Ready Player One: This is the bestseller behind the movie


From the 5th of April, director legend Steven Spielberg (71) invites you to an interesting genre mix of the future world and the retro festival. "Ready Player One", the movie adaptation of the eponymous bestseller by author Ernest Cline, addresses the youth of today and those of the 1980s, as does his template. What made the novel a worldwide success and why, in addition to all the adulation, there were also critical voices, that can be read here (without spoilers).

Forward to the past

For quite a while before series such as "Stranger Things" or films of the brand "Es" revived the 1980s, writer Cline has perfectly met today's nostalgic zeitgeist with his novel "Ready Player One". Although his book is set in a not-so-far-away and dystopian future, it unabashedly celebrates the pop culture of the 1980s.



Precisely for this reason, the novel, which picked up an equally young audience with its computer game theme and the youthful protagonists, was also well received by older students. Whether "Ghostbusters", "Blade Runner", "Back to the Future" or "Ferris makes blue" - quasi every strip from the shoulder pad and Vokuhila decade is quoted. Not to mention computer games.

But it was also declared by some critics as a nostalgia overkill, which spreads the retro charm on more than 500 pages with the always same sleight of hand tricks. Sci-fi writer John Scalzi rightly described "Ready Player One" as "Nerdgasm" - a word that can be read either positively or negatively, perfectly symbolizing Cline's novel.



The author in his own book

But you have to credit Cline with having skillfully interwoven his own love of the 1980s into the storyline of the book. She is represented in the person of the genius James Halliday, who invented in it the virtual world OASIS. Most people flee the barren reality of "Ready Player One" to adventure in Virtual Reality. When Halliday dies, the self-confessed Nerd invites by will to a recent major scavenger hunt by OASIS: Who solves all hidden puzzles and tasks, will become the new ruler of the virtual world.

And because Halliday was once himself a child of the 1980s, his puzzles without exception have to do with this epoch. The prospect of infinite wealth, therefore, has led reasonably to a cult around this decade; Every lucky knight in the OASIS has literally raced them.



So if you want to quickly read the novel before going to the cinema, you can look forward to fun-written entertainment, in which the pages turn almost by itself. Just as entertaining is Spielberg's interpretation of the book, David Cronenberg's "eXistenZ" in youth-friendly and with a sheer infinite number of 1980 references.

READY PLAYER ONE - Dreamer Trailer [HD] (July 2020).



Ready Player One, Steven Spielberg, Ernest Cline

Ready Player One: C'est le best-seller derrière le film

À partir du 5 avril, Steven Spielberg (71), légende du réalisateur, vous invite à un mélange de genre intéressant entre le monde futur et le festival rétro. "Ready Player One", l'adaptation cinématographique du best-seller éponyme de l'auteur Ernest Cline, s'adresse à la jeunesse d'aujourd'hui et à celle des années 1980, à l'instar de son modèle. Ce qui a fait le roman d’un succès mondial et pourquoi, en plus de toute cette adulation, il y avait aussi des voix critiques, qui peuvent être lues ici (sans spoilers).

Transmettre au passé

Bien avant que des séries telles que "Stranger Things" ou des films de la marque "Es" ne renaissent dans les années 1980, l'écrivain Cline a parfaitement rencontré la tendance nostalgique d'aujourd'hui avec son roman "Ready Player One". Bien que son livre se situe dans un avenir pas si lointain et dystopique, il célèbre sans vergogne la culture pop des années 1980.



C’est précisément pour cette raison que le roman, qui a attiré un public tout aussi jeune avec son thème de jeu vidéo et les jeunes protagonistes, a également été bien accueilli par les étudiants plus âgés. Que ce soit "Ghostbusters", "Blade Runner", "Back to the Future" ou "Ferris making blue" - presque toutes les bandes de l'épaule et de la décennie Vokuhila sont citées. Sans parler des jeux informatiques.

Mais certains critiques l'ont aussi qualifié de surmenage nostalgique pour cette raison, qui surpasse le charme rétro sur plus de 500 pages avec des tours toujours identiques. L’écrivain de science-fiction John Scalzi a décrit à juste titre "Ready Player One" comme "Nerdgasm" - un mot qui peut être lu de manière positive ou négative, symbolisant parfaitement le roman de Cline.



L'auteur dans son propre livre

Mais vous devez reconnaître que Cline a habilement mêlé son propre amour des années 1980 au scénario du livre. Elle est représentée en la personne du génie James Halliday, qui a inventé le monde virtuel OASIS. La plupart des gens fuient la dure réalité de "Ready Player One" pour se lancer dans l'aventure en réalité virtuelle. À la mort de Halliday, Nerd, qui se confie à lui-même, invite volontiers à une récente chasse au trésor d’OASIS: celui qui résout tous les casse-tête et tâches cachés deviendra le nouveau souverain du monde virtuel.

Et parce que Halliday était lui-même un enfant des années 1980, ses énigmes, sans exception, ont à voir avec cette époque. La perspective d'une richesse infinie a donc conduit raisonnablement à un culte autour de cette décennie; Tous les chevaliers chanceux de l'OASIS les ont littéralement affrontés.



Donc, si vous voulez lire rapidement le roman avant d'aller au cinéma, vous pouvez vous attendre à un divertissement amusant, dans lequel les pages tournent presque toutes seules. L’interprétation du livre donnée par Spielberg est tout aussi divertissante que le "eXistenZ" de David Cronenberg, conçu pour les jeunes et comportant un nombre infini de références en 1980.

We Sold Everything & Left ♥ Boho Diaries | Ep 1. Goodbye Toronto (Septembre 2020).



Prêt joueur 1, Steven Spielberg, Ernest Cline