?" She sometimes says when greeting her when she visits her daughter. "That's how I know you," Marthe says with a grin. "You are unbelievably organized." The mother used to have to do that, but she also enjoyed her daily routine, which was often played to the minute: "Playing with the children in the morning, talking about a building sum of ten million at lunchtime and then calm down a social tenant." That was my elixir of life, "she says.

Charges Filed In Locust Point Shooting That Claimed Life Of Beloved Local Bartender (April 2020).



Double life, conscience, CCI, children and job

Double vie bien-aimée

Comment est-ce que je fais cela avec l'enfant et le travail? Est-ce même possible? "Presque toutes les mères se sont demandé à un moment donné Dagmar Reiß escrimeur, Mais pour elle, la réponse était claire: "Cela doit aller." L’avocate était au milieu de son stage quand elle est tombée enceinte.

Reste à la maison maintenant? Avec une telle éducation? "Tout le monde dans ma région aurait secoué la tête." Tout d'abord, sa mère, qui tenait une cantine et a financé les études de sa fille. Puis la grand-mère, qui a toujours eu son propre revenu en tant que cuisinière. Dagmar Reiß-Fechter a appris dès son enfance que les femmes, y compris les mères, vont au travail, tout comme les hommes. Elle le voulait aussi: "J'ai dit à mon mari depuis le début: Il ne me trouve que mon travail." Avec son modèle de vie était la 54 ans dans les années 70 un exotique. Son mari, qui était d'accord avec elle, avait un effet exotique sur elle: la garde des enfants est l'affaire des deux parents.



En tant que photojournaliste, Hans-Rainer Fechter travaillait surtout le soir. Pendant la journée, il s'occupait des deux filles. Dans l'après-midi, une nounou l'aida et le soir sa femme sortit ponctuellement du bureau pour le remplacer. Souvent, le travail personnalisé était à la minute. En plus de cela, la jeune mère a d'abord travaillé et engagé entre plusieurs professions: en plus de son travail d'avocate stagiaire, elle s'est préparée à l'examen d'État et a été assistante de recherche à l'université. Même les jours de Noël, elle a appris pour les examens, à côté de la poussette avec la fille naissante Marthe, et sous le sapin de Noël 160 documents de séminaire entassés pour les corriger.



Ce n’est que plus tard, avec deux jeunes enfants, qu’elle est devenue le principe: ne pas ramener le travail à la maison. Bien que la responsabilité devienne de plus en plus grande. L'avocat s'est ensuite rendu à Oberkirchenanwältin, puis au directeur général avec 150 employés et une semaine de travail de 70 heures. Mais à la maison, elle n'était qu'une mère. "Sinon, vous vous enlisez."

"Quel stress", disent beaucoup, quand Dagmar Reiß-Fechter, aujourd'hui directrice générale d'une entreprise de construction de logements, en parle aujourd'hui. C'est vrai: le quotidien d'une mère qui travaille est facilement l'épreuve. Le matin avant le travail, le premier "quart de travail" à la maison: "Vite, les enfants, nous sommes trop tard." Traquez la journée de travail et rentrez du travail le soir. Ce n'est que rarement le temps d'une soirée au bar avec des collègues ou des amis, du sport, du théâtre ou de la lecture. Toujours nécessaire quelque part où vous n'êtes pas en ce moment.

Décision pour une double vie: travail et enfants

Plus les enfants sont petits, plus grande est la mauvaise conscience? à la famille ainsi qu'à l'employeur. Parce que personne ne peut être à la fois une mère et une travailleuse disponibles 24h / 24. Tout cela est incompatible avec l'affirmation de nombreuses femmes d'être parfait partout. Et que répondez-vous aux questions et commentaires tels que "Pourquoi faites-vous cela? Ce doit être un enfer!" "Oh, quoi", dit Dagmar Reiß-Fechter. Elle opterait toujours pour la double vie de femme de famille et de carrière: «Je fus soudain beaucoup plus souple dans mon travail», se souvient la femme de 54 ans. Ses devoirs la prenaient au sérieux, mais les conflits n'étaient plus si personnels. Son premier patron s'est méfié d'elle: "Il était difficile pour lui de supporter une femme dans un poste de responsabilité, puis une mère qui travaillait, c'était suspect." Le superviseur observait chaque mouvement, demandant derrière son dos si les autres étaient satisfaits d'elle.



