Fear is the engine of success

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Professor Bandelow, many people are currently afraid of unemployment. What helps, when worries take over and all we ask ourselves is: Am I good enough for the job?

Borwin Bandelow: I recommend a reality check: Consider whether you are the one who works the most spooky of all employees. Especially women often misjudge. Almost always, the very people who are not on the list are the ones most afraid of: those who, for fear of mistakes, do everything right anyway.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: And when all are fired?

Borwin Bandelow: I recommend a well-dosed fatalism. Where my fears can not move, they just block me. It makes no sense to grieve over it. Fear is a good engine, but a bad guide. If you're actually fired, consider whether that's really the big catastrophe. We tend to always find the exact job that we have right now, although that may not be the case objectively.



ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Quite difficult, so factual to deal with their own fear.

Borwin Bandelow: Then get some new fears.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Pardon me?

Borwin Bandelow: Do what you have never dared before: dance tango, skateboard, address a man in the pub. Embarrass yourself. Are you scared! I went skating the other day, though I can not. Always bent forward so that I do not fall on the back of my head.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: And what does that mean?

Borwin Bandelow: You make such a small, manageable practice area for your fear. In non-dangerous terrain you learn to deal with and defeat her.



ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: That helps when it comes to the preserves?

Borwin Bandelow: It's about keeping the inner structure in balance. We have a system of fear, a system of reasoning and a reward system. If the damage feared by the fear system does not occur, our brain rewards us with a release of feel-good hormones. So fear has something very positive, but most people overlook that. Winston Churchill once said, "There is nothing better than being shot at and not hit."

"Reason says," It will be again. "Fear says," Pustekuchen! "

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: You have been managing the anxiety outpatient department in Göttingen for 20 years. Do people give you the door now, in times of crisis?

Borwin Bandelow: No, no more than usual. Fear patients come because of quite unrealistic fears. They are afraid of pedestrian zones and elevators or get very sudden panic attacks. In my practice nobody has ever been threatened with terrorism, job fear or money worries.



ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Does that mean that we people are basically coping well with the real threats?

Borwin Bandelow: Better at least, as it sometimes makes the appearance to the outside. Man is designed to deal with worry. Being afraid is normal.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: How do I know if I'm just worried or already sick with anxiety?

Borwin Bandelow: Of course we all ponder, have fears, about the fact that the partner dies, you could get sick yourself or is not good enough for the working world. As a rule of thumb, anyone who thinks about his or her anxiety for more than half a day or starts making professional or private decisions based on their anxiety, for example, rejects a promotion because he would have to talk so much to strangers, or not without the partner If you dare to go to the supermarket, you should go to the psychiatrist. This has nothing to do with healthy fear anymore.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: What do we need fear for?

Borwin Bandelow: Our fear system keeps us from doing things that hurt us, such as abusing the boss or driving a car against a tree. However, fears can also become independent and block us: Many people are lonely only because of their immense separation anxiety. Others do not write applications because they are afraid of the rejections. The result is that they miss everything possible in life. In a kind of disappointment prophylaxis they put their hands in the lap.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: How do I manage to return to life at such a stage?

Borwin Bandelow: Talk, you should talk.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Is it always good to talk about your fear, or does it not make you even better sometimes?

Borwin Bandelow: In no case should you suppress fear. I always advise talking to as many people as possible.Maybe not with your own boss. But telling a friend about it helps a lot. She does not have to say much.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Why is it so hard for us to break the spiral of concern?

Borwin Bandelow: Our fear system is often stronger than the system of reason. It is older in human history and biologically higher: After all, fear should ensure our survival. Reason then says: It will be again. The fear says: puff cake.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: How do I outwit the fear? With relaxation, a break from overseas?

Borwin Bandelow: The talk, you just have to reduce the stress, ten weeks Bahamas or Hawaii, then the worries, I consider quite nonsense. I think exactly the opposite: stress can help against anxiety. You just have to pick the right one. Win victories in small stages, focus on things that are fun, boost the reward system: that's what you need. It should be stressful. For example, writing a book is a hell of a stress to me, but a good one. Once you understand how the body works, you can better handle the fear. That can even reduce my fear of failure. After all, failures ultimately lead only to the fortification of happiness.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Please? How can an application cancellation contribute to my happiness?

Borwin Bandelow: That's a bit bitter, of course. Nevertheless, a monkey who gets an apple every day has a daily payout in the reward system. After a few days, he gets used to the apples, and the distribution ebbs. But if you now change the experimental setup and the monkey randomly gets an apple only in 50 percent of the time, the reward system jumps back, even though he only gets half as many apples.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: In other words, the monkey worker is lucky to receive a few cancellations because they are the ramp for the big payoff when it finally gets the job done?

