Life is an opera

"Don Carlo" by Giuseppe Verdi

Verdi has to be. Everything from Verdi. Nothing works without La Traviata, Aida, Otello, Falstaff, Rigoletto, Il Trovatore, Un Ballo in Maschera. "Macbeth"! "Nabucco"! And still: My favorite opera by Verdi is and remains "Don Carlo", after Schiller's drama "Don Carlos"? this touching piece from the time of the Inquisition, this piece about politics, love, ideals and how everything finally goes down the drain. Carlos loves Elisabeth, who has to marry his father Philip II for reasons of state, the Eboli loves Carlos, Rodrigo wants to free Flanders, the Grand Inquisitor executes, and the old king sings: "She never loved me." And my tears flow over all dear loved ones. , , My shot is old, but it is wonderful and still on the market. "Don Carlo", first performed in French in 1867 in Paris, is for me one of the most beautiful operas there is.

Orchestra and chorus of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Sir George Solti. With Carlo Bergonzi, Renata Tebaldi, Nicolai Ghiaurov, Dietrich Fischer Dieskau, Grace Bumbry, Martti Talvela u. a. (Recording from 1966, edited 1988, Decca 421 114-2).



"La Bohème" by Giacomo Puccini

Of course Puccini must be too, and Puccini must of course be "La Bohème", the story of the writer Rodolfo, who burns his manuscript to keep it a little warm, and then Mimi comes out of the attic, coughs and fetches fire for her candle, and Rodolfo falls in love, and all that can not go well. Mimi dies in the end, Puccini is said to have cried, we cry too and are happy because the music is tender and strong at the same time. The premiere was conducted by Arturo Toscanini in Turin in 1896, until today the opera is a worldwide success, and Rodolfo's last cry: "Mimi! Mimi! Mimi !!!" breaks our hearts. For CD there are also texts in English, German, French to read. I had the CD for three years before I realized that!

Philharmonia Orchestra London, Antonio Pappano. With Roberto Alagna, Leontina Vaduva, Thomas Hampson, Ruth Ann Swenson u. a. (1996, EMI Records 7243 556120 2).



"Maria Stuarda" by Gaetano Donizetti

And another Italian: the wonderful Donizetti, again with a material by Friedrich Schiller, whom the composers loved so much because of his musical language and dramatic subjects that all his dramas became operas. Donizetti has chosen the dispute between the two queens for a dramatic opera. Before the premiere in Naples in 1834, the singers of the two roles Maria and Elisabeth are said to have gotten themselves into the hair so that they beat themselves on the stage hospital-ready. My favorite passage in this opera is the desperately beautiful Scots Choir when they learn that their Queen Mary is on the scaffold. There are specialists who say: Basically, modern opera begins here, with Donizetti's "Maria Stuarda". At least one suspects what will happen to Wagner dramatic.

Orchestra e coro del Teatro Comunale di Bologna, Richard Bonynge. With Joan Sutherland, Huguette Tourangeau, Luciano Pavarotti, Roger Soyer u. a. (Revised in 1976, revised in 1990, Decca 425 410-2).



"The Ring of the Nibelung" by Richard

Here we are with Wagner. It does not help to baulk: Wagner must also be, if you love the opera and want to understand what a precious art form it is. No one has renewed and revolutionized them as thoroughly as Richard Wagner did, and this grandiose Centennial is now in a new, brilliant procession? "Rheingold", "Valkyrie", "Siegfried", "Götterdämmerung". It's all about the Ring of the Nibelung: Who renounces love, who can forge from the Rhinegold this ring that gives infinite power - what a picture! Power without love, and so everything breaks down in the end. When the world is redeemed by Brünhilde from the curse of this ring, Walhall goes up in flames, the Rhine overflows the banks, the gods go under. Great visions!

Bayreuth Festival, Pierre Boulez. With Siegfried Jerusalem, Donald McIntyre, Gwyneth Jones, Peter Hofmann, Matti Salminen, Gabriele Schnaut, Manfred Jung u. v. a. (Recording from Bayreuth from 1981, completely revised in 2006, Philips 475 7960, 12 CDs).

