Burma: "We have to think about the future"

Finally, someone who has seen with their own eyes tells. Two women, one man, traveling for Welthungerhilfe in the delta of the Irrawaddy. For one week they provided emergency food to the survivors and now they have returned to the city of Yangon. They took a shower, slept one night and now they have come to Welthungerhilfe's office to report. It's the first personal report since the team started distributing supplies in the Delta.

For three days we are in Yangon. We are here to report on the relief effort in the disaster area. But we sit in the city with its golden pagodas, their beautiful colonial buildings, their streets, which have long since been largely tidied up, like in a golden cage. The city of Yangon is cordoned off, foreigners are not allowed to pass the arterial roads. The internet is slow and censored. The newspapers, printed in rough grid points, provide photos of the army's operations: tents, lined up in rows. The president distributes food to starving children. Helicopters on runways. Soldiers unloading boxes of relief supplies. But they do not provide a reliable impression of the situation in the Delta.



Just as the CDs with videos from the Delta, which are traded on the street since yesterday. Souvenir traders sell them for the equivalent of three euros, while at the newsboy on the street she buys the local population for half. Helicopters on runways, men unloading. Riverside lined with scrubby trees. Water bodies. Who filmed it? When and where? Why and for whom?

And now they are here. Two women and one man. They want to report to the emergency aid team of Welthungerhilfe. We have promised not to mention their names and not to show them in the picture, nor to say where they come from and where they belong. Because the government has forbidden the local population to contact the foreign press by punishment. "We do not want to endanger the people who work for us," says Angela Schwarz, the program manager. The risk of being arrested is too great. Schleppend come the first words. The man puts a list on the table. "Here you can see where we have distributed," he says. "We've built a team and told people how such a distribution should be." And then he is silent. Looks at the paper in his hand. Sink together.

Officially, the government of Myanmar wanted to master the disaster on its own merits, for aid organizations from abroad, the use was prohibited in the affected areas, The classic disaster scenario - teams of experts travel to the affected areas as quickly as possible - so they could not take action. So what? To explore the limits to save people, Welthungerhilfe decided. Like some other organizations, they asked their local staff who was willing to travel to the Delta at short notice and, if possible, to distribute emergency rations there, as a civilian force alongside the military. Some were wanted, many answered.

When the three drove into the disaster area last Monday, they thought that they would be back by the day after. They were the vanguard, should find out what is feasible. There are currently 15 local Welthungerhilfe employees working in the Delta, they work with the National Red Cross, the World Food Program and others and are supported by a number of volunteers.



The three returnees put a card on the table, showing what they have already done: Five communities in Bogale county are supplied with rice, lentils and oil for the next two weeks. That's 30 villages, so 2,500 households, so 12,500 people. According to UNICEF, 430,000 live alone in this region. "Our goal is to reach 10,000 households in the next few weeks," says office manager Angela Schwarz in the round. Silence. And: "We have to start thinking about the future, the reconstruction, the next six months, the next two years." More silence. "We do what we can," says one woman softly.

And then it gushes out of her: Whole villages have been wiped out, the storm has broken the trees, even uprooted the posts of the houses, "there's nothing left," she says. The survivors have fled. Where they could find shelter, the refugees live crowded together. Hardly anyone wants to go back so far. "The pain is too deep," says one, "they do not dare, they cling to each other."

Particularly hard hit is the island of Kyun Thar Yar. Of the formerly 15,918 inhabitants, only 2,617 survived. Among the dead were especially many women and children."Men," says one of the returnees, "climbed on the coconut palms and clung to themselves, which saved them." People are still paralyzed. Only the villagers from nearby villages come to the county town of Bogale to organize their own help. With boats. By land, the region is not accessible. Employees of Welthungerhilfe then load relief supplies from the interim storage facility, which they have set up in a monastery of the monks. They go out with them to organize the distribution. Who gets his ration, must quit. "German thoroughness," says Angela Schwarz.

"What do you need?", Ask the staff of the office in Yangon. "Life jackets," the man says spontaneously. You dread the rides through this water landscape. It is rainy season, the storms come suddenly and violently. "Then there are huge waves," he says. Many of the boats the storm has spared are leaking. In addition: Because the banks are empty, it is also difficult for the locals to orient themselves. And: bodies are floating everywhere. Although the water has flushed many out towards the sea. But no one is moving out to recover her. "The first, second, third will change your mind," says the man, "but there are so many!"

