Cuba on your own


The old Chevy engine roars, the mighty red back seat gently rocks us to the beat of the bumps. "Quieres un cigarro?", The women sitting in the back offer cigarettes to the driver. Rear, that's where the cargo hold once was. Today there are two tiny wooden benches built for hitchhikers, because hitchhikers mean extra cash for our driver Paolo.

My friend and I met Paolo at the Cienfuegos bus station this morning: He offered to drive us 300 kilometers to Batabanó for $ 50, the same as the two tickets for the bus would have cost us. Now we are on the way to the ferry dock in Batabanó, where we want to translate to the legendary pirate island "Isla de la Juventud".



The magic of the dollar

Paolo is one of the new rich Cubans who offer tourists their services to get the coveted US dollars - illegal though, because he is not allowed to earn any foreign currency by the state, but it's worth it. Since the introduction of the American currency in 1993, many things can only be bought with "devisas". Luxury goods like cosmetics and toiletries anyway, but also useful things like building materials and gasoline. The fuel is scarce since the distant brother behind the Urals has stopped his donations - and therefore the farmers must again put their oxen in front of the plows.

Poverty yes, misery no

Again and again we meet cyclists on the "autopista", the highway that runs across the country: A dead goat on the rack, smoked ham on the handlebar, a wedding cake on the self-made trailer - so is here some Cubans on the way. There is little traffic, because there is hardly any money for cars, and when the money is there, the cars are missing.

The Cubans are not rich, no, but misery is nowhere to be seen - unlike in other Latin American countries, where ghettos and demoralized people are part of the street scene.



At Iraida on the Isla de la Juventud

Good mood and always helpful: Our landlady Iraida with her husband

As every evening, the evening sun bathes the conical marble mountains around Nueva Gerona in warm light. As the sky blushes, the little town seems to awaken. Up here on the roof of our "Casa Particular", in which we have rented ourselves, we are lulled to sleep - by the music that comes from the houses, the hammering and sawing, the grunts of the pigs, the voices of the people and television , the pitiful croaks of the roosters ... the bell of the neighboring evening school dismisses the pupils in the after-work hours. It is 19 o'clock - time for us, anxious to descend the spiral staircase to the terrace. Because there is the evening mast cure waiting for us.



The table, next to which a Russian refrigerator loudly serves, bends under plates of cucumber and coleslaw, rice, black beans, meat, fruits, malanga, and yuka. It does not help: even if we leave tons of stuff every evening and emphasize again and again that it was delicious but too much - there is no mercy. We do not know if the Cuban government is imposing an obligation on the operators of private pensions to demonstrate abundance to foreign guests. In any case, the Cubans are satisfied with a plate of rice and beans.

As soon as Iraida arrives, balancing with delight tartlets and ice cream: Like every day she has found a "surprise" for us for dessert. Cake or strawberry ice cream for a little black coffee - or both. Because so much has even penetrated to Cuba: Germans like to eat cake for coffee ...

Short info Isla de la Juventud

The typical royal palms for Cuba donate shade when hiking. Unfortunately, the mosquitoes also prefer to stay here ...

Robert Louis Stevenson was inspired by the activities of the pirates on the "Isla" to his novel "The Treasure Island". If you're looking for treasures, you do not have to go far either: on foot you can discover the northern part of the island from Nueva Gerona - the sugar cane fields, the groves of the royal palms typical of Cuba, idyllic agrarian communities and the tropical marble hills , Or you drive a few miles - preferably by bike or much more romantic with the horse-drawn car, which can be rented for ten dollars a day with the coachman. On the way to "Playa Paradiso" you should definitely visit the museum "Presidio Modelo": A gigantic prison from the Batista era, in which once also Castro and his comrades were sitting.

The southern part of the island is a nature reserve. This can only be visited as part of an organized tour: to visit the cave "Cueva de Punta del Este", which is considered by archaeologists as the Sistine Chapel of the Caribbean Indians. And to enjoy the gentle waves on the lonely beach. Getting there: By ferry (6 hours) or the speed boat "Kometa", 2 hours several times a day from Surgidero de Batabanó. Optionally by Aerotaxi daily from Havana and Varadero.

residential: "Villa Felicidad" Iraida Hernandez Calle 36 between ("entre") 35 and 37, n ° 3504 Nueva Gerona Tel. (61 for the island) -2 10 47 Iraida rents a generous double room. Nueva Gerona is located in the north of the Isla and is a good starting point.

