Provence

Twelve o'clock in the afternoon somewhere in Provence. With the last toll from the wrought-iron Campanile, the baker's wife and her husband from the junk shop appear at the door. Madame wears white apron, Monsieur blue smock. Last customers will come with a baguette in the basket and a "bon appétit!" adopted. Van and tractors rappel from the vineyards into the village. In front of the bar "Café de France" the sheet avalanche comes to a halt. Inside, men discuss their pastis glasses. They whisper in the rolling accent of the Midi about truffle espionage in British laboratories, loudly moaning against the Eurocrats in Brussels.

Longing goal of many dropouts

The village is called Lacoste and has steep wall. Lacoste means quiet days in Provence. Henry Miller reached for the pen in the "Café de France". Much later, Jane Birkin settled on the ridge, recently Marius Müller-Westernhagen. Provincial Provence is long gone - the Lubéron is also known as the 21st arrondissement of Paris. Since the Côte d'Azur is out, "tout Paris" evades the hinterland. Dropouts with the dream of lavender cultivation and sheep breeding were already there; British, Dutch and Germans with an addiction to the sun moved away.



Here Van Gogh painted his sunflowers

As a destination with the special light, Provence has a long tradition. Van Gogh rented Arles on a lousy, cold February day in 1888 and, the next morning, shivering in the Mistral, grabbed the squadron "to see another light." He found it over the sunflower fields of the Rhone Valley, like Cézanne on Montagne Ste-Victoire or Picasso in the Mougins hills: inky blue for Cézanne dawn on the sparkling sky: in the afternoons Picasso's harbor quays turn ocher yellow and old rose; Van Gogh's evenings are blood red across the Rhône.

Between the Mediterranean coast and the Alps lie landscapes as diverse as the high mountain panorama of Queyras, the ancient cultural landscapes such as Vaison-la-Romaine and Les Baux, the tablecloth rice paddies of the Camargue or the spectacular canyons such as the Gorges du Verdon.



All roads lead eventually through a trellis of cathedral-high plane trees, which ends in a village square with market, church and boulevard. You want to stay somewhere, in a hotel with soft mattresses and excellent restaurant. Good weather view from the Maritime Alps to the Mediterranean, including pine trees on the blue horizon. In the air the smell of dark green thyme and from May the best weather for flag clothes and rolled-up shirt sleeves.

travel Guide

"Provence" from the series Merian XL and "Provence" by ArteLimes. Useful for round travelers: "Auberge de Provence" from Droemer Knaur. Beautiful picture book: "Provence" (Stürtz / Look). Pleasantly easy holiday reading: "My year in Provence" by Peter Mayle (Knaur).

route description

1st day: Avignon Accommodation for example in the hotel "Cloître Saint-Louis", former monastery with ultramodern decor (20, Rue du Portail Boquier, Tel. 0490275555). Centrally located the "Hotel Bristol" (44, Cours Jean Jaurès, Tel. 0490822121,). The private rooms "L'Anastasie" by Mme. Olga Manguin are located just outside a former farm on the other bank of the Rhône (for the reservation required, see the tel. 0490855594, fax 0490825940). Quite reasonably priced the "Hotel Saint Roch" with a pretty flower garden (9, Rue Paul Mérindol, Tel. 0490821863). Before dinner, a short walk to the famous Bénézet bridge. In the exhibition hall "Espace St. Bénézet" the presented multivision show gives a historical overview of the city.



Restaurant tips: "Le Bain Marie" (5, rue Pétramale), beautiful courtyard. African specialties served in the in-house "Le Woolloomooloo" on Rue des Teinturiers # 16. Must try: "Les Papalines d'Avignon", chocolates made of chocolate, sugar and a herbal liqueur, which was allegedly used in 1884 in Avignon effective against cholera. The best in the patisserie "Saresani" (19, Place Louis Pasteur).

2 day

Avignon - Moustiers, about 165 km Before departure, visit the Pope's Palace; the frescoes in the chapel of St. Jean and St. Martial, the audience halls and the study of Clement VI are particularly worth seeing. with the murals, which mainly depict hunting scenes. Perhaps a visit to the oldest pawnshop of France (Musée Mont de Piété, 6, Rue Saulces, also houses a silk museum). Especially funny in the summer: the counterpart festival "Off" during the theater festival (amateur groups, mimes and jugglers in all streets).

