Terry Gilliam: His new film may be shown in Cannes - and he's coming

Now it's official: The long-term project "The Man Who Killed Don Quixote" by director Terry Gilliam (77, "12 Monkeys") may be shown as a closing film of the 71st Cannes Film Festival. This was announced on the official Twitter account of the film festival: "Paulo Branco's request for a ban was rejected in court". And Gilliam will be there herself, they say. Fans were worried about the director after he had to be treated temporarily in a hospital according to media reports.

"We are not dead yet"

Due to this decision, the film festival is in a celebratory mood: "Let's make this victory a great party". And even Terry Gilliam himself said: "We are not dead yet. We come to Cannes". For this purpose, the Film Festival published a photo of the director, on which he wears a black T-shirt with a print of "The Man Who Killed Don Quixote".



The Portuguese producer Paulo Branco (67) wanted to obtain a preliminary injunction in court, so that the fantasy adventure can not be shown in Cannes. The two men are fighting over the financing of the strip. Branco is said to have not paid his share with his company, so Gilliam finally realized the strip with other donors. For years he has worked on "The Man Who Killed Don Quixote". The first filming had already taken place in 2000.

"The Man Who Killed Don Quixote" is scheduled for September 6, 2018 in German cinemas. Starring is Adam Driver, Jonathan Pryce, Stellan Skarsgård and Olga Kurylenko.

Terry Gilliam Just Can't Catch a Break (October 2020).



Terry Gilliam, Cannes, Film Festival, The Man, Cannes International Film Festival, Twitter, Terry Gilliam, The Man Who Killed Don Quixote, Cannes Film Festival, Cannes 2018

Terry Gilliam: son nouveau film pourrait être montré à Cannes - et il arrive

C'est maintenant officiel: le projet à long terme "L'homme qui a tué Don Quichotte" du réalisateur Terry Gilliam (77, "12 Monkeys") pourrait être présenté comme film de clôture du 71ème Festival de Cannes. Cela a été annoncé sur le compte Twitter officiel du festival du film: "La demande d'interdiction de Paulo Branco a été rejetée par un tribunal". Et Gilliam sera là elle-même, disent-ils. Les médias s'inquiétaient pour le réalisateur après qu'il ait dû être soigné temporairement à l'hôpital.

"Nous ne sommes pas encore morts"

En raison de cette décision, le festival du film est de bonne humeur: "Faisons de cette victoire une grande fête". Et même Terry Gilliam lui-même a déclaré: "Nous ne sommes pas encore morts. Nous venons à Cannes". À cette fin, le Festival du film a publié une photo du réalisateur sur laquelle il porte un t-shirt noir avec une impression de "L'homme qui a tué Don Quichotte".



Le producteur portugais Paulo Branco (67 ans) voulait obtenir une injonction préliminaire devant un tribunal, afin que l'aventure fantastique ne puisse pas être montrée à Cannes. Les deux hommes se disputent le financement de la bande. On dit que Branco n'a pas payé sa part avec sa compagnie, alors Gilliam a finalement réalisé la bande avec d'autres donateurs. Pendant des années, il a travaillé sur "L'homme qui a tué Don Quichotte". Le premier tournage avait déjà eu lieu en 2000.

"L'homme qui a tué Don Quichotte" est prévu pour le 6 septembre 2018 dans les cinémas allemands. Adam Driver, Jonathan Pryce, Stellan Skarsgård et Olga Kurylenko sont les vedettes.

SNOWPIERCER de Bong Joon-ho : l'analyse de M. Bobine (Avril 2021).



Terry Gilliam, Cannes, Festival de film, L'Homme, Festival international du film de Cannes, Twitter, Terry Gilliam, L'homme qui a tué Don Quichotte, Festival de Cannes, Cannes 2018