Vienna in winter: A culinary walk

© Martin / fotolia.com

The blue of the sky stings in the eyes, the cold in the face, every breath is an inner Kneipp cure. Clouds in the midday sun look like pink punched donuts, under a sugar glaze buried cake cube with rum-chocolate filling. Not a bad idea, says my stomach. But too soon, my reason says, the calories on a culinary walk in Vienna must be well divided.

I stroll through the first district, the elegant city center of Vienna, past parades of baroque buildings made of sandstone. Hooves clatter over the cobbled streets, a horse with red and white earmuffs trots past, behind the coachman in the carriage lies a blanket, under which red-frozen noses peeped out. Steaming at every corner, pans, big as cartwheels, covered with hot chestnuts. Vienna is full of promises, but I already know where I want to go: to the Wollzeile, a reserve of long-established specialist shops for all sorts of goodies.

On the threshold of "Feinkost Böhle", I immediately forget the cold, and my entire perception is occupied with the displays: freshly cut ham, charlins caviar on blinis, Tafelspitzsulz, chestnut cream, pies. My stomach and I can not decide, besides, now also turn on my legs and demand a break.

In the cellar vault of the "Hollmann salon" I squeeze myself to a long wooden table and order the "Salon Brettl", a culinary patchwork: pumpkin liver cheese with rosemary crostini, potato goulash with sour cream and roast beef with horseradish and chives, all bottled in small jars and lovingly draped on a wooden board. I cheer with the nice gentleman eating baked chicken with potato salad.

Outside, the sun is slipping towards the evening, just peering over the six, seven old building floors. The air is colder now, pinching my face. Red lamps, big and round like gymnastic balls, illuminate the Rotenturmstraße from Steffl to the Danube Canal. On the Christmas market in front of the town hall, the trees are hung with hearts, biscuits and nutcracker lanterns.



© phunk / photocase.com

Cookies, at this sight my stomach starts again. Then I see a stall with langosch, a thin Hefefladen, a Hungarian specialty - and can not resist. Is really very thin, even if Din-A4-sized and brushed with garlic oil. Desserts: a banal, white powdered apple strudel. Already I am sitting again, in the "Café Korb".

I have time. A pleasure walk must finally fulfill one of the favorite mottoes of the Viennese: "Only ned hudeln." This anti-hectic motto is taken so seriously in this city that for example in the famous coffee house "Jelinek" is written on a board: "Those in a hurry will not be served here."

My last gear - whether the air is hot or stinging cold, does not matter anymore. I feel warm. Even though the pink clouds disappeared in the dark, I did not forget them, the punched donuts. In the "Chocolaterie pâtisserie au marché" they store behind glass, in addition to eclairs, tarts, biscuits. When I ask the confectioner Eduard A. Fruth for real Viennese Punschkrapfen, he scolds: "Viennese is nothing. The kitchen is a single blend!" He is right, a wonderful mixture of hearty and sweet. With this melange in my stomach and a pink sugar cube in my hand, I walk out into the Viennese night.

Stay

The Levante Parliament Design hotel not far from Burgtheater and Rathaus. Because of the noisy street rooms to reserve the courtyard. DZ / F from 286 Euro (Auerspergstraße 9, A-1080 Vienna, Tel. 53 54 51 50, Fax 535 45 15 15, www.thelevante.com).

Hollmann Beletage Feel-good hotel with 25 rooms, exterior classic Wilhelminian style house, interior Asian furnishings. Spa with sauna and steam room, beautiful salon with piano and library. DZ / F from 170 Euro (Köllnerhofgasse 6, A-1010 Vienna, Tel. 961 19 60, Fax 961 19 60 33, www.hollmann-beletage.at).

Benediktushaus Guest house of the Schottenstift in the middle of the city center - in front of it is one of the nicest Christmas markets in Vienna. Nice rooms with one, two or three separate beds and a private bathroom. DZ / F from 99 Euro (Freyung 6a, A-1010 Vienna, Tel. 53 49 89 00, Fax 53 49 81 05, www.schottenstift.at).

Enjoy

Hollmann SalonTraditional Viennese dishes, interpreted in a modern way and served in a stylish and minimalist decor. Lunch and small meals are available at the "Salon Brettl", in the evening menu (Grashofgasse 2, Tel. 961 19 60 40, www.hollmann-salon.at).

Inn GoldmarieInsider tip in the district Meidling: Modified Viennese cuisine, also some vegetarian dishes. Specialties: Huferlsteak and schnitzel.Main courses 8 to 15 Euro (Hoffmeistergasse 7, Tel. 817 01 58, www.goldmarie.at).

Inn WildNice neighborhood restaurant. A dream: Salonbeuschel (sour Lüngerl), small portion for 8 euros. For dessert, try potato dumplings with nougat filling (Radetzkyplatz 1, tel. 920 94 77).

