Steffen Seibert: "My wife has taught me to see"


1960-1972

At home there are always books around me, thousands. You talk about books, you live with books. Not least because my father has a publishing house for art books. Since we move frequently, the many volumes have to be constantly packed in boxes and later unpacked again. I love the dust, the smell, I could watch for days. When I'm twelve, my parents divorce, my mother and I move to Hannover. But the love of books is aroused. To this day I am a manic reader.

1966

I have a record with such a children's crime, I do not remember the name, which I hear up and down. In doing so, I'm almost scared of shit. At one point the children sneak into a cellar, which is so exciting that it makes me completely exhausted. This has not changed: I'm still scared of thrillers. I just do not like being entertained by something that plays with my worst fears. Nobody will ever get me in "The Silence of the Lambs"!



1977

At the age of 17 I meet Magdalena in Hanover, until today a very close friend. It opens a new world for me: pop music and going out. Magdalena lives with her sisters under her father's roof, a real girl's den. On prehistoric turntables we hear Earth, Wind & Fire, Stevie Wonder, Bryan Ferry - great stuff. I think these girls are great, their music, the whole atmosphere, and hang me there. In the evening we go to the "Casablanca" in Hanover, a disco, then far ahead and my first disco ever. The music of this time has shaped my taste - I call it a Happy-Seichtpop disco taste. And I never actually dropped it.



1978

Driver's license. To be able to pay for it, I sell the clarinet that I once played. The proceeds are pretty accurate, and I barely practiced anyway. A mistake, as I know today: I would give something if I could play.

1981

Hamburg, my first semester at the university. In an English library I draw a book from the shelf completely arbitrarily. It is the first volume of Anthony Powell's romance cycle "A dance to the music of time", a kind of English Proust. I could have caught something, but I catch the work of my life. The next nine months I read nothing else, only Powell, all volumes. Gigantic! I live in this world, the London of the interwar and post-war years. Later I go to London for study. Even today I live with the characters, I often think: Oh, he's like Powell.



1985

Magdalena introduces me to Sophia (yes, domes can actually work!). Since then we are a couple. At first she studies fashion design in Hamburg, but she gives up and becomes a painter. Sophia opens my eyes to painting, through which I first learn to see. Until today we go together in exhibitions and art museums, where my taste is much more conservative than theirs. I like figurative painting, pictures telling stories. I like Anthony van Dyke, Georges de la Tour, Lucian Freud and Max Beckmann.

1992-1995

We live in Washington, I am Korres-pondent for ZDF. In 1992 our first child was born, our daughter Tallulah. We call her after the actress Tallulah Bankhead. I saw that in the Hitchcock movie "Lifeboat". There she plays such a well-traveled journalist, washed up with nothing, save nothing but her typewriter and her diamond bracelet. Fantastic!

2000

In the cinema we see "Everything about my mother" by Pedro Almodóvar. The last good movie I remember, but I do not go to the movies often. In general, one can say: I am the man with whom one can watch women's films well. I get bored with action scenes right away.

2002

When I'm in Berlin, I buy plates for my daughter at the Kulturkaufhaus Dussmann. Sophie Ellis Bextor, Kylie Minogue, Pop. For a 42-year-old rather a bit embarrassing. But I'll bring her to Tallulah - and lend her to me for parties. Big advantage of the children's living!

2003

At the moment I read three books at once: Martin Suter, John van Düffel and a Catholic Missal. I got that as a gift, because I am preparing to enter the Catholic Church. I regularly meet with an old prelate from Mainz Cathedral for a conversation. It's a whole new world of ideas, and I'm lucky enough to get something like a private lesson.

Steffen Seibert, born 1960 in Munich, has been moderating the "today" news on ZDF since January 2003. He lives in Wiesbaden with his wife and three children.

Germany: Lose jobs at home or lives abroad? Town torn over Saudi exports (July 2020).



Hanover, Hamburg, London, Stevie Wonder, Casablanca, people; curriculum vitae; seibert;

Steffen Seibert: "Ma femme m'a appris à voir"

1960-1972

À la maison, il y a toujours des livres autour de moi, des milliers. Vous parlez de livres, vous vivez avec des livres. Notamment parce que mon père a une maison d'édition de livres d'art. Comme nous nous déplaçons fréquemment, les nombreux volumes doivent être constamment emballés dans des cartons, puis déballés à nouveau. J'aime la poussière, l'odeur, je pourrais regarder pendant des jours. Quand j'ai douze ans, mes parents divorcent, ma mère et moi déménageons à Hanovre. Mais l'amour des livres est suscité. À ce jour, je suis un lecteur maniaque.