On the N 100 direction Apt. At Coustellet you may take a detour via the D 2 to Gordes to the Vasarely Museum and the Cistercian Abbey of Sénanque.Otherwise, on the D 106 to Lacoste, where the sentenced to death Marquis de Sade had escaped to the castle of his relatives (castle tour). On the D 109 to Bonnieux (beautiful town houses in the old town center and bakery museum in the Rue de la République). Continue on the D 943 through the Lubéron Mountains. Stop at "La Récréation" in Lourmarin, restaurant and small plates in the tearoom. Continue on the D 973 and the N 96 to Manosque, where the writer Jean Giono lived. In the library memories of the authors of many Provence books. On Saturdays worth a nice fruit and vegetable market, selling lavender and Provencal herbs. Continue on the D6 to Valensole and Riez (lavender fields, flowering in July). Then via the D 952 to Moustiers-St.Marie, many artisans and potters, as well as a faience museum. Accommodation in the hotel "La Bonne Auberge", simple, pleasant house (Route de Castellane, tel. 0492746618.

3rd day

Moustiers - Vence about 133 km On the D 957 to the lake of Ste. Croix. Stop for swimming, good windsurfing. Via the D 19 and the D 71 through the Verdonschluchten. Exhausting cornering, breathtaking views. A stop at the hotel restaurant "Du Grand Canyon" is worthwhile for the panoramic view alone (Falaise des Cavaliers, Tel. 04 94769131). Continue on the D 21 to Route Napoléon (N 85) and the Faye Pass to Grasse. International Perfume Museum (8, Place du Cours). Visit of the perfumeries Molinard and Fragonard with museum, sale of reenactments of famous perfume brands. In the old town beautiful Arcadeplatz. On the D 2210 to Tourrettes-sur-Loup, typical provence village with artisan shops. Continue to Vence.

Overnight at the hotel "La Roseraie", German-French Direction, a Belle Epoque villa with garden and swimming pool (Avenue Henri Giraud, Tel. 0493580220) or in St. Paul de Vence (3.5 km): "Hotel Le Saint Paul", in the center of the medieval village, very well maintained Country house atmosphere (Tel. 0493326525, Fax 0493325294). Dinner in the Auberge des Seigneurs, Place du Frêne with Provençal specialties.

4th day

Vence - Grimaud, about 144 km A must for art lovers: visit the Fondation Maeght, exhibition house on the hill Gardettes u.a. with works by Braque, Giacometti, Mirò and Calder. On the D 36 to the coast and then to Antibes. The visit of the Picasso Museum is worthwhile, numerous works and an interesting documentation about the life of the painter. Also worth seeing is the flower market in the center of the village. Then tour of Cap d'Antibes, small beach and many magnificent villas. Then on the N7 to Cannes, shopping through the Rue d'Antibes and rest in the pastry tube, where already in the 30s an illustrious audience drank his tea, excellent cakes. From the Croisette in Cannes on the N 98 on the coast below the Estérel mountains to St. Raphael and on to St. Tropez. Strolling through the harbor, where you can see and be seen. Also of interest is the Annonciade Museum with works by artists who have painted the jet set spot here.

But if you want to stay overnight, head to the calmer bay of Cavalaire (D93), "Hotel Moulins de Paillas" (closed until May), Provençal style, private beach and swimming pool (Plage de Gigaro, La Croix-Valmer, Tel. 0494797111) , In Cavalaire (6km) small restaurants, excursion boats to the islands of Port Cros, Levant and Porquerolles (beautiful beaches, some nudist possible, car-free islands).

5th day

La Croix-Valmer - La Cadière, ca.163 km Descent into the Maures massif via the D 559 and D 61 to Grimaud. Visiting a winery is worthwhile, for example Domaine Prignon or Cave Les Vignerons de Grimaud, also worth seeing is the 11th century castle, with a beautiful view of the bay of St. Tropez. In La Garde-Freinet walk to the ruins of a medieval castle. Continue on the D 558 and the D 17 to the Thoronet Abbey, a 12th century Romanesque masterpiece. Take the D 13 and D 12 back to the Hyères coast. The best windsurfing spots of Provence: on the peninsula of Giens.