Tomorrow morning, the three return to the Delta. With mixed feelings. But at least with good news: The government has announced that the work is no longer illegal in the future. The disaster was over, according to the Ministry of Health and Social Affairs. Now comes the phase of construction. Aid organizations registered in the country may now also work in the delta. However only with her local staff. The foreigners remain in the golden cage.



Donations account of Welthungerhilfe

If you want to support the work of Welthungerhilfe in Burma, you can transfer donations to the following account: World hunger Help Keyword "emergency aid Myanmar / Burma" Account 1115Sparkasse KölnBonnBLZ: 370 501 98

BURMA: AUNG SAN SUU KYI CONSIDERS HER FUTURE (October 2020).



Welthungerhilfe, disaster area, Cornelia Gerlach, helicopter, Myanmar, Burma, Burma, cyclone, victim, catastrophe

Birmanie: "Nous devons penser à l'avenir"

Enfin, quelqu'un qui a vu de ses propres yeux le dit. Deux femmes, un homme, voyageant pour Welthungerhilfe dans le delta de l'Irrawaddy. Pendant une semaine, ils ont fourni de la nourriture d'urgence aux survivants et sont maintenant rentrés dans la ville de Yangon. Ils ont pris une douche, ont dormi une nuit et viennent maintenant au bureau de Welthungerhilfe pour faire un rapport. C'est le premier rapport personnel depuis que l'équipe a commencé à distribuer des fournitures dans le Delta.

Pendant trois jours nous sommes à Yangon. Nous sommes ici pour rendre compte des efforts de secours dans la zone sinistrée. Mais nous sommes assis dans la ville avec ses pagodes dorées, leurs beaux bâtiments coloniaux, leurs rues, depuis longtemps en grande partie rangées, comme dans une cage dorée. La ville de Yangon est bouclée, les étrangers ne sont pas autorisés à passer par les artères. Internet est lent et censuré. Les journaux, imprimés en points de grille approximatifs, fournissent des photos des opérations de l'armée: des tentes alignées en rangées. Le président distribue de la nourriture aux enfants affamés. Hélicoptères sur les pistes. Les soldats déchargent des boîtes de fournitures de secours. Mais ils ne donnent pas une impression fiable de la situation dans le delta.



Tout comme les CD contenant des vidéos du Delta, qui sont échangés dans la rue depuis hier. Les commerçants de souvenirs les vendent pour l’équivalent de trois euros, tandis qu’au vendeur de journaux dans la rue, elle achète la moitié de la population. Des hélicoptères sur les pistes, des hommes déchargés. Riverside bordée d'arbres maussades. Les masses d'eau. Qui les a filmés? Quand et où? Pourquoi et pour qui?

Et maintenant ils sont là. Deux femmes et un homme. Ils veulent faire rapport à l'équipe d'aide d'urgence de Welthungerhilfe. Nous avons promis de ne pas mentionner leurs noms et de ne pas les montrer sur la photo, ni de dire d'où ils viennent et où ils appartiennent. Parce que le gouvernement a interdit à la population locale de contacter la presse étrangère par punition. "Nous ne voulons pas mettre en danger les personnes qui travaillent pour nous", a déclaré Angela Schwarz, responsable du programme. Le risque d'être arrêté est trop grand. Schleppend sont les premiers mots. L'homme met une liste sur la table. "Ici, vous pouvez voir où nous avons distribué", dit-il. "Nous avons constitué une équipe et expliqué aux gens comment une telle distribution devrait être." Et puis il se tait. Regarde le papier dans sa main. Coule ensemble.

Officiellement, le gouvernement du Myanmar a voulu maîtriser le désastre selon ses mérites. Pour les organisations humanitaires étrangères, l'utilisation était interdite dans les zones touchées., Le scénario catastrophe classique - des équipes d’experts se rendent dans les zones touchées le plus rapidement possible - pour qu’elles ne puissent agir. Quoi alors? Welthungerhilfe a décidé d'explorer les limites pour sauver les gens. Comme d’autres organisations, ils ont demandé à leur personnel local disposé à se rendre dans le Delta à court préavis et, si possible, à y distribuer des rations d’urgence, en tant que force civile aux côtés de l’armée. Certains étaient recherchés, beaucoup ont répondu.