Borwin Bandelow: Something like that. And besides, a rejection is always better than putting your hands in your lap and not even trying.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Does it help someone who does not dare to say "Trau dich!"?

Borwin Bandelow: The problem is our behavior: every time we pinch the situation we are afraid of, the fear increases. Marie Curie said, "You do not have to fear anything in life, you just have to understand everything." I once did a survey of my patients. Nine percent said they never needed treatment after a doctor told them how an anxiety disorder works.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: And how does it work?

Borwin Bandelow: We differentiate between three forms of anxiety disorders: social phobia, which is a kind of extreme shyness, then generalized anxiety disorder, which theoretically sees real dangers as totally overly dangerous, and the panic disorder, out of the blue, without external Reason to enter into fear reactions. The symptoms are identical in all forms: palpitations, tremors, sweating, dizziness.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: How many people are affected?

Borwin Bandelow: 18.1 percent of Germans have an anxiety disorder.

"Too much fear paralyzes, too little makes us a drowsy"

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Can anyone catch that?

Borwin Bandelow: Yes. Younger people are particularly affected; anxiety patients are on average 36 years old. And if someone succeeds, I always think: he or she is afraid.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Fear makes successful?

Borwin Bandelow: It is the rocket engine for success. Success always means work. And the energy you need comes mostly from fear. Take, for example, the social phobics: those who think that they are not recognized by the others, and make a special effort.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Fear for the workplace, can it be such a rocket engine?

Borwin Bandelow: He who is afraid suffers. This is very unpleasant and must not be trivialized. Nevertheless, the worry of losing a job is a very important motivation. The Yerkes-Dodson Law describes a curve that provides optimal performance at a medium level of anxiety. So: Too much paralyzed, too little makes you a drowsiness. Just as a car has four wheels, man must be afraid.

Prof. Borwin Bandelow, 57, a specialist in neurology and psychiatry, psychologist and psychotherapist, is president of the Society for Anxiety Research and has been head of the emergency department in Göttingen for 20 years. His popular science book "The fear book: where fears come from and how to fight them" became a bestseller.

more on the subject "Fear" read in the dossier of the current ChroniquesDuVasteMonde (from the 11th of March at the kiosk). therein:

Afraid of the partner? A couple advisor about the powerlessness of women.

Nothing unhealthy: Why it pays to worry about the diet.

And an interview with Sarah Kuttner about her first book - including sweats and tachycardia.

Exclusive to ChroniquesDuVasteMonde.com describes the journalist and author Kathrin Passig how she has her life under control without self-discipline and bad conscience.

"The fear book: where fears come from and how to fight them" Borwin Bandelow Rowohlt paperback 384 pages 9,95 Euro

How to use fear as an engine for success (May 2021).



Panic Attack, Göttingen, Car, Winston Churchill, Crisis, Dossier, Fear, Interview, Prof. Borwin Bandelov

La peur est le moteur du succès

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Professeur Bandelow, beaucoup de gens ont actuellement peur du chômage. Ce qui aide, quand les inquiétudes prennent le dessus et que tout ce que nous nous demandons, c'est: suis-je assez bon pour le travail?

Borwin Bandelow: Je recommande un contrôle de la réalité: demandez-vous si vous travaillez le plus fantasmagorique de tous les employés. Surtout les femmes souvent mal juger. Presque toujours, ce sont les gens qui ne figurent pas sur la liste qui ont le plus peur: ceux qui, de peur des erreurs, font tout quand même.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Et quand tous sont virés?

Borwin Bandelow: Je recommande un fatalisme bien dosé. Là où mes peurs ne peuvent pas bouger, ils me bloquent. Cela n'a pas de sens de pleurer dessus. La peur est un bon moteur, mais un mauvais guide. Si vous êtes réellement viré, demandez-vous si c'est vraiment la grande catastrophe. Nous avons tendance à toujours trouver le travail exact que nous avons actuellement, bien que ce ne soit peut-être pas le cas objectivement.



ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Assez difficile, donc factuel, de gérer leur propre peur.

Borwin Bandelow: Alors attrapez de nouvelles peurs.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Pardonnez-moi?

Borwin Bandelow: Faites ce que vous n’avez jamais osé faire: dansez le tango, le skateboard, adressez-vous à un homme dans le pub. Embarrasse-toi. Avez-vous peur! Je suis allé patiner l'autre jour, mais je ne peux pas. Toujours penché en avant pour que je ne tombe pas à l'arrière de la tête.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Et ça veut dire quoi?

