Treatment error: doctors break their silence


The child, nine months old, is restless, it cries often, the mother is worried. The young doctor listens to heart and lungs, finds nothing conspicuous, sees only a reddened neck - it's flu time. She diagnoses an incipient influenza infection. In fact, the kid has a hernia.

"Even today, I feel the breeze of the Damocles sword above me," says Vittoria Braun, who once made the wrong diagnosis as a young doctor. Today she is a professor at the Berlin Charité - and one of 17 brave doctors, nurses and therapists working in the Brochure "Learning from mistakes" of the Alliance for Patient Safety openly talk about their own treatment errors.



Most incidents are kept secret

Around 17 million hospital treatments are performed by German doctors every year. In up to 560,000 of these cases, a doctor underrun a mistake in the treatment, estimates the action alliance patient safety. But usually the incidents are concealed - The physicians are afraid of complaining and losing the trust of the patients. And many doctors still do not want to admit that they are not infallible.

"Where people work, mistakes can not be avoided"Especially when you take into account the complex and fast processes in modern medicine and nursing," write in the preface of the brochure the President of the Medical Association Jörg-Dietrich Hoppe and Matthias Schrappe, chairman of the Action Alliance. "They want to encourage doctors and nurses to admit mistakes." High quality and safety of health care can only be maintained in the longer term if everyone consistently tries to learn from avoidable mistakes, damage and near-damage. "



Lack of time and misunderstandings

The cases make it clear that by no means incompetence of the medical profession is responsible for the mistakes. Much more often lack of time and misunderstandings behind it, A surgeon tells how he operated on a young jumper on the wrong knee - the wrong side had been noted on the operation consent. A nurse describes how she fixes a cannula in a troubled patient with tracheotomy. She has to interrupt her work to rush to the next patient. When she returns to the woman, she has tried to fix the cannula and is suffocated.

"Since that event, I've always reacted to the whole person, taking him and his needs seriously, and I'm not letting myself be put under any pressure," the nurse writes. And also the surgeon learned from the incident with the wrong knee. Before surgery, he now marks the knee to be operated on with a non-wipeable pen - before the patient gets his anesthetic.



Starting Medical School at Age 37– Terrible Idea? | Wednesday Checkup (July 2020).



Doctor's office, Charité, hospital, doctor, malpractice, treatment errors, patient safety

Erreur de traitement: les médecins brisent leur silence

L'enfant de neuf mois est agité, il pleure souvent, la mère est inquiète. Le jeune médecin écoute le cœur et les poumons, ne trouve rien de remarquable, ne voit que la rougeur du cou - le moment de la grippe. Elle diagnostique une infection grippale naissante. En fait, le gamin a une hernie.

«Même aujourd’hui, je sens le souffle de l’épée de Damoclès au-dessus de moi», déclare Vittoria Braun, qui avait jadis fait le mauvais diagnostic en tant que jeune médecin. Aujourd'hui, elle est professeur à la Charité de Berlin - et l'un des 17 médecins, infirmières et thérapeutes courageux travaillant dans le Brochure "Apprendre des erreurs" de l'Alliance pour la sécurité des patients parler ouvertement de leurs propres erreurs de traitement.



La plupart des incidents sont tenus secrets

Environ 17 millions de traitements hospitaliers sont effectués chaque année par des médecins allemands. Dans près de 560 000 de ces cas, un médecin a commis une erreur de traitement, estime l’action de sécurité des patients. mais généralement les incidents sont dissimulés - Les médecins ont peur de se plaindre et de perdre la confiance des patients. Et beaucoup de médecins ne veulent toujours pas admettre qu'ils ne sont pas infaillibles.

"Là où les gens travaillent, les erreurs ne peuvent pas être évitées"Surtout en tenant compte des processus complexes et rapides de la médecine moderne et des soins infirmiers", écrivent dans la préface de la brochure le président de l'Association médicale, Jörg-Dietrich Hoppe, et Matthias Schrappe, président de Action Alliance. "Ils souhaitent encourager les médecins et les infirmières à admettre leurs erreurs." La qualité et la sécurité des soins de santé ne peuvent être maintenues à long terme que si tout le monde essaie systématiquement de tirer les leçons des erreurs évitables, des dégâts et des dégâts proches de ceux évités. "



Manque de temps et malentendus

Les cas montrent clairement que ce n’est en aucun cas l’incompétence de la profession médicale qui est responsable des erreurs. plutôt souvent le manque de temps et les malentendus derrière, Un chirurgien raconte comment il a opéré un jeune cavalier sur le mauvais genou - le mauvais côté avait été noté sur le consentement de l'opération. Une infirmière décrit comment elle répare une canule chez un patient souffrant de trachéotomie. Elle doit interrompre son travail pour se rendre au prochain patient. Quand elle revient chez la femme, elle a essayé de réparer la canule et est étouffée.

"Depuis cet événement, j'ai toujours réagi vis-à-vis de la personne dans son ensemble, le prenant au sérieux, ainsi que ses besoins, et je ne me laisse pas mettre de pression", écrit l'infirmière. Et aussi le chirurgien a appris de l'incident avec le mauvais genou. Avant l'opération, il marque maintenant le genou à opérer avec un stylo non essuyable - avant que le patient ne se fasse anesthésier.



Témoignage : une maman face aux accusations de maltraitance (Février 2021).



Cabinet de médecin, Charité, hôpital, médecin, faute professionnelle, erreurs de traitement, sécurité du patient