Control


© Capelight Pictures

Many legends surround the death of Joy Division's singer Ian Curtis (Sam Riley), who died at the age of just 24. Anton Corbijn's directorial debut "Control", which is based on the autobiography of Ian Curtis' wife Deborah and thus on the memories of a contemporary witness, now provides new explanations for this deed. However, those who expect a film about the wild rock star life a la "The Doors" or "24 Hour Party People" will be disappointed: "Control" is rather a character study, the sensitive portrait of a melancholy boy with a strong love of music and a great passion for romance. The young Ian not only quotes long-winded Wordsworth poems, but also writes his own texts. When he's not wandering around the houses with his buddies trying to get high with stolen drugs, he listens awestruck to David Bowie or celebrates at concerts. From the outside, Ian is surprisingly down-to-earth: He has a steady job and at the age of 19 marries his childhood sweetheart Debbie (Samantha Morton), with whom he moves into a small terraced house. Four years later, his little daughter is born. Despite the family situation, Ian's passion for music remains unbroken: When he learns that acquaintances are looking for a singer for their band, he answers. The founder members of Joy Division meet for the first time at a Sex Pistols concert in Manchester.



© Capelight Pictures

It begins a wild time, in which the band gives its first concerts, records and takes by Ian's charismatic performances increasingly gaining popularity. A success that has its price: Constantly touring Ian increasingly loses hold. He alienates himself from his wife and child, has to quit his job and withdraws more and more into himself. Even an affair with the young music journalist Annik (Alexandra Maria Lara) can no longer help the musician, who suffers from constant attacks of epilepsy. Healthily badly hit and depressed, Ian finally kills shortly before the long awaited America tour.



From the star photographer to the director

When Anton Corbijn was asked if he wanted to make a film about Joy Division, he initially had reservations: "You do not want to make a bad movie, because it would take a long time for Ian Curtis to get the film that he deserves." Understandable, because the lead singer is an icon of the post-punk movement and influenced countless, even contemporary bands, such as Editors or The Killers, with his haunting music and stage performance. The film adaptation of Curtis life was thus a challenge for which Corbijn but already seemed predestined by his own biography: A Joy Division album inspired him in the late 70s to move to London, where he met Ian Curtis and his bandmates several times in person to take pictures of them, with whom he laid the foundation for his own career as a photographer and director of music videos, including for U2, Depeche Mode or Nirvana.





© Capelight Pictures

Perhaps it is Corbijn's first-hand personal experience that makes "Control" particularly authentic, almost documentary: concert performances were recreated down to the last detail, the actors sing and play live. The film is shot consistently in black and white and the filming was partly relocated to original locations. Also, the great acting performance of the previously unknown Sam Rileys reinforces the documentary character of the film, because Riley not only looks like Curtis, he sings like him and manages to touch the inner conflicts and desperation of the silent Curtis touching and credible on the screen to ban. Too bad that Corbijn partly clings too much to proven facts, because the dialogues are rather sparse. So one learns little about the thoughts of the silent Curtis.

Conclusion: With "Control" Corbijn has succeeded in creating a moving biography that always stays close to its protagonist and portrays its fate in impressive pictures. Not only a must for Joy Division fans!

Tip: Who does not want to end the time travel after the movie, the soundtrack with original songs by Joy Division and Iggy Pop, David Bowie or New Order is recommended.

TEXT: Elisabeth Kaulen PICTURE MATERIAL: Capelight Pictures

HALSEY | Control | Lyrics (July 2020).



Sam Riley, Alexandra Maria Lara, David Bowie, tour, Samantha Morton, Manchester, bym, bym.de, control, joy division, sam riley, alexandra maria lara, dont miss, see, cinema

