Notre-Dame: The cathedral plays a role in these cult films


For decades, the world-famous Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris, whose fire shocks the entire world, has been the setting or backdrop for numerous films. The facade of the medieval church, built between 1163 and 1345, is probably the most photographed motif in the world capital of love and romance.

Stiller supporting actor in numerous love films

It is one of the most enchanting walks in Paris: The path leads along the promenade on the left bank of the Seine in the 5th arrondissement - overlooking Notre-Dame. This panorama is often used by directors to accompany scenes in love films, such as "An American in Paris" (1951), "A Sweet Fratz" (1957), "Before Sunset" (2004) or "The Smile of Women "(2014). Even the US hit series "Sex and the City", which plays largely in New York, did not want to do without in their 6th season on outdoor shots of Notre Dame.



Even historical or social dramas like "Yves Saint Laurent" (2014) showed Notre-Dame as the synonym for Paris. And the multi-part GDR thriller "Shadow on Notre Dame" (1967) made the cathedral of the Archdiocese of Paris to the scene of a conspiracy of German and Italian fascists.

In the cult movie "The Fabulous World of Amelie"

The French hit movie "The Fabulous World of Amélie" (2001) starring the enchanting Audrey Tautou (42) deviated from the usual Paris kitsch in a key scene, leaving the mother of the heroine on the square in front of Notre Dame a bizarre death suffer: she was killed by a suicidal tourist who had fallen from one of the church towers ...



"The Hunchback of Notre Dame"

In a movie epic Notre-Dame is not only the impressive backdrop, the cathedral also plays the lead role. The material to Victor Hugo with his 1831 published masterpiece "Notre Dame de Paris" delivered. The historical novel first appeared in German in 1884 and 1914 under the title "The Hunchback of Notre Dame".

The work of the Parisian writer describes the life and death of the misshapen Quasimodo, who in Notre-Dame provides the office of the bell ringer and turns through the dizzying towers, struts and roof trusses of the temple. Victor Hugo merges various dramatic storylines and paints a vivid and multi-layered image of the Middle Ages in Paris.

As early as 1835, the novel premiered as a play by Charlotte Birch-Pfeiffer, followed in 1905 under the title of the female novel character "Esmeralda" the first film adaptation of the literary material, followed in 1917 by another same-content film "The Darling of Paris". The American Wallace Worsley brought in 1923 as the first the Hugo novel under the title "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" in the cinemas. The main actor Lon Chaney, who played the ugly Quasimodo, lost part of his eyesight during the filming because the makeup artist had draped an artificial wart on his right eye.



Overall, the "Hunchback of Notre Dame" has been filmed ten times, including. with stars such as Maureen O'Hara and Charles Laughton (1939), Gina Lollobrigida and Anthony Quinn (1956), Anthony Hopkins (1982) or Richard Harris and Salma Hayek (1997). Twice, the facade of Notre Dame was produced in cartoons at Walt Disney Studios (1996 and 2002). And in 1999 the musical "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" had its world premiere in Berlin. It ran for three years at the Theater am Potsdamer Platz and in 2017 over half a year in the Theater des Westens.

The streaming giant Netflix is ​​now planning a new movie. The main role is to take over the British actor Idris Elba (46).

The Case for Disney's The Hunchback of Notre Dame (July 2020).



Cult Movie, Paris, Catastrophe, Landmark, Victor Hugo, New York, Yves Saint Laurent, Notre Dame, Brand, Paris, The Fabulous World of Amelie, The Hunchback of Notre Dame

Notre-Dame: la cathédrale joue un rôle dans ces films cultes

Depuis des décennies, la célèbre cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris, dont l'incendie a choqué le monde entier, a été le décor ou la toile de fond de nombreux films. La façade de l'église médiévale, construite entre 1163 et 1345, est probablement le motif le plus photographié de la capitale mondiale de l'amour et du romantisme.

