Choir Workshop in Tuscany


Intermezzo in the Abbey of San Galgano

The afternoon light shines brightly through the arched window above the altar of the Abbey of Sant 'Antimo. A Benedictine monk in a white robe walks silently away among the tall pillars. It smells like incense. This place is so quiet that you have to whisper involuntarily.

But we open our mouths: "Alta Trinitá Beata" twelve women and four men sing into the silence; and the walls shake the sounds back and forth like ping-pong balls. Surprised, a few tourists look up from their travel guides, in which they have probably just read that the fantastically chiselled capital in the portico shows the prophet Daniel in the lions' den. Surrounded like the stone Daniel - that's how I feel in the face of our involuntary audience.

Skeptically, I watch our listeners singing out of the corner of our eyes. But no one looks as if he wants to jump up and flee out into the olive grove - or attack us like a lion, to silence us. On the contrary. Some close their eyes, seeming to sink into our program of meandering Gregorian chants and ancient Renaissance harmonies. And then it's over: our final concert. The highlight of our journey.



Singing break: small hike in the surrounding area

"Vocal Expedition - the Sound of the Churches" is the name of the weeklong course to which I registered in the gloomy German early spring. And it does not mean any churches, but the most beautiful in Tuscany. When you call up the homepage of the music holiday provider "Musica Viva", the first thing you see is a cappuccino cup, on the foam of which someone dusted two notes with cocoa powder. Perfect, I thought: Cantare and cappuccino. I love to sing so much that in recent years I have explored extensively "the sound of the bathroom" and trimmed whole arias in the shower. Then the names of the Tuscan churches read like gentle, enticing melodies: Sant 'Antimo, San Galgano, La Mulas. I booked and traveled on Pentecost. The thing with the final concert I had probably overlooked. This performance is still pleasantly far away, as our group sits at lunch on the terrace of our course house - the millennial Castello di Monte Antico between Siena and Grosseto. Round gently rolling hills that ebb in the misty sfumato as in the paintings of old Italian masters; on our plates bruschetta from tomatoes and Tuscan white bread. We make our first contacts: Monika from Wuppertal is the youngest member of the group in her early thirties, Peter - a retired teacher from Zurich - at just under seventy the oldest. Doris brought her husband along for the class. He has booked the trip for a reduced price as a passive companion and forms in the following days in all churches our mostly singular, always stoic audience.



I order the first cappuccino of the holiday. In the creamy milk foam is definitely music in it, even if there are no notes on it. But we get so much from them, because course leader Ute von Genat has organized our singing program tightly: Every morning we do yoga exercises in the sunlit courtyard or under a maple tree in the garden of the Castello, plucking the "tiredness spirits" out of our bodies; suck the air of the Tuscan spring into our lungs, then breathe it out in the music salon again to "Ning" and "Nong".

House facade in Siena

It quickly becomes clear that anyone who wants to sing here must not be embarrassed. In order to feel where the sounds in the body produce the most vibrations, we turn our ears and nose. In another exercise, we push our nostrils upwards - with this expression we could also pose well for a family photo of Miss Piggy.

It is more pleasant to open your nose when we leave the castle area in the afternoon. When the minibus spits us out on one of the streets winding through the hills. Already at the bus stop the scent of broom and lavender beats us along the way. A few ambitious people unpack their walking sticks, but our hiking and church guide Jörg has chosen easy routes. I smell the smell of sage, olive trees, holm oaks - only the fruits of the strawberry tree, which I roll between the palms, give off hardly any aroma: they are not yet ripe. In the fields flecked by poppies, insects are chirping in many voices.

Similar to our group at the first attempts in ensemble vocals, in which our voices murmured in the morning were still a little undecided to "Du Stern des Abend". As a choir, we are not even bad - only the number of men is lacking.Luckily, Jörg knows all the pieces we learn from his earlier vocal expedition work. His bass is our unshakable foundation. And sometimes Ute helps with her perfectly trained mezzo-soprano, if we interpret a melody too freely.



In the valley, the Orcia and the Ombrone flow together

Over time, however, we lose our fear of our own voice. In the Santuario della Madonna della Carità of Seggiano, we really get going: Punching out pointed notes. Long puffing sounds. "Uhhs" and "Ahhs". The sounds and their echoes mingle to form a soundscape that a twelve-tone composer could not have thought up more radically.