A Viennese salonNice little restaurant with fine cuisine, great fish dishes. After 22.30 hours only four-, five- or six-course menus (from 43 euros). Reservations! (Stubenbastei 10/1, Tel. 66 06 54 27 85, www.einwienersalon.com).

Action heat dispenser Under the motto "Soup & Soul", seven restaurateurs will be cooking at Karlsplatz / Resselpark until December 23, with DJs performing. The proceeds benefit charitable causes.



To the black camelTowel-narrow patisserie with a small, but extremely impressive offer: z. B. "Sweet glasses" - layered works of art made of chocolate mousse, caramel and almond crumble. Particularly suitable as a souvenir: macaroons with fruit filling (Bognergasse 7, www.kameel.at).

To the 3 hoes Typical Viennese inn. Baked of all kinds, for example, a delicious veal escalope for 15 euros (Singerstraße 28, Tel. 512 58 95).

To the Dark StarAward-winning restaurant by chef Ella de Silva in a cellar bar. International and Austrian cuisine. Main courses about 18 euros, z. B. rabbit with salsiccia-sage filling, mountain lentils and warm peperonata (schoolyard 8, Tel. 535 21 00).

Small cafeHidden café with cozy living room atmosphere. Delicious sandwiches (Franziskanerplatz 3).

MentoneEspresso-Barmit great cake (eg apricot), the Mariahilfer Straße for shopping is just around the corner (Kirchengasse 7, Tel 523 53 82).

NoiBoheme-Café on Yppenplatz, Vienna's multicultural corner. Do not miss: Cheese or sausage specialty dishes and the excellent coffee (Payergasse 12).

PunschereiAs a café used flat bunker in Augarten. Children grill marshmallows by the open fire, their parents can now warm their hands on mulled wine (Obere Augartenstraße 1A, www.bunkerei.at).

Café basketVienna's best apple strudel, served in a glorious 50s atmosphere. Elfriede Jelinek described it as "demonic beauty" (Brandstatte 9, Tel. 533 72 15).

Christmas markets

Christmas market at Rathausplatz in Vienna largest market with thousands of visitors, lots of music and children's program - as well as the largest Advent wreath in Europe. Opposite the Burgtheater.

Old Viennese Christmas market on the FreyungSmall, contemplative Christmas market; also at Wienern a popular meeting place. Punch and small dishes, little kitsch.

Winter magic in the MuseumsquartierThe market for the boys in front of a beautiful backdrop of modern museums. Here you are active in sports (eg curling) and listen to DJ music.

Christmas villagesNostalgic markets in three locations, relaxed atmosphere, lots of crafts and small gift ideas for the festival (Belvedere Palace, Altes AKH, Maria-Theresien-Platz between the Museum of Art and Natural History, www.weihnachtsdorf.at).

shopping

Blossoming confectionery: Depending on the season and collecting happiness there are z. B. chocolate-dipped elderflower, violet-raspberry balls, chocolate mint leaves or sugared saffron leaves. Every year more than a hundred types of confectionery are mixed in the store, many of them brand new. Dreierbonbonniere from 3.90 euros (Schmalzhofgasse 19, www.bluehendes-konfekt.com).

Xocolat drinking chocolates, table chocolates, biscuits - chocolate lovers could spend days here and would not have tasted anything (Freyung 2, in the passage of the Palais Ferstel).

Babette's cookbook and spice shop, small dishes for lunch (Schleifmühlgasse 17, www.babettes.at).

info

Tourist Information Vienna Albertinaplatz, Vienna 1, Tel. 245 55, Fax 24 55 56 66, www.wien.info

Austrian Food Tour: The BEST Schnitzels, Beer & Pancakes In Vienna | Vienna Food & Travel Vlog (October 2020).



Vienna Christmas Market, snow, winter, cakes, pastries, mulled wine

Vienne en hiver: promenade culinaire

© Martin / fotolia.com

Le bleu du ciel pique dans les yeux, le froid dans le visage, chaque respiration est un remède Kneipp intérieur. Les nuages ​​au soleil de midi ressemblent à des beignets roses perforés, Cube de gâteau enterré glacé au sucre avec garniture au chocolat au rhum. Ce n'est pas une mauvaise idée, dit mon estomac. Mais trop tôt, dit ma raison, les calories d’une promenade culinaire à Vienne doivent être bien divisées.