On the D 559 to Toulon. Worth seeing in the city center: Place de la Liberté with plane trees, the Fontaine de la Féderation and the Art Nouveau house Maison des Citrons. In the morning on the Cours Lafayette (except Mondays) a Provencal market. Continue to Sanary-sur-Mer, in the thirties exile for many artists (Thomas Mann, Lion Feuchtwanger, Franz Werfel or Joseph Roth). Through the vineyards behind Bandol (very rich red wine) on the D 559a to le Castellet, typical Provencal, medieval village. Right next to it is the well-known race track Paul Ricard. Also pretty, but much calmer is La Cadière.

Overnight: in the Hostellerie "Bérard", swimming pool, Provencal cuisine in the terrace restaurant with a beautiful view (Tel. 0494901143).

6th day

La Cadière - Marseille, approx. 50 km Before going on, buy a few bottles of Bandol wine, which can be stored well, e.g. Domaine du Paternel or Château de Fontcreuse, both Route de la Ciotat. Drive on the D 66 to the coast Les Lecques, La Ciotat and the D 559 to Cassis, from the port boat trip to the Calanques, the fjord-like bays. (You can also settle for swimming and drive back with the next boat).Still on the D 559 over the Gineste Pass to Marseille. Restored old quarter Le Panier, which adjoins the old port. Worth Seeing La Charité, former 17th century hospice and 17th century hospice, is now a cultural center with one of the most important museums of Mediterranean archeology and collections of African, Oceanic and Native American art. Also interesting is the Basilica of Saint Victor, on the opposite side of the Old Port, a crypt with evidence of early Christianity. Catacombs and caves from the 5th century. A visit to the nearby bakery "Le Four des Navettes" (136, rue Sainte) is essential after visiting the basilica. There, after a 200 year old recipe, the "Navettes", a pastry with a fine orange blossom flavor are produced. The latest favorite meeting point of the Marseilles is the Cours d'Estienne-d'Orves (restaurants and small bars). One of the former warehouses, Les Arsenaulx, has been converted into a popular bookstore with café and restaurant, which is also open on Sundays.

In the restaurant "Le Rhul" (269, Corniche Kennedy, Tel. 0491520177) try bouillabaisse. Sea view for free. Nice meeting point at the harbor: "Bar de la Marine". Commented itineraries at reasonable prices offer some taxi companies (duration 1 1/2 to 4 hours), the tickets in the tourist office (4, La Canebière, Tel. 0491519111).

Overnight: "Tonic-Hotel", directly at the fish market (43, Quai des Belges, Tel. 0491556746, the price of the room will be calculated according to the width of the beds) or very reasonably priced the "Hotel Paris" (11-15, Rue Colbert, Tel. 0491900645).

7th day

Marseille - Avignon, ca.155 km On the N8 to Aix-en-Provence, strolling over the Cours Mirabeau, bourgeois houses from the 17th and 18th century, fountains, bookstores and many cafes, on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays Flower market at the Town Hall Square in the old town, visit the studio by Paul Cézanne, born in Aix. In the confectioneries of the city, the "Calisson d'Aix", a mixture of marzipan, candied melons and honey tempt. How to make these chocolates is shown during a tour of the Cygne d'Or confectionery (25, Rue Bedarrides). Provençal specialties in the shop "La Taste" (59, Rue des Cordeliers).

On the N 7 and the D 572 to Salonde-Provence (birthplace of Nostradamus Museum, 7, Rue de Nostradamus). On the N 113 to Arles (Arenas and Antique Theater). Reproductions of the painter van Gogh, who lived and worked in the city for some time, can be bought in the gallery La Rose des Vents (Rue Diderot). The epicurean specialty of the town is a sausage based on a recipe from 1655 (Saucisson d'Arles). In the center plane-covered square with small restaurants. You can dine a little bit farther outside in the "Mas de la Chapelle" (Petite Route de Tarascon), restaurant in a chapel from the 16th century.