Now and then a giggle mingles with the soundscapes. The inhabitants of Seggiano would also laugh if they could see how a few Germans are singing around in their church. Touching along the walls. Jostle against the church stalls: Ute and Jörg blindfolded us before we entered the church through the oak-beam door. So we perceive the sounds that we give when wandering from us much better: Under the dome it echoes stronger. In the side corridor, the voice sounds filigree. Like bats, we try to tell by the echo how high the ceiling is at the place where we are currently tapping. I realize that this vocal expedition explores both inner and outer resonance spaces.

Finally, we make a little polonaise around the benches, without towels, to the pilgrim song "Stella splendens". After all, we are here in a pilgrimage church. The painted Madonna above the altar with lace doilies smiles.

Yoga and breathing exercises in the courtyard

"Try not to rate everything", Ute recommended us on the first afternoon. A good piece of advice - otherwise my unleashed singing rage would probably alienate me a little. My bathroom arias at home were subdued, if only because of the neighbors. Here, on the other hand, I behave as if I were standing on an opera stage all day: When I open the shutters in the morning, I send an "Ave vera virginitas" to the distant volcanic cone of Monte Amiata. Followed by a "Maria Himmelskönigin" when jumping into the pool in the garden. After all, I can still dominate the dinner, which we get served at large wooden tables in the former knights' hall. And do not break out at the sight of orecchiette, crespelle with aubergine filling or lasagne al forno in "hallelujah".

The others are similar. One evening, after ten o'clock, I sneak into the garden to watch the fireflies in the bushes. The ear-worm of the journey in my direction blows through the open arched windows of the music salon: "Two little wolves go in the dark at night". A classic of every choir free time that even the non-connoisseurs of us had on pretty fast. Spurred on by a few glasses of Chianti Classico, most of us gather in the music room every night. The group is now in such a state of flux that they probably blew the roof off the San Galgano Abbey, one of the last stops on our tour. Fortunately, the old walls have not had a roof for a long time anyway.

Now they sing "Evening silence everywhere". Eve? Yes - the constellation of Orion shines above me. Silence? No. But the nearest town, Paganico, is far away. And the operator family of the Castello contributes our presence with composure - and routine: Here are also regularly beginner courses for saxophone instead.

One day a week is free. Time to sweep the notes out of the head. Like most, I drive to nearby Siena. The midday heat is burning on the Campo in front of the town hall, the coffee is three times as expensive as in the Castello, but it is good to just sit there and keep silent. Children ride their scooters over the pavement, orbiting the tourists lying on the Campo in the sun. The others in the choir enjoy their abstinence phase. In the old town our ways intersect, but we greet each other only briefly, strolling ice licking on through the alley, the bags full of sweet Sienese Panforte. Consider the offer of Dolci in "Nanninis" pastry, chew pizza with salsiccia. And find in the crowd crowding on the cathedral square between souvenir stands, the peace that can come to the individual in the crowd.

I enter the striped nave of the cathedral. It's huge compared to the small rural churches we've visited so far. The murmur of the visitors echoes from the ceiling vault, lets me guess the great acoustics of the room. Already I get a relapse - and would like to spontaneously celebrate "Laudamus virginem". At the sight of the many tourists, I make my mouth but then very quickly closed again. I prefer to save my courage. For the final concert.

Travel Info Choir Workshop in Tuscany

Musica Viva.The music holiday organizer offers vocal tours between Siena and Grosseto, in the Arno valley south of Florence and in the South Tyrolean Vinschgau.In the morning vocal exercises and rehearsal of Gregorian and Renaissance works, in the afternoon hikes to churches: Here one explores the effect of the voice on the room (one week double / half board 810 euros, plus 150 euros for bus transfers and hiking guides). www.musica-viva.de

GETTING THERE For example, with Lufthansa from Munich or Frankfurt to Florence: there and back from 99 euros. With TUIfly from Hannover (from April), Cologne / Bonn and Stuttgart (from 12 March) to Pisa: round trip from around 48 euros.

PHONE Area code to Italy 00 39, then always dial the 0 of the local dialing.

READ Tuscany & Umbria. Lonely Planet, for the first time in German language; In addition to many insider tips, the book offers special topic boxes and various route suggestions: a trip to various World Heritage sites, a children's tour, a five-city trip. In detail: The chapter about Florence covers nearly 80 pages (Lonely Planet Publications, 17, 50 Euro). Time for Tuscany. Strolling in Lucca, Cycling in Florence, Treatments in Montecatini Terme: In essays and opulent pictures, author Thomas Migge and photographer Mirko Milovanovic present 33 goals that you can feel comfortable with. With tips for sightseeing, shopping, sleeping and feasting (C. J. Bucher Verlag, 29.90 euros). Tuscany. Literary travelogues that arouse longing: for endless cypress avenues, romantic mountain villages and Brunello. Author Felicitas Mayall describes Tuscany off the beaten tourist track. A sensual book, not only because of the numerous recipes (Sanssouci, 14,90 Euro).

