"Ethno fashion is always trendy" - Katharina Koppenwallner on her love of traditional costumes

round-world-header

The dream of stylist Katharina Koppenwallner is to be able to offer at some point the most beautiful costumes and textiles from all over the world, which are known for their folk art and costumes. Her next trip will take her to Bolivia. Your shop International Wardrobe (Almstadtstraße 50, 10119 Berlin) is open from 12pm to 8pm on Thursdays to Saturdays.

© Katharina Koppenwallner

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: How did you come up with the idea of ​​collecting and selling folkloric fashion?

Katharina Koppenwallner: A few years ago, I was looking for a particular blouse from Romania and nowhere to be found in Germany. So I set myself up? and next to the blouse many other great textiles tracked down. With International Wardrobe I want to close the gap between the fashion museum and the dump? Handmade folklore fashion can only be found today in galleries or in the back corner of a second hand shop.

How do you decide which countries you travel to and how do you find the parts?

I consciously drive to areas where costumes are still worn. So before the trip, there is always a lot to research. In the countries where costumes play a role in everyday life, a lot is discovered on the spot. Romanian peasant women, for example, still wear old national costumes every day, and in China too, many women walk around in their traditional robes all day long? and combine some with current fashion. I drive to small places, visit markets and ask myself. I address the women and go home with them, where they present the most beautiful textiles to me.

Who makes the costumes?

Unfortunately, not many people dominate traditional textile art anymore. For example, I get blouses from seamstresses from Romania, where the youngest employee is 60 years old. These are often farm women who work in the fields in the summer and have time to sew and embroider in the winter.



How is it that costumes from different parts of the world are sometimes very similar?

For many people, the motifs revolve around nature, animals and plants. In addition, the way that you embroider is often similar. Especially traveling people used to use the same looms that are simply wrapped around a tree.

What is your favorite dress?

I love the Hungarian costume from Transylvania, these are pleated pink skirts with light blue aprons with floral pattern. The Hungarian women wear blouses with big club sleeves and cardigans.

At the moment Ethno-Mode is very popular again? how do you explain this trend?

Ethno fashion is always trendy! In the beginning, I was still trying to figure out whether, for example, African patterns or ikat prints are the norm, but actually neither of them really never disappears. It's like sportswear, it's always there. In addition, people like traditional as well as universal patterns.

How wearable is folkloric fashion?

Costumes are very elegant in a certain way? Far from the usual fashion aesthetics. Everyone can take on this elegance a bit. A Yao jacket in beautiful indigo, for example, goes great with jeans with a plain white shirt - that's how they wear the Jao men, by the way.

Should I buy an original?

Counterfeit parts of the fashion discounter are often too lovely, the real costume is much more authentic. You will never like a mass-produced blouse as much as a hand-embroidered blouse that is unique. These elaborate pieces have a soul and a completely different feel. The fabrics are much better and the details more special.



Traditional fashion at International Wardrobe

100 Years of Beauty - Poland (October 2020).



Traditional costumes, Romania, Germany, international wardrobe, costumes, folklore, Katharina Koppenwallner

"La mode ethnique est toujours à la mode" - Katharina Koppenwallner parle de son amour des costumes traditionnels

-En-tête du tour du monde

Le rêve de la styliste Katharina Koppenwallner est de pouvoir offrir à un moment donné les plus beaux costumes et textiles de tous les pays du monde, connus pour leur art et leurs costumes folkloriques. Son prochain voyage la mènera en Bolivie. Votre magasin International Wardrobe (Almstadtstraße 50, 10119 Berlin) est ouvert de 12h00 à 20h00 du jeudi au samedi.

© Katharina Koppenwallner

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Comment avez-vous eu l'idée de collectionner et de vendre de la mode folklorique?

Katharina Koppenwallner: Il y a quelques années, je recherchais un chemisier particulier de Roumanie et introuvable en Allemagne. Alors je me suis mis en place? et à côté de la blouse, de nombreux autres excellents textiles ont été retrouvés. Avec International Wardrobe, je veux combler le fossé entre le musée de la mode et le taudis? De nos jours, la mode folklorique artisanale n’est disponible que dans les galeries ou dans le coin arrière d’un magasin de seconde main.

Comment décidez-vous dans quels pays vous voyagez et comment trouvez-vous les pièces?

Je conduis consciemment vers des zones où les costumes sont encore portés. Donc, avant le voyage, il y a toujours beaucoup de recherche. Dans les pays où les costumes jouent un rôle dans la vie quotidienne, beaucoup se découvre sur place. Les paysannes roumaines, par exemple, portent toujours de vieux costumes nationaux tous les jours et, en Chine également, de nombreuses femmes se promènent avec leur robe traditionnelle toute la journée? et combiner certains avec la mode actuelle. Je conduis dans de petits endroits, visite les marchés et me pose des questions. Je m'adresse aux femmes et je rentre chez elles, où elles me présentent les plus beaux textiles.

Qui fabrique les costumes?

Malheureusement, peu de gens dominent l'art textile traditionnel. Par exemple, je reçois des blouses de couturières de Roumanie, où le plus jeune employé a 60 ans. Ce sont souvent des paysannes qui travaillent dans les champs en été et ont le temps de coudre et de broder en hiver.



Comment se fait-il que les costumes de différentes parties du monde soient parfois très similaires?

Pour beaucoup de gens, les motifs tournent autour de la nature, des animaux et des plantes. En outre, la façon dont vous brodez est souvent similaire. Les voyageurs en particulier avaient l'habitude d'utiliser les mêmes métiers à tisser qui sont simplement enroulés autour d'un arbre.

Quelle est ta robe préférée?

J'aime le costume hongrois de Transylvanie, ce sont des jupes roses plissées avec des tabliers bleu clair avec un motif floral. Les femmes hongroises portent des chemisiers à manches longues et des cardigans.

En ce moment, Ethno-Mode est à nouveau très populaire? comment expliquez-vous cette tendance?

La mode ethnique est toujours à la mode! Au début, j'essayais toujours de déterminer si, par exemple, les motifs africains ou les impressions ikat étaient la norme, mais aucun d'entre eux ne disparaît jamais vraiment. C'est comme un vêtement de sport, c'est toujours là. En outre, les gens aiment les schémas traditionnels et universels.

Comment portable est la mode folklorique?

Les costumes sont très élégants d'une certaine manière? Loin de l'esthétique de la mode habituelle. Tout le monde peut prendre un peu cette élégance. Une veste Yao en beau indigo, par exemple, va très bien avec un jean avec une chemise blanche unie - c'est ainsi qu'ils portent les hommes Jao, en passant.

Devrais-je acheter un original?

Les pièces contrefaites du discounter de mode sont souvent trop belles, le vrai costume est beaucoup plus authentique. Vous n'aimerez jamais un chemisier fabriqué en série autant qu'un chemisier brodé à la main qui est unique. Ces pièces élaborées ont une âme et une sensation complètement différentes. Les tissus sont bien meilleurs et les détails plus spéciaux.



Mode traditionnelle chez International Wardrobe

La Educación Prohibida - Película Completa HD (Avril 2021).



Costumes traditionnels, Roumanie, Allemagne, costumes internationaux, costumes, folklore, Katharina Koppenwallner