For literary friends: via the D 17 to Fontvieille to the mill of the writer Alphonse Daudet. More down-to-earth, on the other hand, is the fine, cold-pressed olive oil sold by Henri Bellon in his oil mill (Moulin Bedarrides) in Fontvieille. The D 17 and D 5 lead into the Alpilles, a small mountain range in the Rhone Delta. Olive groves and green oak forests characterize the southern landscape. Halfway: Les Baux-de-Provence, the castle used to be the meeting place of the troubadours of the whole of Provence. Worth seeing are the old town hall, the church of St. Vincent. Return to Avignon via the D 571.

Provence: Legendary Light, Wind, and Wine (October 2020).



Restaurant, Avignon, Car, LACOSTE S.A., Paul Cézanne, Thomas Mann, Paris, Arles, Alps, Bakery, Brussels, Henry Miller, Jane Birkin, Marius Müller-Westernhagen, Côte d'Azur, Cannes, France, Provence, Autoroute

Provence

Douze heures de l'après-midi, quelque part en Provence. À la dernière sonnerie du campanile en fer forgé, la femme de la boulangerie et son mari du magasin de bric-à-brac apparaissent à la porte. Madame porte un tablier blanc, monsieur blouse bleue. Les derniers clients viendront avec une baguette dans le panier et un "bon appétit!" adopté. Une camionnette et des tracteurs descendent en rappel des vignes au village. Devant le bar "Café de France" la feuille d'avalanche s'arrête. À l'intérieur, les hommes discutent de leurs lunettes de pastis. Ils murmurent dans l'accent glissant du Midi sur l'espionnage de la truffe dans les laboratoires britanniques, gémissant bruyamment contre les eurocrates à Bruxelles.

Objectif de longing de nombreux décrocheurs

Le village s'appelle Lacoste et a un mur raide. Lacoste signifie jours tranquilles en Provence. Henry Miller tendit la main vers le stylo au "Café de France". Bien plus tard, Jane Birkin s'est installée sur la crête, récemment celle de Marius Müller-Westernhagen. La Provence provinciale a disparu depuis longtemps - le Lubéron est aussi connu comme le 21ème arrondissement de Paris. Depuis que la Côte d'Azur est sortie, "tout Paris" évite l'arrière-pays. Les décrocheurs avec le rêve de la culture de la lavande et de l'élevage de moutons étaient déjà là; Britanniques, Hollandais et Allemands ayant une dépendance au soleil s'éloignèrent.



Ici, Van Gogh a peint ses tournesols

En tant que destination à la lumière particulière, la Provence a une longue tradition. Van Gogh loua Arles lors d'une journée froide et malsaine de février 1888 et, le lendemain matin, frissonnant dans le Mistral, saisit l'escadron "pour voir une autre lumière". Il la trouva au-dessus des champs de tournesols de la vallée du Rhône, comme Cézanne sur la montagne Ste-Victoire ou Picasso dans les collines de Mougins: bleu d'encre pour Cézanne aube sur le ciel étincelant: l'après-midi, les quais du port de Picasso virent au jaune ocre et à la rose ancienne; Les soirées de Van Gogh sont rouge sang sur le Rhône.

Entre la côte méditerranéenne et les Alpes, des paysages aussi divers que le panorama montagneux sur le Queyras, les paysages anciens tels que Vaison-la-Romaine et Les Baux, les nappes de rizières de Camargue ou les canyons spectaculaires tels que les Gorges du Verdon.



Toutes les routes mènent finalement à travers un treillage de platanes hauts qui se terminent sur une place du village avec marché, église et boulevard. Vous voulez rester quelque part, dans un hôtel avec des matelas moelleux et un excellent restaurant. Beau temps vue des Alpes Maritimes à la Méditerranée, y compris les pins à l'horizon bleu. Dans l'air, une odeur de thym vert foncé et, à partir du mois de mai, les meilleures conditions météorologiques pour les vêtements drapeaux et les manches de chemise retroussées.

guide

"Provence" des séries Merian XL et "Provence" de ArteLimes. Utile pour les voyageurs ronds: "Auberge de Provence" de Droemer Knaur. Beau livre d'images: "Provence" (Stürtz / Look). Lecture de vacances agréable et facile: "Mon année en provence" par Peter Mayle (Knaur).