Short info Trinidad

Day awakening in the former city of sugar barons

In 1988, the former sugar capital Trinidad was declared a World Heritage Site. Accordingly restored are the decaying colonial buildings of the former sugar barons. A tranquil little town between hills and the sea - with cobbled streets, horse-drawn carriages and many American road cruisers.

Numerous paladares (private restaurants), casa particulares (private pensions), an Internet café and a dollar supermarket make life easy for tired vacationers. The countless Son and Salsa bands that are at home here play mostly for tourists. Very nice is the nearby Valle de los Ingenios (Valley of the sugar cane mills). Day trips by taxi or bus to the Playa Ancón (four kilometers of palm-free beach with good diving possibilities) are possible. There are also a few uninviting hotels.

residential: Belkis and Rolanda Calle José Marti No. 331 Tel. (419 for Trinidad) -4398 Beautiful rooms and a courtyard full of plants and birds. The food is good, the people are nice. Very central.

Short info Cienfuegos

Evening mood on the bay: View from the Palacio de Ferrer to the Parque José Martí

Much more sprawling than Trinidad is Cienfuegos, also called "Pearl of the South": wide boulevards instead of narrow streets, large squares and multi-storey buildings. The colonial and neoclassical buildings are also relatively well preserved. The city is located in a beautiful bay, on the headland "Punta Gorda" once Spanish and French aristocrats resided.

residential: After the dubious enjoyment of six-legged "spices" in the soup, we would not recommend our accommodation ... The most beautiful Casa Particulares are - although a little out of the way - in Punta Gorda. There are excellent Mojitos in the south of the headland, which can be enjoyed especially at sunset (bring insect repellent!).

Short info Havana

Witnesses of former wealth: Villa in the Vedado

The many sights and museums of the Caribbean metropolis can not be mastered in one day. Tourists are mainly in La Habana Vieja (Old Town), Habana Centro and the Vedado. A classic, of course, is the Malecón, Havana's famous seafront promenade, which, contrary to common clichés, radiates less Caribbean than socialist charm. Here is also the glamorous Hotel Riviera at that time, the US gangster Meyer Lansky built in the 50s in the Las Vegas style.

residential: The most relaxed way is in Vedado, the former residential district of Havana, where settled after 1898, especially Americans. If it does not bother you that the plaster peels off the once magnificent villas and the roots of the jungle giant blow up the sidewalk tiles, you can rest here well from the hustle and bustle of the old town. Tip: Francisco Rodríguez Sánchez Calle 17, between C and D, 558 Vedado Tel. (7 for Havana) -32 5003 One of the few restored villas in Vedado, with a shady tree in the backyard.

Quick Info Viñales

The tobacco growing area around Viñales is beautiful: bizarre limestone cones ("mogotes"), similar to southern China, rise in the fertile area. As everywhere in the province of Piñar del Rio, there are palm groves, tobacco and malanga fields, in between small farmhouses and dry houses where the tobacco leaves are dried.

The attraction of the Villa Odalys are the inhabitants: Odalys' father Tonio (left) will delight you with enthusiastically mixed mojitos

You can just run from the place, let yourself drift or visit one of the numerous caves. Bicycles and mopeds are also available for hire. A beach trip to Cayo Jutías, a tiny island north of Viñales, is also worthwhile. On the white sandy beach you can be alone and enjoy the turquoise blue sea. The island is connected to the mainland by a causeway. Viñales itself is not much more than a village street.

residential: Villa Odalys Carretera Cementerio no. 24 A Viñales

Travel Info Cuba

Travel time: The most pleasant travel time is from November to April. During the dry season, the average temperature during the day is 27 degrees. In the evening, it can be a bit cold in the Cuban winter. In the Christmas holidays, however, is high season - prices are rising and many places are crowded. Entry: European tourists need in addition to the passport with at least 6-month validity, a "tourist card". It is available in travel agencies. Many travel agencies make the sale of tickets to a hotel booking - choose one that does not. The immigration authorities in Cuba, however, can cause trouble if you have not specified a government hotel as a tourist destination on the tourist card.Just enter any you find in your travel guide. And then take a taxi to the next Casa Particular ...

