Voluntary service: living and helping abroad


Conquer the world with volunteer service

© Clipart

Why South Africa? After graduating, Vera wanted to go a long way. Not to travel, but to do something useful. South Africa seemed the right choice: a country in transition, socially and politically. For six months she worked and lived in the "Botshabelo Babies Home" - an orphanage between Johannesburg and Pretoria.

In the morning she got up with the little ones, wrapped them and gave them the vial. She played and raved with them, bathed them and took care of their medical care. One third of one to four year olds were HIV positive. The parents were deceased, sick or too poor to look after their children.



Vera with two kids of the Babies Home

Was she afraid of becoming infected with HIV? "Yes, of course," says Vera. The fear often swung along. She was well informed, when she had to protect herself with gloves, and when not. "This is completely irrational, the head actually knows that nothing can happen, but sometimes it just does not feel right."

With the weeks, the fear became less, the work more commonplace, more natural. What remained was astonishment at a country where opposites are constantly colliding: poor and rich, health and disease, life and death. While she gave milk to children at "Babies Home", whose parents could not take care of them, not too far away there were magnificent villas whose inhabitants lived in luxury.



After her return she considered for a long time whether she should not study medicine. In the end, Vera has decided on a different path. She is now studying history, German and literary studies.

What has remained is their need to help and share their experiences. That's why she chooses volunteer service participants for the exchange organization AFS. She prepares them in seminars - and helps them to return after they return home.

You have questions about the volunteer service? Then she puts Vera in our expert consultation in the forum. From 3.12 - to 17.12.2008 she will be happy to help you here

10 LIFE CHANGING VOLUNTEER ABROAD EXPERIENCES (July 2020).



South Africa, HIV, Johannesburg, Voluntary Service

Service volontaire: vivre et aider à l'étranger

Conquérir le monde avec le service volontaire

© Clipart

Pourquoi l'Afrique du Sud? Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, Vera voulait aller très loin. Pas pour voyager, mais pour faire quelque chose d'utile. L’Afrique du Sud semblait être le bon choix: un pays en transition, socialement et politiquement. Pendant six mois, elle a travaillé et vécu à la «Botshabelo Babies Home», un orphelinat situé entre Johannesburg et Pretoria.

Le matin, elle s'est levée avec les petits, les a emballés et leur a donné la fiole. Elle a joué et déliré avec eux, les a lavés et a pris soin de leurs soins médicaux. Un tiers des enfants âgés de un à quatre ans étaient séropositifs. Les parents étaient décédés, malades ou trop pauvres pour s'occuper de leurs enfants.



Vera avec deux enfants de la maison des bébés

Avait-elle peur d'être infectée par le VIH? "Oui, bien sûr", dit Vera. La peur a souvent oscillé. Elle était bien informée quand elle devait se protéger avec des gants et quand elle ne le faisait pas. "C'est complètement irrationnel, la tête sait en fait que rien ne peut arriver, mais parfois, elle ne se sent pas bien."

Avec les semaines, la peur est devenue moins grande, le travail plus banal, plus naturel. Ce qui restait était l’étonnement d’un pays où les contraires se croisaient sans cesse: pauvres et riches, santé et maladie, vie et mort. Alors qu'elle donnait du lait aux enfants de "Babies Home", dont les parents ne pouvaient pas s'occuper, il y avait non loin de magnifiques villas dont les habitants vivaient dans le luxe.



Après son retour, elle a longtemps envisagé de ne pas étudier la médecine. En fin de compte, Vera a choisi une voie différente. Elle étudie actuellement l'histoire, l'allemand et les études littéraires.

Ce qui reste est leur besoin d’aider et de partager leurs expériences. C'est pourquoi elle a choisi des participants volontaires pour l'organisation d'échange AFS. Elle les prépare lors de séminaires - et les aide à rentrer après leur retour à la maison.

Vous avez des questions sur le service volontaire? Ensuite, elle met Vera dans notre consultation d’experts du forum. Du 3.12 au 17.12.2008, elle se fera un plaisir de vous aider ici

Au coeur de la légion étrangère française (Février 2021).



Afrique du Sud, VIH, Johannesburg, service volontaire