Description de l'itinéraire

1er jour: Avignon Hébergement par exemple à l'hôtel "Cloître Saint-Louis", ancien monastère à la décoration ultramoderne (20, rue du Portail Boquier, tél. 0490275555). Situé au centre, l'hôtel Bristol (44, cours Jean Jaurès, tél. 0490822121). Les chambres privées "L'Anastasie" de Mme Olga Manguin sont situées juste à l'extérieur d'une ancienne ferme de l'autre rive du Rhône (réservation obligatoire au 0490855594, fax 0490825940). Un hôtel à prix raisonnable à l’Hôtel Saint Roch avec un joli jardin de fleurs (9, Rue Paul Mérindol, Tél. 0490821863). Avant le dîner, une courte promenade jusqu'au célèbre pont de Bénézet. Dans le hall d'exposition "Espace St. Bénézet", le spectacle multivision présenté donne un aperçu historique de la ville.



Conseils de restauration: "Le Bain Marie" (5, rue Pétramale), belle cour. Spécialités africaines servies dans le restaurant "Le Woolloomooloo" de la rue des Teinturiers # 16. A essayer: "Les Papalines d'Avignon", des chocolats au chocolat, au sucre et à la liqueur aux herbes, qui auraient été utilisés en 1884 à Avignon pour lutter contre le choléra. Le meilleur de la pâtisserie "Saresani" (19, place Louis Pasteur).

2ème jour

Avignon - Moustiers, environ 165 km Avant le départ, visitez le Palais des Papes, les fresques de la chapelle Saint-Jean et Saint-Martial, les salles d'audience et l'étude de Clément VI méritent particulièrement d'être visités. avec les peintures murales, qui représentent principalement des scènes de chasse. Peut-être une visite au plus ancien prêteur sur gages de France (Musée Mont de Piété, 6, rue Saulces, abrite également un musée de la soie). Particulièrement amusant en été: le festival homologue "Off" du festival de théâtre (groupes amateurs, mimes et jongleurs dans toutes les rues).

Sur la N 100 direction Apt. À Coustellet, vous pourrez faire un détour par la D 2 pour vous rendre à Gordes jusqu'au musée Vasarely et à l'abbaye cistercienne de Sénanque.Sinon, sur la D 106 en direction de Lacoste, où le marquis de Sade condamné à mort s'était échappé vers le château de ses parents (visite du château). Sur la D 109 en direction de Bonnieux (belles demeures de la vieille ville et musée de la boulangerie de la rue de la République). Continuez sur la D 943 à travers les montagnes du Lubéron. Arrêtez-vous à "La Récréation" à Lourmarin, restaurant et petites assiettes dans le salon de thé. Continuez sur la D 973 et la N 96 jusqu'à Manosque, où vivait l'écrivain Jean Giono. Dans la bibliothèque, souvenirs des auteurs de nombreux livres de Provence. Les samedis, vous trouverez un bon marché de fruits et légumes, vendant de la lavande et des herbes de Provence. Continuez sur la D6 en direction de Valensole et de Riez (champs de lavande, floraison en juillet). Puis par la D 952 vers Moustiers-Sainte-Marie, de nombreux artisans et potiers, ainsi qu’un musée de la faïence. Logement à l'hôtel "La Bonne Auberge", maison simple et agréable (Route de Castellane, tél. 0492746618.

3ème jour

Moustiers - Vence environ 133 km Sur la D 957 jusqu'au lac de Ste. Croix. Arrêt baignade, bonne planche à voile. Par la D 19 et la D 71 par le Verdonschluchten. Des virages épuisants, des vues à couper le souffle. Une halte au restaurant de l’hôtel "Du Grand Canyon" vaut la peine pour la vue panoramique seule (Falaise des Cavaliers, Tél. 04 94769131). Continuer sur la D 21 en direction de la route Napoléon (N 85) et du col de Faye vers Grasse. Musée international de la parfumerie (8, place du cours). Visite des parfumeries Molinard et Fragonard avec musée, vente de reconstitutions de marques de parfums célèbres. Dans la vieille ville belle Arcadeplatz. Sur la D 2210 vers Tourrettes-sur-Loup, village typiquement provençal avec boutiques d'artisans. Continuation vers Vence.