"Giulio Cesare" by Georg Friedrich Händel

For me 2006 was my Handel year. I've always known him, often sang his oratorios in the Bach Choir in my years, but I discovered his operas late, at the glorious festival in Glyndbourne, England, and at the Cologne and Frankfurt Opera. I like to hear "Giulio Cesare" (in Egitto), the love story of Caesar and Cleopatra, and preferably in the version of René Jacobs. Listen to the beginning of CD 2? two highly armed emperors daintily and bitterly wiggle around each other in a kind of minuet: magnificent old music from 1724, which still shakes.The emperors are dead, the wars are forgotten, but the music is still alive after 400 years.

Concerto Cologne, René Jacobs. With Jennifer Larmore, Barbara Schlick, Bernarda Fink, Derek Lee Ragin u. a. (Arles 1991, new 2004, HMC 901385.87).

"La Clemenza di Tito" by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

The Mozart Year has given us fabulous recordings of not so often played Mozart operas, for example those of the Emperor Titus, who sees himself surrounded by intrigue and betrayal and yet forgives everyone. A piece about friendship, passion, arrogance, with touching songs, eg. B. Vitellia's farewell to all ambitious hopes: "Non più di fiori". I do not know much better. The torments of love and power fantasies are as current as in the times of Titus, 79 AD, or in Mozart's time.

Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Sir Charles Mackerras. With Magdalena Kozena, Rainer Trost, Hillevi Martinpelto u. a. (2006 Deutsche Grammophon, 00289 477 5792).

Opus -- Live Is Life [[ Official Live Video ]] HD At The Opera (October 2020).



Giuseppe Verdi, Elke Heidenreich, Richard Wagner, Friedrich Schiller, Flanders, Paris, operas

La vie est un opéra

"Don Carlo" de Giuseppe Verdi

Verdi doit être. Tout de Verdi. Rien ne fonctionne sans La Traviata, Aida, Otello, Falstaff, Rigoletto, Il Trovatore, Un Ballo in Maschera. "Macbeth"! "Nabucco"! Et encore: mon opéra préféré de Verdi est et reste "Don Carlo", après le drame de Schiller "Don Carlos"? cette pièce touchante de l'époque de l'Inquisition, cette pièce sur la politique, l'amour, les idéaux et comment tout finit par tomber à l'eau. Carlos aime Elisabeth, qui doit épouser son père Philippe II pour des raisons d'État, les Eboli aiment Carlos, Rodrigo veut libérer la Flandre, le grand inquisiteur exécute et le vieux roi chante: "Elle ne m'a jamais aimé." Et mes larmes coulent sur tous les êtres chers. , , Mon coup est vieux, mais il est magnifique et toujours sur le marché. "Don Carlo", créé pour la première fois en français en 1867 à Paris, est pour moi l'un des plus beaux opéras du monde.

Orchestre et choeur du Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Sir George Solti. Avec Carlo Bergonzi, Renata Tebaldi, Nicolai Ghiaurov, Dietrich Fischer Dieskau, Grace Bumbry, Martti Talvela u. a. (Enregistrement de 1966, édité en 1988, Decca 421 114-2).



"La Bohème" de Giacomo Puccini

Bien sûr, Puccini doit l'être aussi, et bien sûr Puccini doit être "La Bohème", l'histoire de l'écrivain Rodolfo, qui brûle son manuscrit pour le tenir au chaud, puis Mimi sort du grenier, tousse et allume le feu. pour sa bougie, et Rodolfo tombe amoureux, et tout ce qui ne peut pas aller bien. Mimi meurt à la fin, on dit que Puccini a pleuré, nous pleurons aussi et sommes heureux parce que la musique est tendre et forte à la fois. La première a été dirigée par Arturo Toscanini à Turin en 1896; jusqu'à aujourd'hui, l'opéra connaît un succès mondial et le dernier cri de Rodolfo: "Mimi! Mimi! Mimi !!!" brise nos coeurs. Pour les CD, il existe également des textes en anglais, allemand et français à lire. J'ai eu le CD pendant trois ans avant de m'en rendre compte!

Philharmonia Orchestra London, Antonio Pappano. Avec Roberto Alagna, Leontina Vaduva, Thomas Hampson et Ruth Ann Swenson u. a. (1996, EMI Records 7243 556120 2).