Borwin Bandelow: Vous créez un espace de pratique si petit et gérable pour votre peur. Sur un terrain non dangereux, vous apprendrez à la gérer et à la vaincre.



ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Cela aide-t-il en matière de conserves?

Borwin Bandelow: Il s'agit de maintenir l'équilibre de la structure interne. Nous avons un système de peur, un système de raisonnement et un système de récompense. Si les dommages redoutés par le système de la peur ne se produisent pas, notre cerveau nous récompense en libérant des hormones de bien-être. La peur a donc quelque chose de très positif, mais la plupart des gens l’ignorent. Winston Churchill a dit un jour: "Il n'y a rien de mieux que de se faire tirer dessus et de ne pas être touché."

"La raison dit:" Ce sera à nouveau. "La peur dit:" Pustekuchen! "

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Vous gérez le service des consultations externes pour anxiété à Göttingen depuis 20 ans. Est-ce que les gens vous donnent la porte maintenant, en temps de crise?

Borwin Bandelow: Non, pas plus que d'habitude, les patients atteints de crainte viennent à cause de craintes peu réalistes. Ils ont peur des zones piétonnes et des ascenseurs ou subissent des attaques de panique très soudaines. Dans ma pratique, personne n'a jamais été menacé de terrorisme, de crainte au travail ou de soucis d'argent.



ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Cela signifie-t-il que nous gérons bien les véritables menaces?

Borwin Bandelow: Mieux au moins, car cela fait parfois l’apparence vers l’extérieur. L’homme est conçu pour s’inquiéter. Avoir peur, c'est normal.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Comment savoir si je suis juste inquiet ou déjà malade d'anxiété?

Borwin Bandelow: Bien sûr, nous réfléchissons tous, avons des craintes, sur le fait que le partenaire décède, vous pourriez tomber malade ou n’être pas assez bon pour le monde du travail. En règle générale, toute personne qui réfléchit à son anxiété pendant plus d'une demi-journée ou qui commence à prendre des décisions professionnelles ou privées en fonction de son anxiété, par exemple, refuse de bénéficier d'une promotion, car il lui faudrait alors beaucoup parler à des étrangers ou pas sans partenaire. Si vous osez aller au supermarché, vous devriez aller chez le psychiatre. Cela n'a plus rien à voir avec une peur saine.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: De quoi avons-nous besoin de peur?

Borwin Bandelow: Notre système de peur nous empêche de faire des choses qui nous font mal, comme abuser du patron ou conduire une voiture contre un arbre. Cependant, les peurs peuvent aussi devenir indépendantes et nous bloquer: beaucoup de gens se sentent seuls à cause de leur immense angoisse de séparation. D'autres n'écrivent pas d'applications parce qu'ils ont peur des rejets. Le résultat est qu'ils manquent tout ce qui est possible dans la vie. Dans une sorte de prophylaxie de déception, ils ont mis leurs mains sur les genoux.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Comment réussir mon retour à la vie?

Borwin Bandelow: Parlez, vous devriez parler.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Est-il toujours bon de parler de votre peur, ou est-ce que cela ne vous rend pas encore meilleur parfois?

Borwin Bandelow: En aucun cas, ne supprimez la peur. Je conseille toujours de parler à autant de personnes que possible.Peut-être pas avec votre propre patron. Mais en parler à un ami aide beaucoup. Elle n'a pas à dire grand chose.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Pourquoi est-il si difficile pour nous de briser la spirale de l'inquiétude?

Borwin Bandelow: Notre système de peur est souvent plus fort que le système de la raison. Il est plus ancien dans l'histoire humaine et biologiquement plus élevé: après tout, la peur devrait assurer notre survie. La raison dit alors: ce sera encore. La peur dit: gâteau de bouffée.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Comment déjouer la peur? Avec détente, une pause d'outre-mer?

Borwin Bandelow: La conversation, il suffit de réduire le stress, dix semaines aux Bahamas ou à Hawaii, puis les inquiétudes, je considère cela comme un non-sens. Je pense exactement le contraire: le stress peut aider à lutter contre l'anxiété. Vous devez juste choisir le bon. Gagnez des victoires par petites étapes, concentrez-vous sur des choses amusantes, améliorez le système de récompense: c'est ce dont vous avez besoin. Cela devrait être stressant. Par exemple, écrire un livre est pour moi un stress énorme, mais bon. Une fois que vous avez compris comment fonctionne le corps, vous pouvez mieux gérer la peur. Cela peut même réduire ma peur de l'échec. Après tout, les échecs ne mènent finalement qu’à l’enrichissement du bonheur.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: S'il vous plait? Comment une annulation d'application peut-elle contribuer à mon bonheur?