Je me promène dans le premier arrondissement, l'élégant centre-ville de Vienne, devant des défilés d'immeubles baroques en grès. Les sabots claquent sur le pavé de la vieille ville, un cheval trottiné par des cache-oreilles rouges et blancs, derrière le cocher dans la voiture se trouve une couverture sous laquelle perlent des nez rouges et glacés. Des casseroles, grandes comme des roues, couvertes de marrons chauds. Vienne est pleine de promesses, mais je sais déjà où je veux aller: au Wollzeile, une réserve de magasins spécialisés établis de longue date pour toutes sortes de friandises.

Sur le seuil de "Feinkost Böhle", j'oublie immédiatement le froid et toute ma perception est occupée par les étalages: jambon fraîchement coupé, caviar de charlins sur blinis, Tafelspitzsulz, crème de marrons, tartes. Mon estomac et je ne peux pas décider, d'ailleurs, maintenant aussi me retourne sur mes jambes et demande une pause.

Dans la cave du "salon Hollmann", je m'installe sur une longue table en bois et commande le "Salon Brettl", un patchwork culinaire: fromage à la citrouille avec crostini au romarin, goulache de pommes de terre à la crème sure et rôti de bœuf au raifort et à la ciboulette, le tout dans des pots et amoureusement drapé sur une planche de bois. J'encourage le gentilhomme mangeant du poulet cuit au four avec une salade de pommes de terre.

Dehors, le soleil glisse vers la soirée et ne regarde que six ou sept étages anciens. L'air est plus froid maintenant, me pinçant le visage. Des lampes rouges, grandes et rondes comme des balles de gymnastique, éclairent la Rotenturmstraße de Steffl au canal du Danube. Sur le marché de Noël devant l'hôtel de ville, les arbres sont ornés de cœurs, de biscuits et de lanternes de casse-noisettes.



© phunk / photocase.com

Cookies, à cette vue mon estomac recommence. Ensuite, je vois un stand avec langosch, un mince Hefefladen, une spécialité hongroise - et je ne peux pas résister. Est vraiment très mince, même si Din-A4-taille et brossé avec de l'huile d'ail. Desserts: un strudel aux pommes en poudre blanc et banal. Je suis déjà assis au Café Korb.

J'ai le temps Une marche d'agrément doit enfin remplir l'une des devises préférées des Viennoises: "Only ned hudeln". Cette devise anti-agitée est prise tellement au sérieux dans cette ville que, par exemple, dans le célèbre café "Jelinek" est écrit sur un tableau: "Ceux qui sont pressés ne seront pas servis ici."

Mon dernier engrenage - que l’air soit chaud ou froid, n’a plus d’importance. J'ai chaud Même si les nuages ​​roses ont disparu dans le noir, je ne les ai pas oubliés, les beignets perforés. Dans la "Chocolaterie pâtisserie au marché", ils stockent derrière du verre, ainsi que des éclairs, des tartes, des biscuits. Quand je demande au véritable pâtissier Eduard A. Fruth des vrais Punschkrapfen viennois, il gronde: "Viennoise n'est rien. La cuisine est un mélange unique!" Il a raison, un mélange merveilleux de copieux et doux. Avec ce mélange dans mon estomac et un morceau de sucre rose dans ma main, je sors dans la nuit viennoise.

séjour

Le Parlement Levante Hôtel design non loin de Burgtheater et Rathaus. En raison de la rue bruyante chambres à réserver la cour. DZ / F à partir de 286 euros (Auerspergstraße 9, A-1080 Vienne, tél. 53 54 51 50, fax 535 45 15 15, www.thelevante.com).

Hollmann Beletage Hôtel de bien-être avec 25 chambres, extérieur maison de style wilhelminien classique, mobilier intérieur asiatique. Spa avec sauna et hammam, beau salon avec piano et bibliothèque. DZ / F à partir de 170 euros (Köllnerhofgasse 6, A-1010 Vienne, tél. 961 19 60, fax 961 19 60 33, www.hollmann-beletage.at).

Benediktushaus Guest house du Schottenstift au milieu du centre-ville - en face de lui se trouve l'un des plus beaux marchés de Noël de Vienne. Belles chambres avec un, deux ou trois lits séparés et une salle de bain privée. DZ / F à partir de 99 euros (Freyung 6a, A-1010 Vienne, tél. 53 49 89 00, fax 53 49 81 05, www.schottenstift.at).

jouir

Hollmann SalonPlats traditionnels viennois, interprétés de manière moderne et servis dans un décor élégant et minimaliste. Le déjeuner et les petits repas sont disponibles au "Salon Brettl", dans le menu du soir (Grashofgasse 2, tél. 961 19 60 40, www.hollmann-salon.at).

Inn GoldmarieConseil d’initiés dans le quartier de Meidling: cuisine viennoise modifiée, ainsi que des plats végétariens. Spécialités: Huferlsteak et schnitzel.Plats principaux 8 à 15 euros (Hoffmeistergasse 7, tél. 817 01 58, www.goldmarie.at).