"Maria Stuarda" de Gaetano Donizetti

Et un autre italien: le merveilleux Donizetti, toujours avec un matériau de Friedrich Schiller, que les compositeurs ont tant aimé pour son langage musical et ses sujets dramatiques que tous ses drames sont devenus des opéras. Donizetti a choisi la dispute entre les deux reines pour un opéra dramatique. Avant la première à Naples en 1834, les chanteurs des deux rôles, Maria et Elisabeth, se seraient pris dans les cheveux pour se frapper sur la scène, prêts à être hospitalisés. Mon passage préféré dans cet opéra est la très belle chorale écossaise quand ils apprennent que leur reine Mary est sur l'échafaud. Il y a des spécialistes qui disent: Au fond, l'opéra moderne commence ici, avec "Maria Stuarda" de Donizetti. Au moins on soupçonne dramatiquement ce qui va arriver à Wagner.

Orchestre et Théâtre Communal de Bologne, Richard Bonynge. Avec Joan Sutherland, Huguette Tourangeau, Luciano Pavarotti, Roger Soyer u. a. (Révisé en 1976, révisé en 1990, Decca 425 410-2).



"L'anneau du Nibelung" de Richard

Nous sommes avec Wagner. Cela n'aide pas beaucoup: Wagner doit l'être aussi, si vous aimez l'opéra et souhaitez comprendre en quoi consiste une forme d'art précieuse. Personne ne les a renouvelés et révolutionnés aussi complètement que Richard Wagner, et ce grandiose Centenaire est maintenant dans une nouvelle et brillante procession? "Rheingold", "Valkyrie", "Siegfried", "Götterdämmerung". Il s’agit de l’Anneau du Nibelung: qui renonce à l’amour, qui peut forger au Rhin un anneau qui donne un pouvoir infini - quelle image! Puissance sans amour, et tout finit par tomber en panne. Quand le monde est racheté par Brünhilde de la malédiction de cet anneau, Walhall prend feu, le Rhin déborde des rives, les dieux s'effondrent. Grandes visions!

Festival de Bayreuth, Pierre Boulez. Avec Siegfried Jerusalem, Donald McIntyre, Gwyneth Jones, Peter Hofmann, Matti Salminen, Gabriele Schnaut, Manfred Jung u. v. a. (Enregistrement de Bayreuth de 1981, entièrement révisé en 2006, Philips 475 7960, 12 CD).

"Giulio Cesare" de Georg Friedrich Händel

Pour moi 2006 était mon année Handel. Je l'ai toujours connu et j'ai souvent chanté ses oratorios dans le choeur de Bach, mais j'ai découvert ses opéras tardivement, lors du glorieux festival de Glyndbourne en Angleterre et des opéras de Cologne et de Francfort. J'aime entendre "Giulio Cesare" (en egitto), l'histoire d'amour de César et Cléopâtre, et de préférence dans la version de René Jacobs. Écoutez le début du CD 2? Deux empereurs très armés se balancent délicatement et amèrement dans une sorte de menuet: une magnifique musique ancienne de 1724 qui tremble encore.Les empereurs sont morts, les guerres sont oubliées, mais la musique est toujours vivante après 400 ans.

Concerto Cologne, René Jacobs. Avec Jennifer Larmore, Barbara Schlick, Bernarda Fink et Derek Lee Ragin u. a. (Arles 1991, nouveau 2004, HMC 901385.87).

"La Clémence de Tito" de Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

L'année Mozart nous a donné des enregistrements fabuleux d'opéras de Mozart peu joués, par exemple ceux de l'empereur Titus, qui se voit entouré d'intrigues et de trahisons et pardonne à tout le monde. Un article sur l'amitié, la passion, l'arrogance, avec des chansons touchantes, par exemple. B. Vitellia fait ses adieux à tous les espoirs ambitieux: "Non più di fiori". Je ne sais pas beaucoup mieux. Les tourments de l'amour et des fantasmes de pouvoir sont aussi courants qu'à l'époque de Titus, en l'an 79 de l'ère chrétienne ou à l'époque de Mozart.

Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Sir Charles Mackerras. Avec Magdalena Kozena, Rainer Trost, Hillevi Martinpelto u. a. (2006 Deutsche Grammophon, 00289 477 5792).

Jacques Offenbach - Opera Barcarolle - La Vita è Bella - Life Is Beatiful - La Vida Es Bella.flv (Avril 2021).



Giuseppe Verdi, Elke Heidenreich, Richard Wagner, Friedrich Schiller, Flandres, Paris, opéras