Impressive embroidery art with needle and thread

Who wants to visit Nikki Delport-Wepener, takes the ferry from Hong Kong to the offshore smaller island Discovery Bay - and is after 25 minutes crossing in another world: no more skyscrapers, instead of cars driving golf carts, and the paths are bordered with lawn and flowers , A small town with 20,000 inhabitants, which looks more like a holiday village.

Nikki Delport-Wepener walks to the ferry dock: A slender blonde woman with a classic girl's face, casually dressed, flip-flops on her feet. It's a five minute walk to your home, always along the beach. Six years ago, she and her husband Ray Wepener, an investment banker, moved here. The residential complex in the countryside, in which they have a semi-detached house, looks like wealth. Inside, the domicile looks tidy and elegant: bright sofas, dark dining room furniture, parrot flowers in the white kitchen living next to the entrance. A lot of art - especially painting, but also embroidery of the landlord. And they are ever one, two square meters in size.



© Phlipp Engelhorn

At least now, at the sight of her works, it becomes clear: for Nikki Delport-Wepener embroidery is not a hobby, but her job - and also an early vocation: Already at the age of three, she has her mother Lesley Turpin-Delport, an academically trained artist , got her first pincushion as a gift. When she remembers her early childhood, she sees herself and her mother sticking by the fireplace, surrounded by her chow chows and neighbor women, who were taught by Lesley Turpin-Delport to embroider. At the age of six Nikki Delport-Wepener had mastered all the basic prints. "Here, I embroidered these fish" at the time: it points to four framed pictures that do not look like works by a preschooler. While her mother likes to make people and portraits, Nikki Delport-Wepener was fascinated by animals and plants from an early age - and has therefore studied biology. Later she became a primary school teacher and then went to England with her husband. There, her passion caught up with her: she studied the rich British embroidery tradition at the Royal School of Needlework and soon taught at embroidery schools.

This has resulted in close cooperation with her mother. Since the 80s, Lesley Turpin-Delport and her company "Les Designs" have been distributing specially designed work materials for embroidery. Although the mother lives in a rural region in South Africa and the daughter in Hong Kong. But the two are constantly in contact via Skype, they exchange ideas with each other, write books - and when they give workshops in England, they meet again in real life, the next time from mid-August in the seaside resort of Bath. Embroidery instructions and materials are already stacked on the dining table by Nikki Delport-Wepener. In addition, the embroiderer teaches in her studio in Hong Kong downtown. For example, her students learn to create the illusion of three-dimensionality by placing the heavier yarns in the foreground of an image, the more delicate ones in the back. Or use gauze fillings or embroider objects with beads.

What that looks like can be seen in the bedroom and in the small Nikki Delport-Wepener studio. In one picture she has collected all her favorite motifs: insects, plants, turtles, butterflies. The curtain in the bedroom is embroidered with dragonflies on both sides, a technique from the traditional Chinese silk embroidery that Nikki Delport-Wepener learned in China and integrated into her three-dimensional style of embroidery.

"Mixed-media freestyle" is what mother and daughter call their art of creating something new from traditional western and eastern embroidery techniques. In addition, Nikki Delport-Wepener receives special orders from all over the world: For example, a British collector entrusted her with seven antique tattered samurai coats. She wants to save the pieces by carefully sewing in a second fabric layer or laying a thin net layer over it.

A challenge - similar to the two huge old tapestries in the lobby of a luxury hotel in the neighboring Macau colony where Nikki Delport-Wepener has been working for months. The French tapestry is ready, but the old Chinese floral silk idyll covers a whole wall - and that may take time. The upper sections had to be restored on a scaffold and with a construction helmet on the head. "After that, I need a full body massage every time," she says, laughing. The artist's craziest project so far was a room divider with a sheep and a goat for a country home near Hong Kong. On a four-part blood-red panel of almost three and a half by two meters, the animals now browse larger than life between office and nursery. The family had just given her the drawing of a famous Chinese calligrapher in postcard size.