Stiller, acteur dans de nombreux films d'amour

C'est l'une des promenades les plus enchanteresses de Paris: le chemin longe la promenade sur la rive gauche de la Seine dans le 5ème arrondissement - surplombant Notre-Dame. Ce panorama est souvent utilisé par les réalisateurs pour accompagner des scènes de films d'amour, tels que "Un Américain à Paris" (1951), "A Sweet Fratz" (1957), "Avant le coucher du soleil" (2004) ou "Le sourire des femmes". "(2014). Même la série à succès "Sex and the City", qui se joue en grande partie à New York, n'a pas voulu se passer de sa 6ème saison sur des prises de vue extérieures de Notre Dame.

Même des drames historiques ou sociaux comme "Yves Saint Laurent" (2014) montraient Notre-Dame comme synonyme de Paris. Et le thriller en plusieurs parties de la RDA "Shadow on Notre Dame" (1967) a fait de la cathédrale de l'archidiocèse de Paris le théâtre d'une conspiration de fascistes allemands et italiens.

Dans le film culte "Le monde fabuleux d'Amélie"

Le film à succès français "Le monde fabuleux d'Amélie" (2001) mettant en vedette la charmante Audrey Tautou (42 ans) dévie de l'habituel kitsch parisien d'une scène clé, laissant une mort étrange à la mère de l'héroïne qui se trouve sur la place devant Notre-Dame. souffrir: elle a été tuée par un touriste suicidaire qui est tombé de l'un des tours de l'église ...

"Le Bossu de Notre-Dame"

Dans une épopée cinématographique, Notre-Dame n’est pas seulement l’impressionnante toile de fond, la cathédrale joue également le rôle principal. Le matériel à Victor Hugo avec son chef-d'œuvre publié "Notre Dame de Paris" publié en 1831. Le roman historique est apparu pour la première fois en allemand en 1884 et 1914 sous le titre "Le Bossu de Notre Dame".

Le travail de l'écrivain parisien décrit la vie et la mort de Quasimodo, le difforme, qui, à Notre-Dame, assure le service de sonnerie et tourne à travers les tours vertigineuses, les lattes et les treillis du toit du temple. Victor Hugo fusionne diverses histoires dramatiques et peint une image vivante et multicouche du Moyen Âge à Paris.

Dès 1835, le roman fut créé par Charlotte Birch-Pfeiffer, puis en 1905, sous le titre de personnage féminin "Esmeralda", la première adaptation cinématographique du matériau littéraire, suivie en 1917 par un autre film au même contenu, "The Darling of Paris". L'Américain Wallace Worsley a introduit en 1923 dans les cinémas le premier roman Hugo intitulé "Le Bossu de Notre-Dame". L'acteur principal Lon Chaney, qui interprétait le vilain Quasimodo, a perdu une partie de sa vue pendant le tournage, car le maquilleur avait drapé une verrue artificielle sur son œil droit.

Globalement, le "Bossu de Notre Dame" a été filmé dix fois, notamment. avec des stars telles que Maureen O'Hara et Charles Laughton (1939), Gina Lollobrigida et Anthony Quinn (1956), Anthony Hopkins (1982) ou Richard Harris et Salma Hayek (1997). Deux fois, la façade de Notre-Dame a été produite dans des dessins animés aux studios Walt Disney (1996 et 2002). Et en 1999, la comédie musicale "Le Bossu de Notre-Dame" a eu sa première mondiale à Berlin. Il a duré trois ans au Theater am Potsdamer Platz et, en 2017, plus de six mois au Theater des Westens.

Le géant du streaming Netflix prépare actuellement un nouveau film. Le rôle principal est de reprendre l'acteur britannique Idris Elba (46 ans).

"Parce que c'est notre projet !" VS "Parce que c'est Notre Dame !" (Décembre 2019).


Film sacré, Paris, Catastrophe, Point de repère, Victor Hugo, New York, Yves Saint Laurent, Notre-Dame, Marque, Paris, Le monde fabuleux d'Amélie, Le Bossu de Notre-Dame