Psoriasis: Julius Brink wants to give other affected people courage

An estimated 125 million people around the world share the suffering of beach volleyball player Julius Brink (35): The athlete who crowned his Olympic career in 2012 suffers from psoriasis, better known as psoriasis. As open as ever, the 35-year-old has now spoken about the serious chronic illness, because he wants to encourage other people affected.

Psoriasis since birth

Since his birth, Brink has "struggled with extremely dry skin," as he told in an interview with "Bild". It was particularly bad in puberty. Even then, he was active as a volleyball player, which brought "stolen glances" and unpleasant questions about his skin. That had "buried deep in my memory," said Brink. But what is psoriasis exactly?



So far no cure

Psoriasis is not contagious. However, the chronic skin disorder is painful for sufferers and, according to the World Health Organization, may have "a major negative impact on the quality of life of patients". "Disfigurement, activity restriction and pronounced loss of productivity" are mentioned as frequent side effects. There is no cure yet. Only the symptoms can be combated - through the use of creams or medications.

Brink's urgent appeal

A treatment that had its pitfalls for Julius Brink. Because the former top athlete had to fall back on cortisone-containing creams in strong episodes and those were then on the doping list, "he recalls. As a result, he needed "a permit from the National Anti-Doping Agency." Brink was lucky. His performance was not directly affected by the thrusts. "But I would lie if I say it did not affect me."



With such relapses he still feels "unwell" and "insecure". However, Brink does not want to be bothered by psoriasis, but by his "positive and open treatment of the disease" also encourages other affected people. Because "nothing at all" distinguishes it from other people. "It's probably about identifying with psoriasis and reconciling with it," says Brink. His appeal to other patients: "Dare, be brave!"

The Olympic champion of 2012 was even able to "get something positive" from his illness. She taught him to look after himself. "With stress, sleep, nutrition and UV light, so the stay outdoors, there are many areas that I can influence myself". For him, the most important insight is that "self-image is not the same as a foreign image". Julius Brink: "In the meantime, the disease can be controlled really well, it comes then hardly or no longer to symptoms."



CYNDI LAUPER - WikiVidi Documentary (October 2020).



Julius Brink, psoriasis, Julius Brink, psoriasis, skin diseases, disease

Psoriasis: Julius Brink veut donner du courage aux autres personnes touchées

Julius Brink (35 ans): l'athlète qui a couronné sa carrière olympique en 2012 souffre du psoriasis, mieux connu sous le pseudonyme de psoriasis. Toujours aussi ouvert, le joueur de 35 ans a parlé de la maladie chronique grave, car il souhaite encourager les autres personnes touchées.

Psoriasis depuis la naissance

Depuis sa naissance, Brink a "lutté avec une peau extrêmement sèche", comme il l'a raconté dans une interview à "Bild". C'était particulièrement mauvais à la puberté. Même alors, il était actif en tant que joueur de volley-ball, ce qui lui a valu des "regards volés" et des questions déplaisantes sur sa peau. Cela avait "enfoui au plus profond de ma mémoire", a déclaré Brink. Mais qu'est-ce que le psoriasis exactement?



Jusqu'à présent, aucun remède

Le psoriasis n'est pas contagieux. Cependant, le désordre cutané chronique est douloureux pour les patients et, selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, "peut avoir un impact négatif majeur sur la qualité de vie des patients". "Défiguration, restriction de l'activité et perte de productivité prononcée" sont mentionnés comme effets secondaires fréquents. Il n'y a pas encore de cure. Seuls les symptômes peuvent être combattus - en utilisant des crèmes ou des médicaments.

L'appel urgent de Brink

Un traitement qui a eu ses pièges pour Julius Brink. Parce que l'ancien athlète de haut niveau devait se rabattre sur les crèmes contenant de la cortisone lors d'épisodes forts et que celles-ci figuraient alors sur la liste du dopage ", se souvient-il. En conséquence, il avait besoin d'un "permis de l'Agence nationale antidopage". Brink a eu de la chance. Sa performance n'a pas été directement affectée par les poussées. "Mais je mentirais si je disais que cela ne m'a pas affecté."



Avec de telles rechutes, il se sent toujours "indisposé" et "peu sûr". Cependant, Brink ne veut pas être dérangé par le psoriasis, mais par son "traitement positif et ouvert de la maladie", il encourage également les autres personnes touchées. Parce que "rien du tout" ne le distingue des autres. "Il s'agit probablement d'identifier le psoriasis et de se réconcilier avec lui", explique Brink. Son appel aux autres patients: "Osez, soyez courageux!"

Le champion olympique de 2012 a même pu «tirer quelque chose de positif» de sa maladie. Elle lui a appris à prendre soin de lui-même. "Avec le stress, le sommeil, la nutrition et les rayons UV, pour rester à l'extérieur, il y a de nombreux domaines dans lesquels je peux m'influencer". Pour lui, l'idée la plus importante est que "l'image de soi n'est pas la même chose qu'une image étrangère". Julius Brink: "En attendant, la maladie peut être très bien contrôlée, elle ne provoque alors plus ou presque plus de symptômes."



Julius Brink: Schuppenflechte: Julius Brink will anderen Betroffenen Mut machen (Novembre 2020).



Julius Brink, psoriasis, Julius Brink, psoriasis, maladies de la peau, maladies