Language: If you travel on your own through Cuba, you should definitely be able to speak some Spanish. Hardly anyone speaks English, a few who have lived in the former GDR speak German.

Money: There are three currencies - the peso, the peso convertible and the US dollar. Generally, tourists pay with US Dollars or the equivalent Peso Convertible. The only exception: ice cream, pizzas and juices on the road. There are no ATMs yet, the fees for Traveler Checks are quite high. The best part of cash, little travelers checks (no American!) And a credit card (ditto) take: The omnipresent civilian police, it is very unlikely to be robbed.

residential: Recommended in every respect are the "Casa Particulares" (private guesthouses), which are marked with a blue triangle on the door. Food and accommodation are generally better and cheaper here than in the state hotels and restaurants. For the Cubans, renting a room is both a chance and a risk. Irrespective of the demand, they have to pay high taxes - on the other hand, the rental offers access to the coveted foreign exchange.

Getting Around: The most practical but also the most expensive is to rent a car, as the public local and long-distance transport is not very well developed. But imagine that instead of the usual signposts propaganda signs line the streets. For Cuban workers, there are trucks, but they do not take foreigners, hitchhike locals. Anyone who decides against a rental car, but can rent taxis, private cars, horse-drawn cars, bicycles or mopeds everywhere - for trips to the beaches or the surrounding area.

Beaches: If you travel to Cuba mainly because of the beaches, you should book a package holiday. The most beautiful, palm-fringed beaches are mostly in the hands of hotel chains, which are very expensive for individual tourists (from $ 110 upwards). The beaches that are accessible to Cubans are often less beautiful. However, there are some beautiful uninhabited beaches for day or camping trips.

Orientation: The Cuba map of www.lonelyplanet.com provides a first overview of the island. The English speaking guide "Cuba" by Lonely Planet is highly recommended. If you prefer to take part in an organized trip, you will find it at the special tour operator www.cubastartravel.com.

Exploring Havana, Cuba, on Our Own l CRUISE VLOG l Ep. 15 (July 2020).



Cuba, Isla, Havana, Car, Calle, Mojito, Bicycle, Taxi, Cigarette, Luxury Goods, Robert Louis Stevenson, Cuba

Cuba seul

Le vieux moteur de Chevrolet rugit, le puissant siège arrière rouge nous berce doucement au rythme des bosses. "Quieres un cigarro?", Les femmes assises à l'arrière offrent des cigarettes au chauffeur. À l'arrière, la soute se trouvait autrefois. Aujourd'hui, deux minuscules bancs en bois ont été construits pour les auto-stoppeurs, car ceux-ci représentent une source de revenus supplémentaire pour notre chauffeur Paolo.

Mon ami et moi avons rencontré Paolo à la gare routière de Cienfuegos ce matin: il nous a proposé de nous conduire à 300 kilomètres de Batabanó, pour 50 dollars, comme les deux billets du bus nous auraient coûtés. Nous sommes maintenant sur le chemin du quai du traversier à Batabanó, où nous souhaitons nous rendre sur la légendaire île pirate "Isla de la Juventud".



La magie du dollar

Paolo est l’un des nouveaux riches Cubains qui offrent aux touristes leurs services pour obtenir les dollars US convoités - bien qu’ils soient illégaux, car il n’est pas autorisé à gagner des devises étrangères par l’État, mais cela en vaut la peine. Depuis l'introduction de la monnaie américaine en 1993, beaucoup de choses ne peuvent être achetées qu'avec des "devis". Les produits de luxe comme les cosmétiques et les articles de toilette, mais aussi des objets utiles comme les matériaux de construction et l'essence. Le carburant est rare depuis que le frère éloigné derrière l'Oural a cessé ses dons. Les agriculteurs doivent donc remettre leurs bœufs devant les charrues.

