This woman celebrated a farewell party for her breasts


Claira Hermet was just nine years old when her mother died of breast cancer. Three years ago, the 27-year-old Briton lost her older sister - she also had breast cancer and was only 31 years old. Shortly thereafter, Claira took a heart, overcame her fear and opted for a bilateral preventive mastectomy, because she also carries a mutation of the gene BRCA 1 in itself. This change in genetic material increases the risk of breast cancer by up to 85 percent. Removing the mammary gland reduces the risk to about four percent.

The road to that brave decision had not been any easier, the radio and TV presenter told The Daily Mail, "When I learned that I had the BRCA gene in me, it felt like somebody in I hit the stomach on the way from the hospital to the subway. " Although she had already known at that moment that she would have the surgery done - but she was only 19 years old then. "I was scared, I wanted to wait until I was in a stable relationship with a man who loves me for my own sake." Only years later did she realize that her breasts did not define her and that a man would not leave her for that.



"My mother's death has haunted me from childhood to young adulthood, but after the death of my sister, I realized that I have no right to feel miserable and to bath in self-pity - for I have my life ahead of me "Claira writes on her website. "After setting the date for surgery, I felt strengthened," she says.

This strength took advantage of her. She was looking for ways to make the most of the challenge - and decided to organize a photo shoot and a farewell party for her breasts. Said, done: A few days ago, she celebrated with friends a lavish party, cup cakes and baseball cap in bust form included.



Claira and her "Goodbye Boobs Party" gift

View this post on Instagram

Obligatory DOUBLE D DAY selfie # BRCA #BreastSurgery #Boobs

A post shared by Claira Hermet (@missclairahermet) on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:22 pm PST

Claira wants to reach as many people as possible with her story, so that she, too, "can overcome her fears and feel strengthened, confident and self-determined," as she writes in a blog entry for the BBC. She also uses YouTube for this. One of the most popular clips on her channel is "Boobs Are Good" - a video that she recorded before her surgery, with a wink telling why she loves her breasts:

"I did not choose my life circumstances, but I believe they were meant for me, I think I have to make the most of it and I hope to radiate love, positivity and peace," Claira writes on her website. The day of her surgery - which she christened "Double D Day" in reference to her cup size - has meanwhile come to an end - on January 21, her mammary glands were removed and she's fine, she writes on Twitter. "I still have my own nipples! "- and a smile on his face.



Via Twitter, Claira talks about her everyday life

Tweets from @ClairaHermet

A Farewell Party for a Woman’s Breasts? (July 2020).



Breast cancer, BBC, mastectomy, farewell party, breasts, breast cancer, claira hermet

Cette femme a célébré une fête d'adieu pour ses seins

Claira Hermet n'avait que neuf ans lorsque sa mère est décédée d'un cancer du sein. Il y a trois ans, la Britannique, âgée de 27 ans, a perdu sa sœur aînée. Elle avait également un cancer du sein et n'avait que 31 ans. Peu de temps après, Claira a pris un cœur, a surmonté sa peur et a opté pour une mastectomie préventive bilatérale, car elle porte également une mutation du gène BRCA 1 en soi. Ce changement de matériel génétique augmente le risque de cancer du sein de près de 85%. Le retrait de la glande mammaire réduit le risque à environ quatre pour cent.

La voie vers cette décision courageuse n’avait pas été plus facile, a déclaré le présentateur de radio et de télévision au Daily Mail: "Quand j’ai appris que j’avais le gène BRCA en moi, c’était comme si quelqu'un Je me suis heurté le ventre entre l'hôpital et le métro. " Elle savait déjà à ce moment-là qu'elle se ferait opérer, mais elle n'avait alors que 19 ans. "J'avais peur, je voulais attendre d'avoir une relation stable avec un homme qui m'aime pour moi-même." Quelques années plus tard seulement, elle réalisa que ses seins ne la définissaient pas et qu'un homme ne la quitterait pas pour cela.

"La mort de ma mère m'a hanté depuis mon enfance jusqu'au début de l'âge adulte, mais après la mort de ma sœur, j'ai réalisé que je n'avais pas le droit de me sentir malheureuse et de prendre un bain de pitié de soi-même, car j'ai la vie devant moi "Claira écrit sur son site internet. "Après avoir fixé la date de l'opération, je me suis sentie renforcée", dit-elle.

Cette force a profité d'elle. Elle cherchait des moyens de tirer le meilleur parti du défi - et a décidé d'organiser une séance photo et une fête d'adieu pour ses seins. Fait, dit: Il y a quelques jours, elle a célébré avec des amis une fête somptueuse, une coupe de gâteaux et une casquette de baseball en buste inclus.

Claira et son cadeau "Goodbye Boobs Party"

Voir ce post sur Instagram

DOUBLE D DAY selfie obligatoire # BRCA #Chirurgie du sein #Boobs

Un message partagé par Claira Hermet (@missclairahermet) le 20 janvier 2015 à 22h22 PST

Claira souhaite toucher son histoire avec le plus grand nombre de personnes possible, afin qu'elle "puisse surmonter ses craintes et se sentir renforcée, confiante et autodéterminée", écrit-elle dans un billet de blog pour la BBC. Elle utilise également YouTube pour cela. L'un des clips les plus populaires de sa chaîne est "Boobs Are Good" - une vidéo qu'elle a enregistrée avant son opération, avec un clin d'oeil expliquant pourquoi elle aime ses seins:

"Je n'ai pas choisi mes circonstances de la vie, mais je crois qu'elles étaient faites pour moi, je pense que je dois en tirer le meilleur parti et j'espère rayonner d'amour, de positivité et de paix", écrit Claira sur son site web. Le jour de son opération - qu'elle a baptisée "Double D Day" en référence à la taille de son bonnet - est sur le point de se terminer - le 21 janvier, ses glandes mammaires ont été retirées et elle va bien, écrit-elle sur Twitter. "J'ai encore mes propres mamelons! "- et un sourire sur son visage.

Via Twitter, Claira parle de son quotidien

Tweets de @ClairaHermet

Amel Bent - Où je vais (Clip officiel) (Décembre 2019).


Cancer du sein, BBC, mastectomie, fête d'adieu, seins, cancer du sein, Claira Hermet