Nuit à l'hôtel "La Roseraie", franco-allemand Direction, une villa Belle Epoque avec jardin et piscine (Avenue Henri Giraud, Tel. 0493580220) ou à Saint Paul de Vence (3,5 km): "Hôtel Le Saint Paul", au centre du village médiéval, très bien entretenu Atmosphère de maison de campagne (Tél. 0493326525, Fax 0493325294). Dîner à l'Auberge des Seigneurs, Place du Frêne, avec des spécialités provençales.

4ème jour

Vence - Grimaud, environ 144 km Un incontournable pour les amateurs d'art: visitez la Fondation Maeght, maison d'exposition située sur la colline des Gardettes. avec des œuvres de Braque, Giacometti, Mirò et Calder. Sur la D 36 en direction de la côte puis d'Antibes. La visite du musée Picasso en vaut la peine, de nombreux ouvrages et une documentation intéressante sur la vie du peintre, ainsi que sur le marché aux fleurs situé au centre du village. Puis visite du Cap d'Antibes, petite plage et nombreuses villas magnifiques. Puis sur la N7 en direction de Cannes, faire du shopping dans la rue d'Antibes et vous reposer dans le tube à pâtisserie, où déjà dans les années 30 un public illustre buvait son thé, ses excellents gâteaux. De la Croisette à Cannes sur la N 98 sur la côte en dessous du massif de l’Estérel jusqu’à Saint-Raphaël, puis à Saint-Tropez Se promener dans le port, où l'on peut voir et être vu. Le musée de l'Annonciade présente également des œuvres d'artistes qui ont peint ici la jet-set.

Mais si vous souhaitez passer la nuit dans la baie de Cavalaire (D93), "Hôtel Moulins de Paillas" (fermé jusqu'en mai), style provençal, plage privée et piscine (Plage de Gigaro, La Croix-Valmer, Tél. 0494797111) , À Cavalaire (6 km), petits restaurants, bateaux d'excursion vers les îles de Port Cros, Levant et Porquerolles (belles plages, certaines vues naturistes, des îles sans voitures).

5ème jour

La Croix-Valmer - La Cadière, ca.163 km Descente dans le massif des Maures par la D 559 et la D 61 jusqu'à Grimaud. Visiter un domaine viticole en vaut la peine, par exemple Domaine Prignon ou la grotte Les Vignerons de Grimaud, à voir également, est son château du XIe siècle, avec une vue magnifique sur la baie de Saint-Tropez. À La Garde-Freinet, promenez-vous dans les ruines d'un château médiéval. Continuez sur la D 558 et la D 17 en direction de l'abbaye du Thoronet, chef-d'œuvre de l'art roman du XIIe siècle, puis revenez sur la D 13 et la D 12 pour rejoindre la côte de Hyères. Les meilleurs spots de planche à voile de Provence: sur la presqu'île de Giens.

Sur la D 559 en direction de Toulon. À voir dans le centre-ville: la place de la liberté avec ses platanes, la fontaine de la fédération et la maison Art Nouveau Maison des Citrons. Le matin sur le cours Lafayette (sauf le lundi) un marché provençal. Continuation vers Sanary-sur-Mer, exil des années trente pour de nombreux artistes (Thomas Mann, Lion Feuchtwanger, Franz Werfel ou Joseph Roth). À travers les vignes derrière Bandol (vin rouge très riche) sur la D 559a jusqu'au Castellet, village typiquement médiéval provençal. Juste à côté se trouve le célèbre circuit de course Paul Ricard. La Cadière est également jolie, mais beaucoup plus calme.

Nuit: à l'Hostellerie "Bérard", piscine, cuisine provençale au restaurant en terrasse avec une vue magnifique (Tél. 0494901143).