1966

J'ai un casier judiciaire avec un tel crime d'enfants, je ne me souviens pas du nom, que j'entends de haut en bas. Ce faisant, j'ai presque peur de la merde. À un moment donné, les enfants se faufilent dans une cave, ce qui est tellement excitant que je suis complètement épuisé. Cela n'a pas changé: j'ai toujours peur des thrillers. Je n'aime pas être diverti par quelque chose qui joue avec mes pires craintes. Personne ne m'obtiendra jamais dans "Le silence des agneaux"!

1977

À l'âge de 17 ans, je rencontre Magdalena à Hanovre, une amie très proche jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Cela ouvre un nouveau monde pour moi: la musique pop et les sorties. Magdalena vit avec ses soeurs sous le toit de son père, véritable tanière de fille. Sur les platines préhistoriques, nous entendons Earth, Wind & Fire, Stevie Wonder et Bryan Ferry. Je trouve ces filles géniales, leur musique, toute l’atmosphère et m’y accroche. Dans la soirée, nous allons au "Casablanca" à Hanovre, une discothèque, puis loin et ma première discothèque. La musique de cette époque a façonné mon goût - je l'appelle un goût disco Happy-Seichtpop. Et je ne l'ai jamais réellement laissé tomber.

1978

Permis de conduire. Pour pouvoir payer, je vends la clarinette que j'ai déjà jouée. Les recettes sont assez précises et je n’ai pratiquement pas pratiqué. Une erreur, comme je le sais aujourd'hui: je donnerais quelque chose si je pouvais jouer.

1981

Hambourg, mon premier semestre à l'université. Dans une bibliothèque anglaise, je tire un livre de l'étagère de manière totalement arbitraire. C'est le premier volume du cycle d'amour d'Anthony Powell "Une danse à la musique du temps", une sorte de Proust anglais. J'aurais pu attraper quelque chose, mais j'attrape le travail de ma vie. Les neuf mois suivants, je ne lisais rien d'autre que Powell, tous les volumes. Gigantesque! Je vis dans ce monde, le Londres de l'entre-deux-guerres et de l'après-guerre. Plus tard, je vais à Londres pour étudier. Même aujourd'hui, je vis avec les personnages et je me dis souvent: il ressemble à Powell.

1985

Magdalena me présente Sophia (oui, les dômes peuvent réellement fonctionner!). Depuis lors nous sommes un couple. Au début, elle étudie le design de mode à Hambourg, mais elle abandonne et devient peintre. Sophia ouvre les yeux sur la peinture, à travers laquelle j'ai d'abord appris à voir. Jusqu'à aujourd'hui, nous allons ensemble dans des expositions et des musées d'art, où mon goût est beaucoup plus conservateur que le leur. J'aime la peinture figurative, les images racontant des histoires. J'aime Anthony van Dyke, Georges de la Tour, Lucian Freud et Max Beckmann.

1992-1995

Nous vivons à Washington, je suis Korres-pondent pour ZDF. En 1992, notre premier enfant est né, notre fille Tallulah. Nous l'appelons d'après l'actrice Tallulah Bankhead. J'ai vu cela dans le film "Lifeboat" de Hitchcock. Elle y joue un journaliste qui a beaucoup voyagé, lavé avec rien, sauf sa machine à écrire et son bracelet de diamants. Fantastique!

2000

Au cinéma, nous voyons "Tout sur ma mère" de Pedro Almodóvar. Je me souviens du dernier bon film, mais je ne vais pas souvent au cinéma. En général, on peut dire: je suis l'homme avec qui on peut bien regarder les films féminins. Je m'ennuie tout de suite avec les scènes d'action.

2002

Quand je suis à Berlin, j'achète des assiettes pour ma fille au Kulturkaufhaus Dussmann. Sophie Ellis Bextor, Kylie Minogue, Pop. Pour un homme de 42 ans, c'est plutôt embarrassant. Mais je l'amènerai à Tallulah - et la prêterai à moi pour des fêtes. Gros avantage de la vie des enfants!

2003

En ce moment, je lis trois livres à la fois: Martin Suter, John van Düffel et un missel catholique. Je l’ai reçu en cadeau, car je me prépare à entrer dans l’Église catholique. Je rencontre régulièrement un ancien prélat de la cathédrale de Mayence pour une conversation. C'est un tout nouveau monde d'idées et j'ai la chance d'obtenir quelque chose qui ressemble à une leçon privée.

Steffen Seibert, né en 1960 à Munich, modère l'actualité "aujourd'hui" de ZDF depuis janvier 2003. Il vit à Wiesbaden avec son épouse et ses trois enfants.

Réélection peu glorieuse de Merkel à la tête de son parti (Décembre 2019).


Hanovre, Hambourg, Londres, Stevie Wonder, Casablanca, les gens; cv; Seibert;