INFO Florence and surroundings: Via Cavour 1 r, I-50129 Florence, Tel. 055/29 08 32, www.firenze turismo.it. ? Maremma and surroundings: Viale Monterosa 206, I-58100 Grosseto, Tel. 05 64/46 26 11, www.lamaremma.info.

Wild Voice Tuscany 2018 (July 2020).



Tuscany, vacation, olive grove, lavender, VIVA Media, Pentecost, Florence, Wuppertal, Zurich, Italy, Tuscany, vacation, travel, vacation, recreation, churches, choir, workshop

Atelier de chorale en Toscane

Intermezzo à l'abbaye de San Galgano

La lumière de l'après-midi brille à travers la fenêtre cintrée au-dessus de l'autel de l'abbaye de Sant 'Antimo. Un moine bénédictin en robe blanche s'éloigne silencieusement parmi les hauts piliers. Ça sent l'encens. Cet endroit est si calme que vous devez murmurer involontairement.

Mais nous ouvrons la bouche: "Alta Trinitá Beata" douze femmes et quatre hommes chantent dans le silence; et les murs agitent les sons comme des balles de ping-pong. Surpris, quelques touristes lèvent les yeux de leurs guides touristiques, dans lesquels ils viennent probablement de lire que la capitale fantastiquement ciselée du portique montre le prophète Daniel dans la fosse aux lions. Entouré comme une pierre, Daniel - c'est ce que je ressens face à notre public involontaire.

Sceptiquement, je regarde nos auditeurs chanter du coin de l'œil. Mais personne ne semble vouloir sauter et s’enfuir dans l’oliveraie ou s’attaquer à nous comme un lion pour nous faire taire. Au contraire. Certains ferment les yeux, semblant s’enfoncer dans notre programme de chants grégoriens et d’anciennes harmonies de la Renaissance. Et puis c'est fini: notre dernier concert. Le clou de notre voyage.



Pause chantante: petite randonnée dans les environs

"Expédition vocale - le son des églises" est le nom du cours d’une semaine auquel je me suis inscrit au début du printemps allemand, sombre. Et cela ne signifie pas des églises, mais les plus belles de la Toscane. Lorsque vous appelez la page d'accueil du fournisseur de musique "Musica Viva", la première chose que vous voyez est une tasse à cappuccino, sur la mousse de laquelle une personne a saupoudré deux notes de poudre de cacao. Parfait, j'ai pensé: Cantare et cappuccino. J'aime tellement chanter qu'au cours des dernières années, j'ai exploré de manière approfondie «le son de la salle de bain» et j'ai coupé des airs entiers sous la douche. Ensuite, les noms des églises toscanes se lisent comme des mélodies douces et attrayantes: Sant 'Antimo, San Galgano, La Mulas. J'ai réservé et voyagé à la Pentecôte. La chose avec le concert final que j'avais probablement négligé. Cette performance est encore agréablement éloignée puisque notre groupe s’assoit pour le déjeuner sur la terrasse de notre maison de cours - le millénaire Castello di Monte Antico entre Sienne et Grosseto. Des collines doucement arrondies, reflétant le sfumato brumeux comme dans les peintures de vieux maîtres italiens; sur nos assiettes bruschetta de tomates et pain blanc toscan. Nous établissons nos premiers contacts: Monika de Wuppertal est le plus jeune membre du groupe au début de la trentaine, Peter - un enseignant à la retraite de Zurich - à un peu moins de soixante-dix ans. Doris a amené son mari pour la classe. Il a réservé le voyage à prix réduit en tant que compagnon passif et forme les jours suivants, dans toutes les églises, notre public majoritairement singulier et toujours stoïque.



Je commande le premier cappuccino des vacances. La mousse de lait crémeuse contient définitivement de la musique, même si elle ne contient pas de note. Mais nous recevons beaucoup d'eux, car le responsable du cours, Ute von Genat, a organisé notre programme de chant avec précision: chaque matin, nous faisons des exercices de yoga dans la cour ensoleillée ou sous un érable dans le jardin du Castello, arrachant les "esprits fatigués" de notre corps; aspirez l'air de la source toscane dans nos poumons, puis respirez à nouveau dans le salon de musique pour "Ning" et "Nong".

Façade de la maison à Sienne

Il devient vite évident que quiconque veut chanter ici ne doit pas être gêné. Pour sentir où les sons du corps produisent le plus de vibrations, nous nous tournons les oreilles et le nez. Dans un autre exercice, nous poussons les narines vers le haut. Avec cette expression, nous pourrions également bien poser pour une photo de famille de Miss Piggy.