Inn sauvageBon restaurant de quartier. Un rêve: Salonbeuschel (sour Lüngerl), petite portion pour 8 euros. En dessert, essayez des boulettes de pommes de terre fourrées au nougat (Radetzkyplatz 1, tél. 920 94 77).

Un salon viennoisBon petit restaurant avec une cuisine raffinée, d'excellents plats de poisson. Après 22h30, seulement quatre, cinq ou six plats (à partir de 43 euros). Réserve! (Stubenbastei 10/1, tél. 66 06 54 27 85, www.einwienersalon.com).

Action distributeur de chaleur Sous la devise "Soup & Soul", sept restaurateurs cuisineront au Karlsplatz / Resselpark jusqu'au 23 décembre, avec des DJ. Le produit profite à des œuvres de bienfaisance.



Au chameau noirPâtisserie étroite avec une petite offre extrêmement impressionnante: z. B. "Verres sucrés" - oeuvres d'art en couches faites de mousse au chocolat, de crumble au caramel et aux amandes. Idéal comme souvenir: les macarons fourrés aux fruits (Bognergasse 7, www.kameel.at).

Aux 3 houes Auberge viennoise typique. Cuit au four de toutes sortes, par exemple, une délicieuse escalope de veau à 15 euros (Singerstraße 28, Tél. 512 58 95).

À l'étoile noireRestaurant primé du chef Ella de Silva dans un bar à vins. Cuisine internationale et autrichienne. Plats principaux environ 18 euros, z. B. lapin fourré à la salsiccia-sauge, lentilles de montagne et peperonata chaud (cour d'école 8, tél. 535 21 00).

Petit caféCafé caché avec une atmosphère de salon confortable. Délicieux sandwiches (Franziskanerplatz 3).

MentoneLe grand gâteau Espresso-Barmit (par exemple, l’abricot), la Mariahilfer Straße pour faire du shopping est juste au coin de la rue (Kirchengasse 7, Tél. 523 53 82).

NoiBoheme-Café sur Yppenplatz, le coin multiculturel de Vienne. Ne manquez pas: les spécialités de fromage ou de saucisse et l'excellent café (Payergasse 12).

PunschereiEn tant que café utilisé bunker plat à Augarten. Les enfants font griller des guimauves au coin du feu et leurs parents peuvent désormais se réchauffer les mains avec du vin chaud (Obere Augartenstraße 1A, www.bunkerei.at).

Panier de caféLe meilleur strudel aux pommes de Vienne, servi dans une atmosphère glorieuse des années 50. Elfriede Jelinek l'a décrite comme une "beauté démoniaque" (Brandstatte 9, tél. 533 72 15).

marchés de Noël

Marché de Noël à la Rathausplatz à Vienne le plus grand marché avec des milliers de visiteurs, beaucoup de musique et de programmes pour enfants - ainsi que la plus grande couronne de l'Avent en Europe. En face du Burgtheater.

Vieux marché de Noël viennois sur la FreyungPetit marché de Noël contemplatif; également à Wienern un lieu de rencontre populaire. Punch et petits plats, petit kitsch.

Magie hivernale au quartier des muséesLe marché pour les garçons devant une belle toile de fond de musées modernes. Ici, vous pratiquez un sport (par exemple, le curling) et écoutez de la musique de DJ.

villages de NoëlMarchés nostalgiques dans trois lieux différents, atmosphère détendue, artisanat et idées cadeaux pour le festival (palais Belvedere, Altes AKH, Maria Theresien-Platz, entre le musée d'art et d'histoire naturelle, www.weihnachtsdorf.at).

shopping

Confiserie florissante: En fonction de la saison et du bonheur de recueillir il y a z. B. Fleur de sureau trempée dans du chocolat, boulettes de violette et de framboise, feuilles de menthe au chocolat ou feuilles de safran sucrées. Chaque année, plus de cent types de confiseries sont mélangés dans le magasin, beaucoup d’entre eux étant neufs. Dreierbonbonniere à partir de 3,90 euros (Schmalzhofgasse 19, www.bluehendes-konfekt.com).

Xocolat buvant des chocolats, des chocolats de table, des biscuits - les amateurs de chocolat pourraient y passer des jours et n’auraient rien goûté (Freyung 2, dans le passage du Palais Ferstel).

Livre de cuisine et épicerie de Babette, petits plats pour le déjeuner (Schleifmühlgasse 17, www.babettes.at).

d'info

Office du tourisme de Vienne Albertinaplatz, Vienne 1, Tél. 245 55, Fax 24 55 56 66, www.wien.info

Budapest sur Danube (Novembre 2020).



Marché de Noël de Vienne, la neige, l'hiver, des gâteaux, des pâtisseries, du vin chaud