Pauvreté oui, misère non

Nous rencontrons encore et encore des cyclistes sur l’autopista, l’autoroute traversant le pays: une chèvre morte sur le porte-bagage, du jambon fumé au guidon, un gâteau de mariage sur une caravane fabriquée par nos soins. Il y a peu de circulation, car il n'y a presque plus d'argent pour les voitures, et lorsque l'argent est là, les voitures manquent.

Les Cubains ne sont pas riches, non, mais la misère n’est nulle part ailleurs - contrairement à d’autres pays d’Amérique latine, où les ghettos et les personnes démoralisées font partie de la scène de rue.



A Iraida sur l'Isla de la Juventud

Bonne humeur et toujours serviable: Notre hôtesse Iraida avec son mari

Comme chaque soir, le soleil du soir baigne les montagnes coniques de marbre autour de Nueva Gerona dans une lumière chaude. Alors que le ciel rougit, la petite ville semble se réveiller. Là-haut, sur le toit de notre "Casa Particular", dans laquelle nous nous sommes loués, nous sommes assoupis - par la musique des maisons, le martèlement et le sciage, les grognements de cochons, la voix des gens et les téléviseurs , les pitoyables croassements des coqs ... la cloche de l'école du soir voisine congédie les élèves dans l'après-journée de travail. Il est 19 heures, heure pour nous, désireux de descendre l'escalier en colimaçon qui mène à la terrasse. Parce qu'il y a la cure du mât du soir qui nous attend.



La table, à côté de laquelle un réfrigérateur russe sert fort, se plie sous des assiettes de concombre et de salade de chou, de riz, de haricots noirs, de viande, de fruits, de malanga et de yuka. Cela n'aide pas: même si nous laissons des tonnes de trucs chaque soir et insistons encore et encore sur le fait que c'était délicieux mais trop - il n'y a pas de pitié. Nous ne savons pas si le gouvernement cubain impose aux exploitants de régimes de retraite privés l'obligation de démontrer leur abondance aux clients étrangers. En tout cas, les Cubains sont satisfaits avec une assiette de riz et de haricots.

Dès qu'Iraida arrive, en équilibre avec des tartelettes et des glaces: comme chaque jour, elle a trouvé une "surprise" pour le dessert. Glace au gâteau ou à la fraise pour un peu de café noir - ou les deux. Car beaucoup de choses ont même pénétré à Cuba: les Allemands aiment manger des gâteaux pour le café ...

Information de courte durée Isla de la Juventud

Les palmiers royaux typiques de Cuba font de l'ombre lors de leurs randonnées. Malheureusement, les moustiques préfèrent également rester ici ...

Robert Louis Stevenson s'est inspiré des activités des pirates de "l'Isla" pour son roman "The Treasure Island". Si vous recherchez des trésors ici, vous ne devez pas aller loin non plus: à pied, vous pourrez découvrir la partie nord de l'île depuis Nueva Gerona - les champs de cannes à sucre, les bosquets de palmiers royaux typiques de Cuba, les communautés agraires idylliques et les collines de marbre tropical , Ou vous parcourez quelques kilomètres - de préférence à vélo ou beaucoup plus romantique avec la voiture tirée par un cheval, qui peut être louée pour dix dollars par jour avec le cocher. Sur le chemin de "Playa Paradiso", vous devriez absolument visiter le musée "Presidio Modelo": une prison gigantesque de l'ère Batista, dans laquelle autrefois Castro et ses camarades étaient assis.

La partie sud de l'île est une réserve naturelle. Cela ne peut être visité que dans le cadre d'un circuit organisé: visiter la grotte "Cueva de Punta del Este", considérée par les archéologues comme la chapelle Sixtine des Indiens de la Caraïbe. Et pour profiter des douces vagues sur la plage isolée. Accès: En ferry (6 heures) ou en bateau rapide "Kometa", 2 heures plusieurs fois par jour depuis Surgidero de Batabanó. Eventuellement par Aerotaxi tous les jours depuis La Havane et Varadero.

résidentiel: "Villa Felicidad" Iraida Hernandez Calle 36 entre ("entre") 35 et 37, n ° 3504 Nueva Gerona Tél. (61 pour l'île) -2 10 47 Iraida loue une généreuse chambre double. Nueva Gerona est située au nord de l'île et constitue un bon point de départ.

