Sexual criminal law - is the reform finally coming?

"We will do everything we can to better protect women from sexual violence"

It is finally good news for victims of sexual violence: Federal Minister of Justice Heiko Maas (SPD) has announced that it will tighten the sexual criminal law. At first he had long opposed a reform, but now he changed his mind, probably also on pressure from women's organizations and Federal Minister of Women Manuela Schwesig.

"We will do everything we can to better protect women from sexual violence," Maas told Bild am Sonntag. "Too often, rape can not be punished because the sexual criminal law has gaps." And the Federal Ministry of Justice wants to close these "protection gaps" now, still in the first half of 2015, a bill is to be submitted.



A "No" is not enough

Specifically, it deals with the Criminal Law Paragraph 177. This currently provides that criminally only in the following cases, there is a rape: If the perpetrator has demonstrably used force, the victim has threatened with danger to life and limb (such as: "I kill you ! ") or the victim was in a vulnerable position - for example, traveling alone in the park at night. A clear "no" of the victim is therefore not enough. Other threats - such as the termination of the job - are criminally so far not relevant.

Women's organizations have been criticizing sexual criminal law for a long time. According to §177, a large proportion of the rapes would not be condemned, so the accusation. This is especially true in cases where the victims knew the offender. Katja Grieger from the Federal Association of Women's Counseling Centers and Women's Emergency Services (BFF) said in an interview with ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: "Most sexual assaults happen in the immediate vicinity, so the perpetrator is either a good buddy of whom I would never have thought it or my own partner." Many women fell there first in a state of shock. "But this situation is not covered by the law."

This could change now. The BFF, who had launched a major campaign to change §177 in the summer, welcomed the announcement by Heiko Maas. "The turnaround that has now been carried out gives hope that the protective gaps will actually be closed with a reform of sexual criminal law." So that a "no" soon also means "no".



Why are so few rapists convicted? Read more about §177 and its consequences in our interview with Katja Grieger vom bff.

New laws in NSW—Criminal Justice Reforms (October 2020).



Sex criminal law, rape, Heiko Maas, SPD, Manuela Schwesig, Katja Grieger, BamS, sexual criminal law, rape, reform, sexual violence, perpetrators, victims

Droit pénal sexuel - la réforme est-elle enfin à venir?


"Nous ferons tout ce qui est en notre pouvoir pour mieux protéger les femmes contre la violence sexuelle"

C'est enfin une bonne nouvelle pour les victimes de violences sexuelles: la ministre fédérale de la Justice, Heiko Maas (SPD), a annoncé son intention de renforcer le droit pénal pénal. Au début, il s'était longtemps opposé à une réforme, mais il a maintenant changé d'avis, probablement aussi sous la pression d'organisations de femmes et de la ministre fédérale des Femmes, Manuela Schwesig.

"Nous ferons tout ce qui est en notre pouvoir pour mieux protéger les femmes contre la violence sexuelle", a déclaré Maas à Bild am Sonntag. "Trop souvent, le viol ne peut être puni car le droit pénal sexuel comporte des lacunes." Et le ministère fédéral de la Justice veut combler maintenant ces "lacunes en matière de protection". Un projet de loi doit encore être présenté au premier semestre de 2015.



Un "non" ne suffit pas

Plus précisément, il traite du paragraphe 177 du Code pénal. Il prévoit actuellement que seul le viol est un crime: si l'auteur a utilisé de manière démontrable le recours à la force, la victime a menacé de mettre sa vie en danger, comme: "Je te tue ! ") ou la victime était dans une position vulnérable - par exemple, voyageant seule dans le parc la nuit. Un "non" clair de la victime ne suffit donc pas. Les autres menaces - telles que la cessation de l'emploi - ne sont pas pénales jusqu'à présent.

Les organisations de femmes critiquent le droit pénal sexuel depuis longtemps. Selon §177, une grande partie des viols ne seraient pas condamnés, selon l'accusation. Cela est particulièrement vrai dans les cas où les victimes connaissaient le délinquant. Katja Grieger de l'Association fédérale des centres de consultation pour femmes et des services d'urgence pour les femmes (BFF) a déclaré dans une interview à ChroniquesDuVasteMonde: "La plupart des agressions sexuelles se produisent dans les environs immédiats, de sorte que l'auteur est un bon copain dont je n'aurais jamais pensé qu'il soit ou mon partenaire." Beaucoup de femmes sont tombées là la première dans un état de choc. "Mais cette situation n'est pas couverte par la loi."

Cela pourrait changer maintenant. La BFF, qui avait lancé une campagne majeure pour changer §177 cet été, s'est félicitée de l'annonce de Heiko Maas. "Le redressement qui a été effectué laisse espérer que les lacunes en matière de protection seront réellement comblées par une réforme du droit pénal sexuel". De sorte qu'un "non" signifie bientôt aussi "non".



Pourquoi si peu de violeurs sont-ils condamnés? En savoir plus sur §177 et ses conséquences dans notre entretien avec Katja Grieger vom bff.

LA JUSTICE ET SES RÉFORMES - DANS LA GUEULE DU LOUP #4 (Juillet 2020).



Droit pénal sexuel, viol, Heiko Maas, SPD, Manuela Schwesig, Katja Grieger, BamS, droit pénal sexuel, viol, réforme, violences sexuelles, auteurs, victimes