Lorsque les trois hommes se sont rendus dans la zone sinistrée lundi dernier, ils ont pensé qu'ils seraient de retour le lendemain. Ils étaient à l'avant-garde, devraient trouver ce qui est réalisable. Actuellement, 15 employés de Welthungerhilfe travaillent dans la région du Delta. Ils travaillent avec la Croix-Rouge nationale, le Programme alimentaire mondial et d'autres, et sont soutenus par un certain nombre de volontaires.



Les trois rapatriés ont mis une carte sur la table, montrant ce qu'ils ont déjà fait: Cinq communautés du comté de Bogale reçoivent du riz, des lentilles et de l'huile pour les deux prochaines semaines. Cela représente 30 villages, soit 2 500 ménages, soit 12 500 personnes. Selon l'UNICEF, 430 000 vivent seuls dans cette région. "Notre objectif est d'atteindre 10 000 ménages dans les prochaines semaines", a déclaré la responsable du bureau, Angela Schwarz. Silence. Et: "Nous devons commencer à penser à l'avenir, à la reconstruction, aux six prochains mois, aux deux prochaines années." Plus de silence. "Nous faisons ce que nous pouvons", dit une femme doucement.

Et puis ça lui jaillit: des villages entiers ont été anéantis, la tempête a cassé les arbres, même déraciné les poteaux des maisons, "il ne reste plus rien", dit-elle. Les survivants ont fui. Là où ils ont pu trouver un abri, les réfugiés vivent rassemblés. À ce jour, personne ne veut vraiment revenir en arrière. "La douleur est trop profonde", dit l'un d'eux, "ils n'osent pas, ils se collent les uns aux autres".

L'île de Kyun Thar Yar est particulièrement touchée. Sur les 15 918 habitants, seuls 2 617 ont survécu. Parmi les morts se trouvaient surtout beaucoup de femmes et d'enfants."Les hommes," dit l'un des rapatriés, "ont grimpé sur les cocotiers et se sont accrochés à eux-mêmes, ce qui les a sauvés." Les gens sont encore paralysés. Seuls les villageois des villages voisins se rendent dans le chef-lieu de Bogale pour organiser leur propre assistance. Avec des bateaux. Par voie de terre, la région n'est pas accessible. Les employés de Welthungerhilfe chargent ensuite des secours depuis le dépôt provisoire qu’ils ont installé dans un monastère de moines. Ils sortent avec eux pour organiser la distribution. Qui reçoit sa ration, doit cesser de fumer. "La rigueur allemande", déclare Angela Schwarz.

"De quoi avez-vous besoin?", Demandez au personnel du bureau de Yangon. "Les gilets de sauvetage", dit l'homme spontanément. Vous redoutez les manèges à travers ce paysage aquatique. C'est la saison des pluies, les tempêtes arrivent soudainement et violemment. "Ensuite, il y a d'énormes vagues", dit-il. De nombreux bateaux épargnés par la tempête ont des fuites. De plus: comme les banques sont vides, il est également difficile pour les habitants de s’orienter. Et: les corps flottent partout. Bien que l’eau ait jailli beaucoup vers la mer. Mais personne ne déménage pour la récupérer. "Les premier, deuxième, troisième changeront d'avis," dit l'homme, "mais il y en a tellement!"

Demain matin, les trois retournent au Delta. Avec des sentiments mitigés. Mais au moins avec une bonne nouvelle: le gouvernement a annoncé que le travail n’était plus illégal à l’avenir. La catastrophe était terminée, selon le ministère de la Santé et des Affaires sociales. Vient maintenant la phase de construction. Les organisations humanitaires enregistrées dans le pays peuvent désormais également travailler dans le delta. Cependant, seulement avec son personnel local. Les étrangers restent dans la cage dorée.



Compte de dons de Welthungerhilfe

Si vous souhaitez soutenir le travail de Welthungerhilfe en Birmanie, vous pouvez transférer des dons sur le compte suivant: Welthungerhilfe Mot-clé "Aide d'urgence Myanmar / Birmanie" Compte 1115Sparkasse KölnBonnBLZ: 370 501 98

Transition to sustainable energy - VPRO documentary - 2010 (Avril 2021).



Welthungerhilfe, zone sinistrée, Cornelia Gerlach, hélicoptère, Myanmar, Birmanie, Birmanie, cyclone, victime, catastrophe