Info Trinité

Réveil du jour dans l'ancienne ville des barons du sucre

En 1988, l'ancienne capitale du sucre, Trinidad, a été déclarée site du patrimoine mondial. En conséquence, sont restaurés les bâtiments coloniaux en décomposition des anciens barons du sucre. Une petite ville tranquille entre les collines et la mer - avec ses rues pavées, ses calèches et de nombreux croiseurs américains.

De nombreux paladares (restaurants privés), casa particulares (pensions privées), un café Internet et un supermarché dollar facilitent la vie des vacanciers fatigués. Les innombrables groupes de Son et Salsa qui sont chez eux jouent principalement pour les touristes. Très agréable est la proximité Valle de los Ingenios (Vallée des moulins de canne à sucre). Des excursions en taxi ou en bus à destination de la Playa Ancón (quatre kilomètres de plage sans palmiers offrant de bonnes possibilités de plongée) sont possibles. Il y a aussi quelques hôtels peu attrayants.

résidentiel: Belkis et Rolanda Calle José Marti N ° 331 (419 pour Trinidad) -4398 Belles chambres et une cour bordée de plantes et d'oiseaux. La nourriture est bonne, les gens sont gentils. Très central.

Info Cienfuegos

Ambiance nocturne sur la baie: vue du palais de Ferrer sur le parc José Martí

Cienfuegos, aussi appelée la "Perle du Sud", est beaucoup plus vaste que Trinité-et-Tobago: de larges boulevards plutôt que des rues étroites, de grandes places et des immeubles de plusieurs étages. Les bâtiments coloniaux et néoclassiques sont également relativement bien conservés. La ville est située dans une magnifique baie, sur le promontoire "Punta Gorda" une fois habités par des aristocrates espagnols et français.

résidentiel: Après la jouissance douteuse des "épices" à six pattes dans la soupe, nous ne recommandons pas notre hébergement ... Les plus belles Casa Particulares sont - bien qu'un peu excentriques - à Punta Gorda. Il existe d'excellents Mojitos dans le sud du promontoire, que l'on peut apprécier surtout au coucher du soleil (apportez un insectifuge!).

Info courte La Havane

Témoins d'anciennes richesses: Villa dans le Vedado

Les nombreux sites et musées de la métropole des Caraïbes ne peuvent être maîtrisés en une journée. Les touristes se trouvent principalement à La Habana Vieja (vieille ville), Habana Centro et le Vedado. Un classique, bien sûr, est le Malecón, la célèbre promenade du front de mer de La Havane, qui, contrairement aux clichés habituels, dégage moins de charme caribéen que socialiste. Voici également l'Hôtel glamour Riviera à l'époque, le gangster américain Meyer Lansky construit dans les années 50 dans le style de Las Vegas.

résidentiel: La voie la plus détendue est celle de Vedado, l'ancien quartier résidentiel de La Havane, où les habitants s'installèrent après 1898, principalement les Américains. Si cela ne vous gêne pas que le plâtre se détache des villas jadis magnifiques et que les racines du géant de la jungle fassent éclater les tuiles du trottoir, vous pouvez vous reposer ici du brouhaha de la vieille ville. Conseil: Francisco Rodríguez Sánchez Calle 17, entre C et D, 558 Vedado Tel (7 pour La Havane) -32 5003 Une des rares villas restaurées du Vedado, avec un arbre ombragé dans la cour arrière.

Info rapide Viñales

La zone de production de tabac autour de Viñales est magnifique: des cônes de calcaire bizarres ("mogotes"), similaires au sud de la Chine, se dressent dans la zone fertile. Comme partout dans la province de Piñar del Rio, il y a des palmeraies, des champs de tabac et de malanga, entre de petites fermes et des maisons sèches où les feuilles de tabac sont séchées.

L’attraction de la villa Odalys sont ses habitants: Tonio, père d’Odalys (à gauche), vous ravira avec des mojitos mélangés avec enthousiasme.

