Philipp Hochmair: "Candelaria": Why this movie is very important to him


Actor Philipp Hochmair (44, "Blind Determined") is known in Germany above all as a nasty politician and murderer Joachim Schnitzler in the TV satire series "Vorstadtweiber" (since 2015). He is also a celebrated theater star in Austria, who gives as much on stage as in this country colleague Lars Eidigner (42, "Mackie knife - Brecht's Dreigroschenfilm"). In an interview with the news agency spot on news about his new film "Candelaria - a Cuban summer", which premiered at the Munich Film Festival and today starts on Thursday (5 July) regularly in the cinema, Hochmair tells not only how extreme the conditions Shooting in Cuba. He also tells what actually connects him with Eidinger.



Mr. Hochmair, "Candelaria" plays in Cuba. How was it there?

Philipp Hochmair: I flew to a place of longing and then saw how hard real life is on the spot. I arrived there three days after Fidel Castro's death (November 25, 2016). On the one hand it was a big excitement, on the other hand some people might have been relieved. It is a very strange world of appearances, but in which very loving, great people live. Everywhere one encounters photos of Che Guevara (1928-1967) and Fidel Castro (1926-2016), as if they were both still here. The myth lives on and is maintained with much effort. Of course, this contradiction is palpable.

What was the biggest challenge?



Hochmair: The biggest challenge was that I did not know what I was getting into. I flew in and arrived in Havana at midnight and did not know what to expect, what could happen, when it would be my turn or where I live ... nothing. I then decided to just indulge in this adventure.

Many actors in the movie are pretty old. Why is the movie still interesting for a young audience?

Hochmair: That's right, the main actress is 95, he's almost 90. Both come but much younger, because they are so fit and alive and could preserve a great freedom in this crisis-ridden country. This couple clearly represents the country to me. A black and a white, who love each other and love each other, grow old together, go through thick and thin, overcome crises, solve tasks. That's universal. Especially in times when some governments resist integration, this film is a great example of how it can work. "Candelaria" is very important to me and I really like the movie.



How was it linguistically on the set?

Hochmair: It was shot in Spanish and because I speak Spanish, I did not have to be synced. Because of my language skills (Editor's note: Hochmair speaks French, English, Spanish) I always wanted to shoot internationally, so far, "Candelaria" was of course a great luck.

She and the German actor Lars Eidinger are not only successful in television and film, but also celebrated theater stars. They met him at the Film Festival, where "Candelaria" also premiered, and posted a shared photo on your Instagram account. How well do you know yourself?

Hochmair: We have known each other for a long time, but have never worked together. But we played the same roles: He plays Hamlet, I played Hamlet. And these Hamlet guys are watching and enjoying each other, I would say. I think he's really good too. There is a series that is not so well-known in Germany, but which I saw on the plane: "SSGB" (2017) with Sam Riley, Kate Bosworth, etc. Sam Riley plays a neutral police officer in London in the 1950s Nazis are occupied, and Lars Eidinger plays the Gauleiter of London. The series is really worth seeing.

In film scenes ("hangover") and on stage, you can always see naked. How do you overcome the fear of being completely undressed by strangers?

Hochmair: If it motivates content and makes sense, it has nothing to do with timidity, then it has to be. If you understand the panic, the content, and the stress that has a role, then that is not a vain self-actualization, but a substantive necessity.

How important is it to be satisfied with your body?

Hochmair: It does not matter if you're fat, thin, old or young. In "Candelaria" the two are also naked and it does not matter if they are satisfied with their body, because it is important in terms of content and clear that they are seen naked.

Nonetheless, you look pretty fit. What are you doing for it?

Hochmair: I only do yoga and I just work a lot.

That's what "Candelaria" is all about

Havana in 1994.The island state suffers from the US economic embargo and the collapse of the Soviet Union, which has helped Cuba economically. The political situation is getting worse and Cuba is starving. However, the lives of Candelaria, 75 (Veronica Lynn) and Victor Hugo, 76 (Alden Knight), seemingly untouched. The monotony of the hard-working everyday life has both firmly under control. However, the daily routine is over when Candelaria finds a video camera hidden in the dirty laundry in the hotel where she works. She takes her home.

As the couple begins to film while dancing, kissing and making love, the camera becomes the focal point of their lives. When she disappears one day, Victor Hugo desperately searches, also in "El Hormigueo", a dangerous place in the center of Havana, where everything stolen can be found again. He also meets the fence El Carpintero, played by Philipp Hochmair ...

Filmfest München 2018: Jhonny Hendrix Hinestroza & Philipp Hochmair, CANDELARIA (July 2020).



Philipp Hochmair, Lars Eidinger, Havana, Germany, Fidel Castro, Joachim Schnitzler, Austria, Munich Film Festival, Che Guevara, Sam Riley, London, Philipp Hochmair, Candelaria, Candelaria - a Cuban summer, Lars Eidinger, Hamlet

Philipp Hochmair: "Candelaria": Pourquoi ce film est-il si important pour lui?

L'acteur Philipp Hochmair (44 ans, "Blind Determined") est surtout connu en Allemagne comme un homme politique et meurtrier méchant, Joachim Schnitzler, dans la série de satires télévisées "Vorstadtweiber" (depuis 2015). Il est également une star de théâtre réputée en Autriche, qui donne autant sur scène que dans son pays, son collègue Lars Eidigner (42 ans, "Mackie knife - Dreigroschenfilm de Brecht"). Dans une interview accordée à l'agence de presse Spot concernant son nouveau film "Candelaria - un été cubain", présenté en première au Festival du film de Munich et qui débute aujourd'hui jeudi (5 juillet) au cinéma, Hochmair ne se contente pas de dire Tournage à Cuba. Il raconte également ce qui le relie réellement à Eidinger.