Elle a rebuté ça: "Il n'y avait rien de mal avec mon travail, il avait un problème, pas moi." Et elle a toujours eu sa deuxième vie. Parfois, elle se sauvait littéralement de l'un à l'autre. Le soir, chaque fois qu'elle prenait un dîner d'affaires, elle était heureuse de dire au revoir à ses nombreux messieurs gris: «Mes enfants attendent chez eux. À l’inverse, elle n’était que trop heureuse d’aller au bureau lorsque ses filles gémissaient au sujet de la nourriture, du climat ou simplement d’une mauvaise humeur.

Aujourd'hui, Dagmar Reiß-Fechter est "fière de mes deux filles", qui construisent leur propre vie. Et elle encourage les membres de sa famille à rester vigilants au travail. Cependant, elle sait par les femmes autour d'elle que beaucoup se disputent. Les femmes de la famille à temps plein se demandent: est-ce que je manque éventuellement le lien avec le travail? La pension sera-t-elle suffisante plus tard? Les non-stop, par contre, doutent: est-ce que je me soucie assez de la famille? Ça ne fait pas mal à mon enfant que je ne sois pas là pendant la journée?

Bien sûr, il reste beaucoup de choses sur la piste au quotidien, explique le manager. Tant qu'il ne s'agissait pas de choses importantes pour la vie, Dagmar Reiß-Fechter a toujours vu cela avec calme: "La maison ne m'importait pas, alors je n'avais jamais voulu être parfaite ni une super mère." C'est ce que leurs filles aiment. "C'était parfait", dit Marthe, l'aînée."Je n'aime toujours pas quand quelqu'un continue de regarder par-dessus mon épaule, nous avons pu faire ce que nous voulions l'après-midi et nous avons appris à assumer nos responsabilités, mais vous avez toujours été là pour nous. ".

Je veux aussi une reconnaissance de l'extérieur.

Si sa mère ne lui avait pas montré comment concilier famille et travail, "alors je ne l'aurais pas pensé", dit fièrement sa fille Marthe. Ses enfants Benedikt et Lena sont nés lorsqu'elle était en train de faire des études de commerce. C'était prévu. La question "Comment puis-je faire cela avec l'enfant et le travail?" le 28 ans n'a pas demandé. Elle savait par sa mère comment le faire. Eike Ostendorf, de l'Association des mères de famille qui travaillent, confirme que ce modèle de vie réside dans la famille, pour ainsi dire: "Si une mère continue à exercer sa profession, sa fille fera probablement de même plus tard." Bien que Marthe termine actuellement ses études en tant que formation à distance, elle gère également un hôtel avec son mari et sa belle-mère. "Je ne pouvais pas simplement être chez moi, je voulais aussi une reconnaissance externe", dit-elle.

Ce que les mères qui travaillent doivent apprendre plutôt que les autres: lâchez-vous. Ils ne sont généralement pas présents lorsque l’enfant fait le premier pas, dit le premier mot. Certains le regrettent, d'autres sont heureux du second mot. Comme Marthe, qui a eu une place à la maternelle tôt pour son fils. Elle le connaît bien avec les éducateurs et il aime jouer avec ses pairs.

Mais une bonne garde d'enfants à portée de main est rare. La plupart des mères doivent donc "pratiquer constamment cette danse des soins", telles que Beate Eisinger ça s'appelle. Êtes-vous en train de sortir du bureau en panique parce que les berceaux sont plus occupés qu'ils ne le sont? ou réduire leur nombre d'heures.

En tant que travailleur à mi-temps, la satisfaction au travail est seulement de moitié

Cela aurait été hors de question pour Beate Eisinger. "En tant que travailleuse à mi-temps", dit-elle, "vous ne ressentez pas la satisfaction totale au travail: chaque fois que cela devient intéressant ou critique, vous n'êtes pas là." En outre, lors de son mariage, elle a obtenu un revenu sûr en tant qu'employée de la Chambre de commerce et d'industrie. Son mari, Günter, avait un contrat temporaire d’éditeur lorsque le premier enfant est né. Il a vite manqué. Pour les deux, c'était clair: il resterait chez lui après. Mais pas seulement à cause de l'argent: "Je ne suis pas tellement fan de la parentalité", dit la femme âgée de 46 ans, "trop ​​peu de patience, je sais ce que je peux faire au travail, mais en tant que mère, vous êtes toujours une dilettante."