Vous pouvez simplement courir depuis l'endroit, vous laisser dériver ou visiter l'une des nombreuses grottes. Des vélos et des cyclomoteurs sont également disponibles à la location. Un séjour à la plage à Cayo Jutías, une petite île au nord de Viñales, vaut également la peine. Sur la plage de sable blanc, vous pouvez être seul et profiter de la mer bleu turquoise. L'île est reliée au continent par une chaussée. Viñales elle-même n’est guère plus qu’une rue de village.

résidentiel: Villa Odalys Carretera Cementerio n ° 24 à Viñales

Informations de voyage Cuba

Durée du trajet: Le temps de voyage le plus agréable est de novembre à avril. Pendant la saison sèche, la température moyenne pendant la journée est de 27 degrés et en soirée, il peut faire un peu froid en hiver cubain. En haute saison, pendant les vacances de Noël, les prix augmentent et beaucoup de monde est encombré. entrée: Outre le passeport valable au moins six mois, les touristes européens doivent posséder une "carte de touriste". Il est disponible dans les agences de voyages. De nombreuses agences de voyage vendent des billets pour une réservation d'hôtel - choisissez-en une qui ne le fait pas. Les autorités de l'immigration à Cuba peuvent toutefois causer des problèmes si vous n'avez pas spécifié un hôtel gouvernemental comme destination touristique sur la carte de touriste.Entrez tout ce que vous trouvez dans votre guide de voyage. Et puis prendre un taxi pour la prochaine Casa Particular ...

langue: Si vous voyagez seul à travers Cuba, vous devriez pouvoir parler un peu espagnol. Presque personne ne parle anglais, quelques-uns d'entre eux ayant vécu dans l'ancienne RDA parlent l'allemand.

argent: Il existe trois devises: le peso, le peso convertible et le dollar américain. Généralement, les touristes paient en dollars américains ou l'équivalent en peso convertible. La seule exception: les glaces, les pizzas et les jus de fruits sur la route. Il n'y a pas encore de guichets automatiques, les frais pour les chèques de voyage sont assez élevés. La meilleure partie de l'argent, petits chèques de voyage (pas d'Américain!) Et une carte de crédit (idem) prendre: La police civile omniprésente, il est très peu probable qu'il soit volé.

résidentiel: La "Casa Particulares" (maisons d'hôtes privées), indiquées par un triangle bleu sur la porte, est recommandée à tous les égards. La nourriture et l'hébergement sont généralement meilleurs et moins chers ici que dans les hôtels et restaurants de l'état. Pour les Cubains, louer une chambre est à la fois une chance et un risque. Indépendamment de la demande, ils doivent payer des taxes élevées. D'autre part, la location offre un accès aux devises convoitées.

Se déplacer: Le plus pratique, mais aussi le plus coûteux, est de louer une voiture, car les transports publics locaux et longue distance ne sont pas très développés. Mais imaginons qu'au lieu des panneaux de signalisation habituels, des panneaux de propagande tapissent les rues. Pour les travailleurs cubains, il y a des camions, mais ils ne prennent pas d'étrangers, de l'auto-stop. Toute personne qui décide de ne pas louer de voiture, mais peut louer des taxis, des voitures privées, des voitures tirées par des chevaux, des vélos ou des cyclomoteurs - pour des excursions sur les plages ou dans les environs.

plages: Si vous voyagez à Cuba principalement à cause des plages, vous devriez réserver des vacances à forfait. Les plus belles plages bordées de palmiers sont principalement entre les mains des chaînes hôtelières, ce qui coûte très cher aux touristes individuels (à partir de 110 $). Les plages accessibles aux Cubains sont souvent moins belles. Cependant, il existe de belles plages inhabitées pour les excursions d’une journée ou les séjours en camping.

Orientation: La carte de Cuba de www.lonelyplanet.com fournit un premier aperçu de l'île. Le guide anglophone "Cuba" de Lonely Planet est vivement recommandé. Si vous préférez participer à un voyage organisé, vous le trouverez auprès du voyagiste spécial www.cubastartravel.com.

Cuba: Miguel Diaz-Canel seul candidat pour succéder à Castro (Février 2021).



Cuba, Isla, La Havane, Voiture, Calle, Mojito, Vélo, Taxi, Cigarette, Articles de luxe, Robert Louis Stevenson, Cuba