Borwin Bandelow: C'est un peu amer, bien sûr. Néanmoins, un singe qui reçoit une pomme tous les jours reçoit un paiement quotidien dans le système de récompense. Après quelques jours, il s'habitue aux pommes et à la distribution. Mais si vous modifiez maintenant la configuration expérimentale et que le singe récupère une pomme au hasard dans 50% des cas, le système de récompense revient en arrière, même s'il ne reçoit que la moitié moins de pommes.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: En d’autres termes, le travailleur des singes a la chance de recevoir quelques annulations car il est la rampe d’argent pour le gros gain lorsque le travail est enfin fait?

Borwin Bandelow: Quelque chose comme ça. Et puis, un rejet est toujours préférable que de mettre ses mains sur ses genoux et de ne même pas essayer.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Est-ce que ça aide quelqu'un qui n'ose pas dire "Trau dich!"?

Borwin Bandelow: Le problème réside dans notre comportement: chaque fois que nous nous penchons sur la situation qui nous fait peur, la peur augmente. Marie Curie a déclaré: "Vous n'avez rien à craindre dans la vie, vous devez tout comprendre." J'ai déjà fait une enquête auprès de mes patients. Neuf pour cent ont déclaré n'avoir jamais eu besoin de traitement après qu'un médecin leur ait expliqué le fonctionnement d'un trouble d'anxiété.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Et comment ça marche?

Borwin Bandelow: Nous distinguons trois formes de troubles anxieux: la phobie sociale, qui est une sorte de timidité extrême, puis le trouble anxieux généralisé, qui considère théoriquement les dangers réels comme totalement excessivement dangereux, et Raison d'entrer dans des réactions de peur. Les symptômes sont identiques sous toutes les formes: palpitations, tremblements, transpiration, vertiges.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Combien de personnes sont touchées?

Borwin Bandelow: 18,1% des Allemands ont un trouble d'anxiété.

"Trop de peur paralyse, trop peu nous rend somnolents"

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: Quelqu'un peut-il attraper ça?

Borwin Bandelow: Oui. Les plus jeunes sont particulièrement touchés, les patients anxieux ayant en moyenne 36 ans. Et si quelqu'un réussit, je pense toujours: il ou elle a peur.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: La peur réussit-elle?

Borwin Bandelow: C'est le moteur de la fusée du succès. Le succès est toujours synonyme de travail. Et l'énergie dont vous avez besoin provient principalement de la peur. Prenons, par exemple, les phobiques sociaux: ceux qui pensent ne pas être reconnus par les autres et font un effort particulier.

ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: La peur pour le lieu de travail, peut-il être un moteur de fusée?

Borwin Bandelow: Celui qui a peur souffre. Ceci est très désagréable et ne doit pas être banalisé. Néanmoins, le souci de perdre un emploi est une motivation très importante. La loi de Yerkes-Dodson décrit une courbe qui fournit une performance optimale à un niveau d'anxiété moyen. Donc: Trop paralysé, trop peu vous rend somnolent. Tout comme une voiture a quatre roues, l'homme doit avoir peur.

Prof. Borwin Bandelow, 57 ans, spécialiste en neurologie et psychiatrie, psychologue et psychothérapeute, est président de la Society for Anxiety Research et dirige le service des urgences de Göttingen depuis 20 ans. Son livre de vulgarisation scientifique "Le livre de la peur: d'où viennent les peurs et comment les combattre" est devenu un best-seller.

Plus sur ce sujet « La peur » lire dans le dossier de l'actuelle ChroniquesDuVasteMonde (à partir du 11 mars au kiosque). dans celle-ci:

Peur du partenaire? Un conseiller de couple sur l'impuissance des femmes.

Rien de malsain: Pourquoi payer pour s'inquiéter du régime

Et un entretien avec Sarah Kuttner à propos de son premier livre - y compris les sueurs et la tachycardie.

Exclusif à ChroniquesDuVasteMonde.com La journaliste et auteure Kathrin Passig explique comment sa vie est sous contrôle sans autodiscipline ni mauvaise conscience.

"Le livre de la peur: d'où viennent les peurs et comment les combattre" Borwin Bandelow Rowohlt broché 384 pages 9,95 Euro

LA PEUR EST UN MOTEUR / Remplissez votre vie de sauts en parachute ! (Février 2021).



Attaque de panique, Göttingen, Voiture, Winston Churchill, Crise, Dossier, Peur, Interview, Prof. Borwin Bandelov