Si elle avait été là lorsque les enfants ont renversé un sac de farine, elle aurait eu une crise de colère, dit-elle. Son mari a sorti la caméra vidéo et a filmé la "splendeur blanche" sous la table de la cuisine. Lorsque Günter Mayr-Eisinger a signé un contrat permanent peu de temps après la naissance du deuxième enfant, les deux hommes ont provoqué deux chocs en même temps dans l’environnement. Il y avait une grande surprise dans le bureau quand je suis rentré. "

Pour la famille Eisinger, le père est généralement présent pour les enfants Judith et Matthias pendant la journée. "Il essaie plus fort que certaines mères", disent les deux

Au début, cependant, Beate Eisinger at-elle eu des difficultés avec son nouveau rôle? surtout quand un enfant est tombé malade: "Alors tu as une mauvaise conscience et tu penses: je dois être avec lui en tant que mère." Vraiment? La première fois, lorsque les deux enfants étaient malades, Beate Eisinger s'est rendue à la maison en courant pour aider son mari. Il avait déjà préparé les enfants au lit et leur avait préparé du thé: "Les trois sont venus à merveille sans moi."

"Papa était là", dit sa fille Judith, âgée de 13 ans. "Si les deux parents étaient assis à côté de mon lit, je ne me serais pas améliorée plus vite." Matthias, son frère de 14 ans, pense: "Nous l'avons aussi bien que d'autres, ou même mieux, papa est plus dérangé par certaines mères que nous." Même si Beate Eisinger n'a pas essuyé chaque larme et n'a pas joué à tous les jeux? Elle a maintenant hâte de voir ses enfants devenir des interlocuteurs. À table, ils donnent des conseils sur la meilleure façon de contrer les critiques inappropriées ou de lui recommander une tenue pour un rendez-vous important.

Le week-end, mère et fille aiment se gâter comme "le plaisir d'une vraie femme" et se rendre "comme deux fans de café" dans la chocolaterie. Beate Eisinger aime la vie professionnelle et privée.

Erika Kelz Pendant des décennies, nous avons eu peu de temps pour en profiter. Son mari était électricien dans une entreprise d'engrais et le lundi lors du montage. Elle-même travaillait neuf heures par jour au bureau, y compris le samedi. Et au fait, le ménage presque seul. "Mais c'était tout à fait normal", dit en souriant la femme de 61 ans, "du moins à notre époque". En RDA, le travail à temps plein était une évidence pour presque toutes les femmes. Et le revenu de son mari n'aurait probablement pas été suffisant pour la famille. "Mais j'aime aussi travailler", dit ensuite Erika Kelz.Quand elle parle du bureau sans point ni virgule et des anciens collègues avec lesquels elle se réunit aujourd'hui, ils le pensent tout de suite. Et elle travaille jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Après le virage, elle a ouvert un petit magasin de sport avec son mari. Depuis sa mort, elle continue à la diriger seule, bien qu'elle puisse déjà prendre sa retraite. En ce qui concerne les emplois rémunérés, les mères des nouveaux Länder dépendent toujours des femmes de l’Ouest, deux fois plus que celles qui travaillent. "Maman a bien fait les choses", déclare Claudia, fille d'Erika, aujourd'hui mère de deux enfants.

Il est important de se tenir debout

Claudia n'est pas seulement coupée du visage de sa mère. Elle a également repris son attitude: "La responsabilité de votre propre vie ne devrait pas être hors de portée des mains." Lorsqu'elle s'est séparée de son premier partenaire, elle a réalisé à quel point il est important de rester seule. Claudia continue donc d'exercer sa profession, même si beaucoup diraient que leur fille, Luisa, âgée de trois ans, en a toujours besoin. Et même si elle doit beaucoup voyager en tant que représentante des ventes. Erika Kelz renforce le dos de sa fille.

Ce qui les contrarie tous les deux, c'est: "Quand une mère travaille, on lui demande si elle en a besoin, pas si c'est son besoin." Et Erika Kelz se demande où sont les pères et pourquoi peu de gens se sentent responsables de leurs enfants dans leur vie quotidienne: "Ateliers pour les mères: Comment faire respecter mes droits égaux à la maison?" Quelqu'un devrait le proposer ici. "

Pour sa mère, ce n'était pas facile entre le partenariat, les enfants, le métier et toutes les vies. "C'est juste une question de discipline", déclare avec énergie Dagmar Reiß-Fechter. "Je dois bientôt envoyer un e-mail, est-ce possible?" Dit-elle parfois lorsqu'elle rend visite à sa fille. "C'est comme ça que je te connais," dit Marthe avec un sourire. "Vous êtes incroyablement organisé." La mère avait l'habitude de le faire, mais elle appréciait également sa routine quotidienne, qui était souvent jouée à la minute: «Jouer avec les enfants le matin, parler d'une somme de dix millions de dollars à construire, puis calmer un locataire social.

Plus jamais victime ! (Téléfilm) (Juillet 2022).



Double vie, conscience, CCI, enfants et travail