© Phlipp Engelhorn

The preliminary research in South Africa, Australia and England alone took four months: The embroiderer studied the behavior of sheep and goats in nature and searched for suitable materials. It took her a year and a half to embroider.

In order to achieve a lifelike result, Nikki Delport-Wepener used a different yarn for each body part of the animals and finally colored the whole picture with tea in different shades of brown. Sheep and goat are for cuddling. And in her drawers are still many photos of animals and plants that she wants to take as a template for embroidered murals.

For the sake of embroidery, the artist has even renounced children - she could not have imagined, to suspend her work. Her second passion is flamenco - a dance that fits this self-assured, tireless woman. She does it whenever she can: "Of course, I always have something to embroider on the ferry, and at the same time I do flamenco dry exercises with my feet, and people have to think: it's got damage."





Artist creates breathtaking portraits using hand sewn silk thread (October 2020).



Needle, Hong Kong, Metal, Embroidery, South Africa, England, Car, Flip-flops, Embroider, Needlework, DIY, DIY, Artist

Art de broderie impressionnant avec une aiguille et du fil

Qui veut visiter Nikki Delport-Wepener, prend le ferry de Hong Kong pour la petite île au large Discovery Bay - et est après 25 minutes de traversée dans un autre monde: plus de gratte-ciel, au lieu de voitures conduisant des voiturettes de golf, et les sentiers sont bordés de pelouse et de fleurs , Une petite ville de 20 000 habitants qui ressemble plus à un village de vacances.

Nikki Delport-Wepener se dirige vers le quai du ferry: une femme blonde élancée au visage classique, habillée de façon décontractée, qui se tricote sur les pieds. C'est à cinq minutes à pied de chez vous, toujours le long de la plage. Il y a six ans, elle et son mari, Ray Wepener, un banquier d'investissement, ont déménagé ici. Le complexe résidentiel à la campagne, dans lequel ils ont une maison jumelée, ressemble à de la richesse. À l’intérieur, le domicile a l’air élégant et soigné: canapés lumineux, meubles de salle à manger sombres, fleurs de perroquet dans la cuisine blanche située à côté de l’entrée. Beaucoup d'art - en particulier la peinture, mais aussi la broderie du propriétaire. Et ils font toujours un, deux mètres carrés.

© Phlipp Engelhorn

Au moins maintenant, à la vue de ses œuvres, cela devient clair: pour Nikki Delport-Wepener, la broderie n'est pas un passe-temps, mais son travail - mais aussi une vocation précoce: déjà à trois ans, elle a sa mère, Lesley Turpin-Delport, une artiste diplômée , a eu sa première pelote en cadeau. Lorsqu'elle se souvient de sa petite enfance, elle se voit, ainsi que sa mère, collant au coin du feu, entourée de ses chow-chows et de ses voisines, à qui Lesley Turpin-Delport a appris à broder. À l'âge de six ans, Nikki Delport-Wepener maîtrisait toutes les épreuves de base. "Ici, j'ai brodé ces poissons" à l'époque: il indique quatre images encadrées qui ne ressemblent pas à des œuvres d'un enfant d'âge préscolaire. Alors que sa mère aime faire des personnages et des portraits, Nikki Delport-Wepener a été fascinée par les animaux et les plantes dès son plus jeune âge et a donc étudié la biologie. Plus tard, elle devint institutrice puis alla en Angleterre avec son mari. Là-bas, sa passion la rattrapa: elle étudia la riche tradition britannique en broderie à la Royal School of Needlework et enseigna bientôt dans des écoles de broderie.