Il est plus agréable d'ouvrir le nez quand on quitte le château l'après-midi. Quand le minibus nous a craché dans l'une des rues serpentant à travers les collines. Déjà à l'arrêt de bus, l'odeur du balai et de la lavande nous bat le long du chemin. Quelques personnes ambitieuses déballent leurs cannes, mais notre guide de randonnée et d'église, Jörg, a choisi des itinéraires faciles. Je sens l'odeur de la sauge, des oliviers, des chênes verts - seuls les fruits de l'arbousier, que je roule entre les palmiers, ne dégagent guère d'arôme: ils ne sont pas encore mûrs. Dans les champs pavés de coquelicots, les insectes pépient de nombreuses voix.

Semblable à notre groupe lors des premières tentatives de chant d'ensemble, nos voix murmurées le matin étaient encore un peu indécises pour "Du Stern des Abend". En tant que chorale, nous ne sommes même pas mauvais - seul le nombre d'hommes fait défaut.Heureusement, Jörg connaît toutes les pièces de son travail d’expédition vocale. Sa basse est notre base inébranlable. Et parfois, Ute l'aide avec sa mezzo-soprano parfaitement entraînée, si nous interprétons une mélodie trop librement.



Dans la vallée, l'Orcia et l'Ombrone coulent ensemble

Avec le temps, cependant, nous perdons notre peur de notre propre voix. Au Santuario della Madonna della Carità de Seggiano, nous allons vraiment de l’avant: nous préparons des notes pointues. Longs sons soufflants. "Uhhs" et "Ahhs". Les sons et leurs échos se mêlent pour former un paysage sonore qu'un compositeur de douze tons n'aurait pu imaginer plus radicalement.

De temps en temps, un rire se mêle aux paysages sonores. Les habitants de Seggiano riraient également s’ils voyaient comment quelques Allemands chantent dans leur église. Toucher le long des murs. Bats-toi contre les stands de l'église: Ute et Jörg nous ont bandé les yeux avant d'entrer dans l'église par la porte en chêne. Nous percevons donc beaucoup mieux les sons que nous émettons lorsque nous nous égarons: sous le dôme, le son résonne plus fort. Dans le couloir latéral, la voix sonne en filigrane. Comme les chauves-souris, nous essayons de dire par l’écho de la hauteur du plafond à l’endroit où nous tapons actuellement. Je réalise que cette expédition vocale explore les espaces de résonance interne et externe.

Enfin, nous faisons une petite polonaise autour des bancs, sans serviettes, à la chanson de pèlerin "Stella splendens". Après tout, nous sommes ici dans une église de pèlerinage. La Madone peinte au-dessus de l'autel avec des napperons en dentelle sourit.

Yoga et exercices de respiration dans la cour

"Essayez de ne pas tout noter", Ute nous a recommandé le premier après-midi. Un bon conseil - sinon ma rage de chant déchaînée m'éloignerait probablement un peu. Mes airs de salle de bain à la maison ont été maîtrisés, ne serait-ce que par les voisins. Ici, par contre, je me comporte toute la journée comme si j'étais debout sur une scène d'opéra: Quand j'ouvre les volets le matin, j'envoie un "Ave vera virginitas" au lointain cône volcanique de Monte Amiata. Suivi par un "Maria Himmelskönigin" en sautant dans la piscine dans le jardin. Après tout, je peux encore dominer le dîner, qui nous est servi à de grandes tables en bois dans l’ancienne salle des chevaliers. Et ne vous écartez pas à la vue d’orecchiette, de crespelle fourrée à l’aubergine ou de lasagnes au forn dans "hallelujah"

Les autres sont similaires. Un soir, après dix heures, je me glisse dans le jardin pour observer les lucioles dans les buissons. L'oreille du voyage dans ma direction souffle à travers les fenêtres cintrées du salon de musique: "Deux petits loups vont dans le noir la nuit". Un classique de chaque temps libre de chorale que même les non-connaisseurs avaient assez vite. Sous l'impulsion de quelques verres de Chianti Classico, la plupart d'entre nous se rassemblent tous les soirs dans la salle de musique. Le groupe est maintenant dans un tel état de mutation qu'il a probablement fait exploser le toit de l'abbaye de San Galgano, l'un des derniers arrêts de notre tournée. Heureusement, les vieux murs n’ont toujours pas eu de toit depuis longtemps.