M. Hochmair, "Candelaria" joue à Cuba. Comment était-ce là?

Philipp Hochmair: Je me suis envolé pour un lieu de nostalgie et j'ai ensuite constaté à quel point la vie réelle était dure. Je suis arrivé trois jours après le décès de Fidel Castro (le 25 novembre 2016). C'était très excitant, mais certaines personnes auraient pu être soulagées. C'est un monde d'apparences très étrange, mais dans lequel vivent de grandes personnes très affectueuses. Partout on rencontre des photos de Che Guevara (1928-1967) et de Fidel Castro (1926-2016), comme s’ils étaient tous deux encore ici. Le mythe perdure et se maintient avec beaucoup d’efforts. Bien sûr, cette contradiction est palpable.

Quel était le plus gros défi?



Hochmair: Le plus gros défi a été que je ne savais pas dans quoi je m'embarquais. Je suis arrivé par avion et je suis arrivé à La Havane à minuit et je ne savais pas à quoi m'attendre, ce qui pouvait arriver, quand ce serait mon tour ou où j'habite ... rien. J'ai alors décidé de me livrer à cette aventure.

Beaucoup d'acteurs dans le film sont assez vieux. Pourquoi le film est-il toujours intéressant pour un public jeune?

Hochmair: C'est vrai, l'actrice principale a 95 ans, il en a presque 90. Les deux viennent beaucoup plus jeunes, car ils sont en pleine forme et en vie et pourraient préserver une grande liberté dans ce pays en crise. Ce couple représente clairement le pays pour moi. Un noir et un blanc, qui s'aiment et s'aiment, vieillissent ensemble, traversent des épaisses et minces, surmontent des crises, résolvent des tâches. C'est universel. Particulièrement à une époque où certains gouvernements résistent à l'intégration, ce film illustre parfaitement son efficacité. "Candelaria" est très important pour moi et j'aime beaucoup le film.



Comment était-ce linguistiquement sur le plateau?

Hochmair: Il a été tourné en espagnol et comme je parle espagnol, je n'ai pas eu à synchroniser. En raison de mes compétences linguistiques (ndlr: Hochmair parle français, anglais, espagnol), j'ai toujours voulu tourner à l'international. Jusqu'ici, "Candelaria" a bien sûr été une chance.

Elle et l'acteur allemand Lars Eidinger ont non seulement du succès à la télévision et au cinéma, mais également des stars du théâtre. Ils l'ont rencontré au Festival du film, où "Candelaria" a également été créée et a publié une photo partagée sur votre compte Instagram. À quel point vous connaissez-vous?

Hochmair: Nous nous connaissons depuis longtemps, mais n'avons jamais travaillé ensemble. Mais nous avons joué les mêmes rôles: il joue Hamlet, j'ai joué Hamlet. Et ces gars de Hamlet se regardent et s'amusent, je dirais. Je pense qu'il est vraiment bon aussi. Il y a une série peu connue en Allemagne, mais que j'ai vue dans l'avion: "SSGB" (2017) avec Sam Riley, Kate Bosworth, etc. Sam Riley joue le rôle d'un policier neutre à Londres dans les années 1950. Les nazis sont occupés et Lars Eidinger joue le Gauleiter de Londres. La série vaut vraiment le détour.

Dans les scènes de film ("gueule de bois") et sur scène, vous pouvez toujours voir nu. Comment surmontez-vous la peur d'être complètement déshabillé par des étrangers?

Hochmair: Si cela motive le contenu et qu'il a du sens, cela n'a rien à voir avec la timidité, alors il le faut. Si vous comprenez la panique, le contenu et le stress qui a un rôle à jouer, il ne s'agit pas d'une vaine actualisation de soi, mais d'une nécessité de fond.

À quel point est-il important d'être satisfait de votre corps?

Hochmair: Peu importe si vous êtes gros, maigre, vieux ou jeune. Dans "Candelaria", les deux sont également nus et peu importe s'ils sont satisfaits de leur corps, car il est important en termes de contenu et qu'il soit évident qu'ils soient vus nus.

Néanmoins, tu es plutôt en forme. Que faites-vous pour cela?

Hochmair: Je ne fais que du yoga et je travaille beaucoup.

C'est ce que "Candelaria" est tout

La Havane en 1994.L’État insulaire est victime de l’embargo économique américain et de l’effondrement de l’Union soviétique, ce qui a aidé Cuba économiquement. La situation politique empire et Cuba meurt de faim. Cependant, la vie de Candelaria, 75 ans (Veronica Lynn) et Victor Hugo, 76 ans (Alden Knight), semble intacte. La monotonie de la vie quotidienne des travailleurs assidus est fermement maîtrisée. Cependant, la routine quotidienne est terminée lorsque Candelaria trouve une caméra vidéo cachée dans le linge sale de l'hôtel où elle travaille. Elle la ramène chez elle.

Alors que le couple commence à filmer tout en dansant, s'embrassant et faisant l'amour, l'appareil photo devient le point central de leur vie. Quand elle disparaît un jour, Victor Hugo cherche désespérément à "El Hormigueo", un lieu dangereux situé au centre de La Havane, où tout peut être retrouvé. Il rencontre également la barrière El Carpintero, interprété par Philipp Hochmair ...

Filmfest München 2018: Jhonny Hendrix Hinestroza & Philipp Hochmair, CANDELARIA (Septembre 2020).



Philipp Hochmair, Lars Eidinger, La Havane, Allemagne, Fidel Castro, Joachim Schnitzler, Autriche, Festival du Film de Munich, Che Guevara, Sam Riley, Londres, Philipp Hochmair, Candelaria, Candelaria - un été cubain, Lars Eidinger, Hamlet