• July 12, 2020

For refugees, harder rules will apply in the future


What exactly has the Grand Coalition decided?

The most important change is the temporary suspension of family reunification, which should reduce the number of incoming refugees. Specifically, this means that refugees with limited (subsidiary) protection may not bring their family to Germany for a period of two years.

This rule applies to refugees who can not rely on the fundamental right to asylum and who also do not enjoy protection status under the Geneva Refugee Convention, but who are not deported because they face torture or the death penalty at home. Excluded are relatives of refugees (mostly Syrians) who are still in refugee camps in Turkey, Jordan and Lebanon. They should be brought primarily with contingents to Germany.



What else is changing?

In future, Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia will be classified as "safe countries of origin". Purpose: Asylum seekers from these three countries can be sent back to their homeland faster. Especially from Morocco and Algeria, many refugees came to Germany at the end of 2015. Asylum seekers from "safe countries of origin" want the coalition to be housed in new reception centers where their asylum applications can be processed faster. They are no longer allowed to leave the district of their immigration office - otherwise they will be deprived of benefits and their asylum procedures suspended.

Also new is that asylum seekers have to pay ten euros per month for their integration courses. In addition, health-impaired refugees should be deported faster than before - unless it is a serious illness.



What reactions are there to the asylum package?

The opposition is not very enthusiastic about the Asylum Package II - some politicians have already made their displeasure on Twitter air:

New #Asyl package of the Grand Coalition creates two-class refugees and is a stimulus program for tugs. //t.co/wS6VtKp3AP

? Sahra Wagenknecht (@SWagenknecht) January 29, 2016

The #GroKo #Family Reunion plans contradict everything we know about #Integration. #Asylpaket

? Katrin Göring-Eckardt MdB (@GoeringEckardt) January 29, 2016

For the human rights organization Pro Asyl, the suspension of family reunification is a "serious encroachment on the fundamental right to live together as a family", forcing those affected to take illegal paths. The new rule will enliven the business of smugglers and tugs. Bundestag Vice President Claudia Roth called the steps taken towards ZDF "very regrettable."



Ian Bremmer: Refugee Crises Will Hit Developing Countries Hardest (July 2020).



Asylum, Germany, Morocco, Algeria, Grand Coalition, Torture, Turkey, Jordan, Lebanon, refugee policy, asylum package II, family reunification, tougher rules

Pour les réfugiés, des règles plus strictes s'appliqueront à l'avenir

Qu'est-ce que la Grande Coalition a décidé exactement?

Le changement le plus important est la suspension temporaire de la réunification familiale, ce qui devrait réduire le nombre de réfugiés entrants. Concrètement, cela signifie que les réfugiés bénéficiant d'une protection limitée (subsidiaire) ne peuvent pas amener leur famille en Allemagne avant deux ans.

Cette règle s'applique aux réfugiés qui ne peuvent pas invoquer le droit fondamental à l'asile et qui ne bénéficient pas non plus du statut de protection en vertu de la Convention de Genève sur les réfugiés, mais qui ne sont pas expulsés parce qu'ils risquent la torture ou la peine de mort chez eux. Sont exclus les membres de la famille des réfugiés (principalement des Syriens) qui se trouvent toujours dans des camps de réfugiés en Turquie, en Jordanie et au Liban. Ils devraient être amenés principalement avec des contingents en Allemagne.



Quoi d'autre est en train de changer?

À l'avenir, le Maroc, l'Algérie et la Tunisie seront classés dans les "pays d'origine sûrs". Objectif: Les demandeurs d'asile de ces trois pays peuvent être renvoyés plus rapidement dans leur pays d'origine. Surtout en provenance du Maroc et d'Algérie, de nombreux réfugiés sont arrivés en Allemagne fin 2015. Les demandeurs d'asile originaires de "pays d'origine sûrs" souhaitent que la coalition soit hébergée dans de nouveaux centres d'accueil où leurs demandes d'asile pourront être traitées plus rapidement. Ils ne sont plus autorisés à quitter le district de leur bureau d'immigration, faute de quoi ils seront coupés et leurs procédures d'asile suspendues.

Autre nouveauté: les demandeurs d’asile doivent débourser 10 euros par mois pour suivre leurs cours d’intégration. En outre, les réfugiés dont l'état de santé est altéré devraient être expulsés plus rapidement qu'auparavant - à moins qu'il s'agisse d'une maladie grave.



Quelles sont les réactions au paquet asile?

L’opposition II n’est pas très enthousiaste. Certains politiciens ont déjà exprimé leur mécontentement sur Twitter:

Le nouveau paquet #Asyl de la Grande Coalition crée des réfugiés de deux classes et constitue un programme de stimulation pour les remorqueurs. //t.co/wS6VtKp3AP

? Sahra Wagenknecht (@SWagenknecht) 29 janvier 2016

Les plans de #GroKo #Family Reunion contredisent tout ce que nous savons sur #Integration. #Asylpaket

? Katrin Göring-Eckardt MdB (@GoeringEckardt) 29 janvier 2016

Pour l'organisation de défense des droits humains Pro Asyl, la suspension de la réunification familiale est une "atteinte grave au droit fondamental de vivre ensemble en tant que famille", obligeant les personnes touchées à emprunter des voies illégales. La nouvelle règle animera le commerce des passeurs et des remorqueurs. La vice-présidente du Bundestag, Claudia Roth, a qualifié les mesures prises en faveur de la ZDF de "très regrettables".



Une vie : Angelina Jolie (Septembre 2020).



Asile, Allemagne, Maroc, Algérie, Grande Coalition, Torture, Turquie, Jordanie, Liban, politique relative aux réfugiés, paquet asile II, regroupement familial, règles plus strictes