Maintenant, ils chantent "Soirée silence partout". Nuit? Oui, la constellation d'Orion brille au-dessus de moi. Silence? Non. Mais la ville la plus proche, Paganico, est loin. Et la famille d’opérateurs du Castello apporte sa présence avec calme et routine: voici également des cours pour débutants pour saxophone.

Un jour par semaine est gratuit. Il est temps de balayer les notes de la tête. Comme la plupart des gens, je conduis à Sienne. La chaleur de midi sur le Campo devant l'hôtel de ville brûle, le café coûte trois fois plus cher que dans le Castello, mais il fait bon de rester assis et de rester silencieux. Les enfants chevauchent leur trottinette sur le trottoir, gravitant au soleil les touristes allongés sur le Campo. Les autres membres de la chorale apprécient leur phase d'abstinence. Dans la vieille ville, nos chemins se croisent, mais nous ne nous saluons que brièvement, en glissant dans la ruelle, les sacs remplis de doux panforte siennois. Considérez l'offre de Dolci dans la pâtisserie "Nanninis", mâchez de la pizza avec de la salsiccia. Et trouvez dans la foule qui se presse sur la place de la cathédrale entre les stands de souvenirs, la paix qui peut frapper l’individu dans la foule.

J'entre dans la nef rayée de la cathédrale. C'est énorme comparé aux petites églises rurales que nous avons visitées jusqu'à présent. Le murmure des visiteurs résonne de la voûte du plafond, me laisse deviner la grande acoustique de la pièce. J'ai déjà une rechute et voudrais spontanément célébrer "Laudamus virginem". À la vue des nombreux touristes, je fais ma bouche mais puis très vite refermée. Je préfère sauver mon courage. Pour le concert final.

Travel Info Chorale Atelier en Toscane

Musica Viva.L'organisateur de vacances musicales propose des visites vocales entre Sienne et Grosseto, dans la vallée de l'Arno au sud de Florence et dans le Vinschgau dans le Tyrol du Sud.Dans la matinée, exercices vocaux et répétition d'œuvres grégoriennes et de la Renaissance, dans l'après-midi, randonnées dans les églises: on explore ici l'effet de la voix sur la pièce (une semaine en double pension / demi-pension 810 euros, plus 150 euros pour les transferts en bus et les guides de randonnée). www.musica-viva.de

COMMENT S'Y RENDRE Par exemple, avec Lufthansa de Munich ou de Francfort à Florence: aller et retour à partir de 99 euros. Avec TUIfly de Hanovre (à partir d'avril), Cologne / Bonn et Stuttgart (à partir du 12 mars) vers Pise: aller-retour à partir de 48 euros environ.

TÉLÉPHONE Indicatif régional en Italie 00 39, composez toujours le 0 de la numérotation locale.

LIRE Toscane et Ombrie. Lonely Planet, pour la première fois en allemand; Outre de nombreux conseils d'initiés, le livre propose des boîtes à thèmes spéciales et diverses suggestions d'itinéraires: un voyage vers différents sites du patrimoine mondial, un tour pour les enfants, un voyage dans cinq villes. En détail: le chapitre sur Florence couvre près de 80 pages (Lonely Planet Publications, 17, 50 euros). Temps pour la Toscane. Se promener à Lucques, faire du vélo à Florence, se soigner à Montecatini Terme: dans des essais et des images opulentes, l'auteur Thomas Migge et le photographe Mirko Milovanovic présentent 33 objectifs avec lesquels vous pouvez vous sentir à l'aise. Conseils pour faire du tourisme, faire les magasins, dormir et se régaler (C. J. Bucher Verlag, 29,90 euros). Toscane. Des récits de voyage littéraires qui suscitent le désir: des avenues de cyprès sans fin, des villages de montagne romantiques et Brunello. L’auteure Felicitas Mayall décrit la Toscane hors des sentiers battus. Un livre sensuel, pas seulement à cause des nombreuses recettes (Sanssouci, 14,90 Euro).

INFO Florence et ses environs: Via Cavour 1, I-50129 Florence, tél. 055/29 08 32, www.firenze turismo.it. ? Maremme et ses environs: Viale Monterosa 206, I-58100 Grosseto, tél. 05 64/46 26 11, www.lamaremma.info.

Voyage en Toscane des élèves italianisants du collège Jean Jaurès de Saint Ouen - mai 2011 (Septembre 2020).



Toscane, vacances, oliveraie, lavande, VIVA Media, Pentecôte, Florence, Wuppertal, Zurich, Italie, Toscane, vacances, voyage, vacances, loisirs, églises, choeur, atelier

Des Articles Intéressants