contrôle

© Capelight Pictures

De nombreuses légendes entourent la mort du chanteur de Joy Division, Ian Curtis (Sam Riley), décédé à l'âge de 24 ans. Le film "Control" d'Anton Corbijn, basé sur l'autobiographie de Deborah, l'épouse de Ian Curtis, et donc sur les souvenirs d'un témoin contemporain, fournit de nouvelles explications à cet acte. Cependant, ceux qui s'attendent à un film sur la vie de rock star sauvage telle que "The Doors" ou "24 Hour Party People" seront déçus: "Control" est plutôt une étude de personnage, le portrait sensible d'un garçon mélancolique avec un fort amour de la musique et grande passion pour la romance. Le jeune Ian non seulement cite de longs poèmes de Wordsworth, mais écrit également ses propres textes. Lorsqu'il ne se promène pas dans les maisons avec ses copains qui tentent de se défoncer avec des drogues volées, il écoute David Bowie émerveillé ou se produit en concert. De l'extérieur, Ian est étonnamment terre-à-terre: il occupe un emploi stable et, à 19 ans, épouse son amour d'enfance, Debbie (Samantha Morton), avec qui il s'installe dans une petite maison en terrasse. Quatre ans plus tard, sa petite fille est née. Malgré la situation familiale, la passion de Ian pour la musique reste intacte: quand il apprend que des connaissances cherchent un chanteur pour leur groupe, il répond. Les membres fondateurs de Joy Division se rencontrent pour la première fois lors d'un concert des Sex Pistols à Manchester.



© Capelight Pictures

Cela commence une période folle, dans laquelle le groupe donne ses premiers concerts, enregistre et interprète de plus en plus de performances charismatiques de Ian. Un succès qui a son prix: Ian perd constamment de la popularité dans ses tournées. Il s'aliène de sa femme et de son enfant, doit quitter son emploi et se replie de plus en plus sur lui-même. Même une liaison avec la jeune journaliste musicale Annik (Alexandra Maria Lara) ne peut plus aider le musicien, qui souffre de crises d'épilepsie constantes. En bonne santé, gravement touché et déprimé, Ian tue finalement peu de temps avant la tournée tant attendue en Amérique.



Du photographe star au réalisateur

Lorsqu'on a demandé à Anton Corbijn s'il souhaitait faire un film sur Joy Division, il avait d'abord émis des réserves: "Vous ne voulez pas faire un mauvais film, car Ian Curtis mettrait beaucoup de temps à obtenir le film qu'il mérite." C'est compréhensible, car le chanteur est une icône du mouvement post-punk et a influencé d'innombrables groupes, même contemporains, tels que Editors ou The Killers, avec sa musique envoûtante et sa performance sur scène. L’adaptation cinématographique de Curtis life était donc un défi auquel Corbijn semblait pourtant prédestiné par sa propre biographie: un album de Joy Division l’inspire à la fin des années 70 pour s’installer à Londres, où il rencontre plusieurs fois en personne Ian Curtis et son groupe. pour prendre des photos d'eux, avec qui il a jeté les bases de sa propre carrière de photographe et de réalisateur de vidéoclips, notamment pour U2, Depeche Mode ou Nirvana.





© Capelight Pictures

C’est peut-être l’expérience personnelle de première main de Corbijn qui rend "Control" particulièrement authentique, presque documentaire: les concerts sont recréés dans les moindres détails, les acteurs chantent et jouent en direct. Le film est systématiquement tourné en noir et blanc et le tournage a été partiellement déplacé vers les lieux d'origine. En outre, la superbe performance d'acteur de Sam Rileys, jusque-là inconnu, renforce le caractère documentaire du film, parce que Riley ne ressemble pas seulement à Curtis, il chante comme lui et parvient à toucher les conflits intérieurs et le désespoir de la touche silencieuse et crédible de Curtis. interdire. Dommage que Corbijn s’accroche trop en partie à des faits avérés, car les dialogues sont plutôt clairsemés. On en apprend donc peu sur les pensées du silencieux Curtis.

conclusion: Avec "Control", Corbijn a réussi à créer une biographie touchante qui reste toujours proche de son protagoniste et décrit son destin en images impressionnantes. Pas seulement un must pour les fans de Joy Division!

Astuce: Pour ceux qui ne veulent pas finir le voyage dans le temps après le film, la bande originale avec les chansons originales de Joy Division et Iggy Pop, David Bowie ou New Order est recommandée.

TEXT: Elisabeth Kaulen MATÉRIEL PHOTOGRAPHIQUE: Capelight Pictures

Maleek Berry - Kontrol (Official Video) (Septembre 2020).



Sam Riley, Alexandra Maria Lara, David Bowie, tournée, Samantha Morton, Manchester, bym, bym.de, contrôle, division de la joie, sam riley, alexandra maria lara, ne manquez pas, voir, cinéma