6ème jour

La Cadière - Marseille, environ 50 km Avant de continuer, achetez quelques bouteilles de vin Bandol, qui peuvent être bien conservées, par exemple. Domaine du Paternel ou Château de Fontcreuse, tous deux Route de la Ciotat. Prenez la D 66 en direction de la côte des Lecques, de La Ciotat et de la D 559 en direction de Cassis, en partant de l’embarcadère des bateaux pour vous rendre aux Calanques, les baies qui ressemblent à un fjord. (Vous pouvez également vous installer pour la baignade et revenir avec le prochain bateau).Toujours sur la D 559 par le col de Gineste à Marseille. Vieux quartier restauré Le Panier, qui jouxte le vieux port. À voir absolument La Charité, ancien hospice du XVIIe siècle et hospice du XVIIe siècle, est aujourd'hui un centre culturel abritant l'un des plus importants musées d'archéologie méditerranéenne et des collections d'art africain, océanien et amérindien. La basilique Saint-Victor, située de l'autre côté du Vieux-Port, une crypte avec des traces du christianisme primitif, est également intéressante. Catacombes et grottes du Ve siècle: une visite à la boulangerie voisine "Le Four des Navettes" (136, rue Sainte) est indispensable après la visite de la basilique. Après une recette vieille de 200 ans, les "Navettes", une pâte à l’arôme de fleur d’orange, sont produites. Le dernier point de rendez-vous préféré de Marseille est le Cours d'Estienne-d'Orves (restaurants et petits bars). L'un des anciens entrepôts, Les Arsenaulx, a été transformé en une librairie populaire avec café et restaurant, qui est également ouvert le dimanche.

Au restaurant "Le Rhul" (269, Corniche Kennedy, tél. 0491520177), essayez la bouillabaisse. Vue sur la mer gratuitement. Beau point de rendez-vous au port: "Bar de la Marine". Des itinéraires commentés à des prix raisonnables proposent certaines compagnies de taxi (durée 1h30 à 4h), les billets à l'office de tourisme (4, La Canebière, Tél. 0491519111).

Nuit: "Tonic-Hotel", directement au marché aux poissons (43, Quai des Belges, Tel. 0491556746, le prix de la chambre sera calculé en fonction de la largeur des lits) ou à un prix très raisonnable de l '"Hôtel Paris" (11-15, Rue Colbert, Tél. 0491900645).

7ème jour

Marseille - Avignon, ca.155 km Sur la N8 en direction d'Aix-en-Provence, flânant sur le Cours Mirabeau, maisons bourgeoises des 17ème et 18ème siècles, fontaines, librairies et nombreux cafés, les mardis, jeudis et samedis Marché aux fleurs sur la place de l'hôtel de ville dans la vieille ville, visitez l'atelier par Paul Cézanne, né à Aix. Dans les confiseries de la ville, le "Calisson d'Aix" est un mélange de massepain, de melons confits et de miel. Comment faire ces chocolats est montré lors d'une visite de la confiserie Cygne d'Or (25, rue Bedarrides). Spécialités provençales dans la boutique "La Taste" (59, rue des Cordeliers).

Sur la N7 et la D 572 en direction de Salonde-Provence (lieu de naissance du musée Nostradamus, 7, rue de Nostradamus). Sur la N 113 vers Arles (Arènes et Théâtre Antique). Des reproductions du peintre van Gogh, qui a vécu et travaillé dans la ville pendant un certain temps, peuvent être achetées à la galerie La Rose des Vents (rue Diderot). La spécialité épicurienne de la ville est une saucisse basée sur une recette de 1655 (Saucisson d'Arles). Au centre de la place couverte d'avions avec de petits restaurants. Vous pouvez dîner un peu plus loin à l'extérieur au Mas de la Chapelle, restaurant situé dans une chapelle du XVIe siècle.

Pour les amis littéraires: par la D 17 à Fontvieille jusqu'au moulin de l'écrivain Alphonse Daudet. Plus terre-à-terre, par contre, se trouve la fine huile d'olive pressée à froid vendue par Henri Bellon dans son moulin à huile (Moulin Bédarrides) à Fontvieille. Les D 17 et D 5 mènent dans les Alpilles, une petite chaîne de montagnes du delta du Rhône. Des oliveraies et des forêts de chênes verts caractérisent le paysage méridional. A mi-chemin: Les Baux-de-Provence, le château était le lieu de rencontre des troubadours de toute la Provence. A voir, l'ancien hôtel de ville, l'église Saint-Vincent. Retour sur Avignon par la D 571.

Provence: Legendary Light, Wind, and Wine (Novembre 2020).



Restaurant, Avignon, Voiture, LACOSTE S.A., Paul Cézanne, Thomas Mann, Paris, Arles, Alpes, Boulangerie, Bruxelles, Henry Miller, Jane Birkin, Marius Müller-Westernhagen, Côte d'Azur, Cannes, France, Provence, Autoroute