• July 14, 2020

Do dogs really need a winter coat?


Pets also freeze in winter. But is it really necessary to wear them warm? After all, they have naturally inherited a thick coat, which is sufficient as protection against the cold - or not?

When the "dog coat" makes sense.

It really depends on the breed you own. Some animals are worse off with cold than others. Small dogs like Chihuahuas and Yorkshire Terriers are more cold-sensitive than big dogs. Sudden strong temperature differences can often not be put away so quickly by her little body. And last but not least, their extra-short legs make them especially over the cold ground and even more cool. Veterinarians therefore recommend that smaller dog breeds are protected against the cold once again. Also, the coat length play a role: dogs with extremely short fur are badly attacked by the cold - and even long-haired dogs that are just "shorn" fresh, at this time no longer have the necessary protection from extreme temperatures.



The special puppy protection

The age of the dog also plays a role: Puppies do not yet have a robust immune system and may suffer from strong temperature fluctuations. And even old dogs often can not move as much in the cold as they used to, causing their body to cool down. And: If your dog is sick, a warmth support is highly recommended!

So you'll know if your dog is freezing!

If a dog feels uncomfortable and suffers from the cold weather, he usually understands that clearly through his body language. Safe signs are a raised back when the tail is pulled under the abdomen or the muscles visibly shiver with the cold. If the actually playful dog suddenly does not want to leave the apartment, that is a clear sign!



You should pay attention to that!

The best is clothing that is waterproof and fits snugly against the body so it does not restrict the dog's freedom of movement. Above all, it is important that your pet feels well in his clothes - after all, you do not want to have to struggle every day to put on the dog coat.

How to Choose a Winter Coat For Your Dog (July 2020).



Clothes, cold, pet

Les chiens ont-ils vraiment besoin d'un manteau d'hiver?

Les animaux domestiques gèlent également en hiver. Mais est-il vraiment nécessaire de les porter au chaud? Après tout, ils ont naturellement hérité d'une épaisse couche qui suffit comme protection contre le froid - ou pas?

Quand le "manteau de chien" a un sens.

Cela dépend vraiment de la race que vous possédez. Certains animaux ont moins froid que d’autres. Les petits chiens comme les Chihuahuas et les Yorkshire Terriers sont plus sensibles au froid que les gros chiens. De petites différences de température soudaines ne peuvent souvent pas être éliminées si rapidement par son petit corps. Enfin, leurs pattes très courtes les rendent particulièrement froides et au sol. Les vétérinaires recommandent donc que les races de chiens plus petites soient à nouveau protégées du froid. La longueur du pelage joue également un rôle: les chiens à la fourrure extrêmement courte sont durement attaqués par le froid - et même les chiens à poil long, qui sont juste "tondus", ne disposent plus de la protection nécessaire contre les températures extrêmes.



La protection spéciale du chiot

L'âge du chien joue également un rôle: les chiots n'ont pas encore de système immunitaire robuste et peuvent souffrir de fortes fluctuations de température. Et même les vieux chiens ne peuvent souvent pas bouger autant qu'avant, ce qui refroidit leur corps. Et: si votre chien est malade, un support de chaleur est fortement recommandé!

Vous saurez donc si votre chien gèle!

Si un chien se sent mal à l'aise et souffre du froid, il le comprend généralement clairement à travers son langage corporel. Les signes sécuritaires sont un dos levé lorsque la queue est tirée sous l'abdomen ou les muscles tremblent visiblement avec le froid. Si le chien réellement joueur ne veut soudainement pas quitter l'appartement, c'est un signe clair!



Vous devriez faire attention à cela!

Le mieux, ce sont des vêtements imperméables qui s'adaptent parfaitement au corps pour ne pas restreindre la liberté de mouvement du chien. Avant tout, il est important que votre animal de compagnie se sente bien dans ses vêtements. Après tout, vous ne voulez pas avoir à lutter chaque jour pour mettre le manteau de votre chien.

CHOSES À SAVOIR AVANT D'ADOPTER UN CHIEN ! (Septembre 2020).



Vêtements, froid, animal de compagnie