• October 22, 2020

The woman who never forgets: Rebecca remembers every (!) Day of her life

My aunt is from NZ and we just had a family lunch. I'm rugged up in my HP Quidditch scarf and sweater ?? pic.twitter.com/FZ0uYaRh1T

? Rebecca Sharrock (@r_sharrock) June 26, 2016


It is both a curse and a blessing. Rebecca Sharrock from Brisbane, Australia can remember everything she has ever experienced - even the smallest detail, and that since her 12th birthday. The 27-year-old suffers from the rare hyperthymestic syndrome. This makes her one of the 80 people worldwide whose episodic memory has developed particularly strongly.

Exactly two years ago today I visited the UCI for the first time (which was taken when this picture was taken): pic.twitter.com/nk3IHk3oap



? Rebecca Sharrock (@r_sharrock) July 10, 2016

For a long time she did not know about her illness

At the age of 12, doctors attribute Rebecca's memory to autism. When she sees a documentary on television about a woman with the hyperthymestic syndrome at the age of 21, she finds many things in common. "I always thought that everyone remembers these things," she tells Morning Britain.

The disease has its advantages

Her ability to remember also has advantages for the Australian. Rebecca can remember every word she reads. So she can even memorize all seven Harry Potter books. And as an avid Hogwarts fan that's pretty cool.



The downside, if you can not forget

But the super-memory also has disadvantages. Rebecca can not only put herself in all sorts of situations, her feelings from the past, whether pain or grief, come back up regularly. Old pictures come to her uncontrolled in the head, so that even at night only distracted by music and light can fall asleep.

But Rebecca makes the best of it and now writes a book about her life and lectures on her illness. A really strong woman.

This Woman Remembers Every Day of Her Life (October 2020).



Forgetfulness, memory, autism, Brisbane

La femme qui n'oublie jamais: Rebecca se souvient de chaque (!) Jour de sa vie


Ma tante vient de Nouvelle-Zélande et nous venons de déjeuner en famille. Je suis costaud dans mon écharpe et mon pull HP Quidditch? pic.twitter.com/FZ0uYaRh1T

? Rebecca Sharrock (@r_sharrock) le 26 juin 2016


C'est à la fois une malédiction et une bénédiction. Rebecca Sharrock de Brisbane, en Australie, se souvient de tout ce qu'elle a vécu - même du moindre détail - et ce, depuis son 12e anniversaire. La victime, âgée de 27 ans, souffre du rare syndrome hyperthymestique. Cela fait d'elle l'une des 80 personnes dans le monde dont la mémoire épisodique s'est particulièrement développée.

Il y a exactement deux ans, j'ai visité l'UCI pour la première fois (prise lors de la prise de cette photo): pic.twitter.com/nk3IHk3oap



? Rebecca Sharrock (@r_sharrock) 10 juillet 2016

Pendant longtemps elle n'a pas entendu parler de sa maladie

À l'âge de 12 ans, les médecins attribuent la mémoire de Rebecca à l'autisme. Lorsqu'elle voit un documentaire à la télévision sur une femme atteinte du syndrome hyperthymestique à l'âge de 21 ans, elle trouve beaucoup de choses en commun. "J'ai toujours pensé que tout le monde se souvenait de ces choses", a-t-elle déclaré à Morning Britain.

La maladie a ses avantages

Sa capacité à se souvenir présente également des avantages pour l'Australienne. Rebecca peut se souvenir de chaque mot qu'elle lit. Ainsi, elle peut même mémoriser les sept livres de Harry Potter. Et en tant que fan passionné de Poudlard, c'est plutôt cool.



L'inconvénient, si vous ne pouvez pas oublier

Mais la super-mémoire a aussi des inconvénients. Rebecca peut non seulement se mettre dans toutes sortes de situations, ses sentiments du passé, qu’il s’agisse de douleur ou de chagrin, reviennent régulièrement. De vieilles images lui parviennent incontrôlées dans la tête, de sorte que même la nuit, seuls distraits par la musique et la lumière peuvent s’endormir.

Mais Rebecca en tire le meilleur parti et écrit maintenant un livre sur sa vie et donne des conférences sur sa maladie. Une femme vraiment forte.

compile zouk retro années 90-00 (Août 2020).



Oubli, mémoire, autisme, Brisbane