Cela a abouti à une coopération étroite avec sa mère. Depuis les années 80, Lesley Turpin-Delport et sa société "Les Designs" distribuent du matériel de travail spécialement conçu pour la broderie. Bien que la mère habite dans une région rurale en Afrique du Sud et la fille à Hong Kong. Mais les deux sont constamment en contact via Skype, ils échangent des idées, écrivent des livres - et quand ils donnent des ateliers en Angleterre, ils se retrouvent dans la vie réelle, la prochaine fois à partir de la mi-août dans la station balnéaire de Bath. Les instructions et le matériel de broderie sont déjà empilés sur la table à manger par Nikki Delport-Wepener. En outre, la brodeuse enseigne dans son atelier du centre-ville de Hong Kong. Par exemple, ses élèves apprennent à créer l’illusion de la tridimensionnalité en plaçant les fils plus lourds au premier plan d’une image, les plus délicats à l’arrière. Ou utilisez des plombages en gaze ou des objets à broder avec des perles.

On peut voir à quoi cela ressemble dans la chambre à coucher et dans le petit studio Nikki Delport-Wepener. Sur une photo, elle a rassemblé tous ses motifs préférés: insectes, plantes, tortues, papillons. Le rideau de la chambre à coucher est brodé de libellules des deux côtés, technique issue de la broderie en soie traditionnelle chinoise que Nikki Delport-Wepener a apprise en Chine et intégrée à son style de broderie en trois dimensions.

"Mixte Media Freestyle" est ce que mère et fille appellent leur art de créer quelque chose de nouveau à partir de techniques de broderie traditionnelles occidentales et orientales. Nikki Delport-Wepener reçoit en outre des commandes spéciales du monde entier: par exemple, un collectionneur britannique lui a confié sept anciens manteaux de samouraï en lambeaux. Elle souhaite conserver les pièces en cousant soigneusement une seconde couche de tissu ou en posant une fine couche de filet par dessus.

Un défi - semblable aux deux immenses vieilles tapisseries du hall d’un hôtel de luxe de la colonie voisine de Macao, où Nikki Delport-Wepener travaille depuis des mois. La tapisserie française est prête, mais la vieille idylle chinoise en soie à fleurs recouvre tout un mur - et cela peut prendre du temps. Les parties supérieures ont dû être restaurées sur un échafaud et avec un casque de protection sur la tête. "Après cela, j'ai besoin d'un massage complet du corps à chaque fois", dit-elle en riant. Le projet le plus fou de l’artiste était jusqu’à présent de séparer une pièce avec un mouton et une chèvre pour une maison de campagne près de Hong Kong. Sur un panneau rouge-sang en quatre parties de près de trois mètres et demi sur deux mètres, les animaux se déplacent maintenant plus grands que nature entre le bureau et la pépinière. La famille venait de lui donner le dessin d'un célèbre calligraphe chinois au format carte postale.

© Phlipp Engelhorn

Les recherches préliminaires en Afrique du Sud, en Australie et en Angleterre ont duré quatre mois à elles seules. Le brodeur a étudié le comportement des moutons et des chèvres dans la nature et a recherché des matériaux appropriés. Il lui a fallu un an et demi pour broder.

Pour obtenir un résultat réaliste, Nikki Delport-Wepener a utilisé un fil différent pour chaque partie du corps des animaux et a finalement coloré le tableau en entier avec du thé dans différentes nuances de brun. Les moutons et les chèvres sont à câliner. Et dans ses tiroirs, il reste encore de nombreuses photos d'animaux et de plantes qu'elle souhaite prendre comme modèle pour les peintures murales brodées.

Pour des raisons de broderie, l'artiste a même renoncé aux enfants - elle n'aurait pas pu l'imaginer, de suspendre son travail. Sa deuxième passion est le flamenco - une danse qui convient à cette femme assurée et infatigable. Elle le fait chaque fois qu'elle le peut: "Bien sûr, j'ai toujours quelque chose à broder sur le ferry, et en même temps, je fais des exercices de flamenco à sec avec mes pieds, et les gens doivent réfléchir: il y a des dégâts."

Atelier de Broderie Filabro, magasin online (Décembre 2019).


Aiguille, Hong Kong, Métal, Broderie, Afrique du Sud, Angleterre, Voiture, Tongs, Brodez, Couture, Bricolage, Bricolage, Artiste