Where gladioli and water-mint grow


You are sitting in the middle of thyme! " Startled, Melanie scrambled to her feet, a piece of cheese in one hand and a mug of wine in the other hand. We, ten women from Germany between the ages of 20 and 60 and Marinella Klug, our "herbalist", are taking a picnic break between ancient olive trees. Soft hills as far as the eye can see, birds singing from all sides and this sweet scent of the Robinien along the way - pure romance, so no reason to abuse the thyme so much. After all, it not only tastes delicious in the pasta sauce, but as a tea is also a medicine for bronchitis and colds, as Marinella explains.

Blossom from the meadow goat beard



A week long We want to hike through the mountains of their Ligurian homeland with the hearty, down-to-earth Italian, gather herbs and cook together - after all, the traditional dishes of this region are regarded as highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine. The 54-year-old grew up in the picture-book village of Apricale, where we are also staying in apartments this week. Even as a child she collected wild and medicinal plants like other Playmobil figures; Marinella learned languages ​​as an au pair in England, Germany and France, cooking at work in international restaurants. "I've learned most of what I know," Marinella says cheerfully; She only studied phyto- and aromatherapy at the Heilpraktikerschule and the Kurator-Institut in southern Germany. In Stade, where she has been living with her family for nearly twelve years, she also teaches languages, cooking and herbal courses, lectures or organizes trips to her homeland.



Mariella knows every herb

She once had love to Germany, her "passion" is still Liguria. After a picnic, we walk along a small river in a single file, Marinella always walking in walking boots to the long black skirt, and then on small paths steadily upwards to her rustico, her mountain lodge. Again and again she stops and explains us what is growing along the way, she knows the names in German, Italian and Latin and every herb has a little story: Frauenfarm, for example, is fabulously suitable for the production of hair conditioners; Mint (Calamintha) promotes romantic love, Ingrassa Porco, however, much more handfesteres, as the German name clearly says: "pork loin maker" is the name of the herb. None among us who stealthily stowed a few stalks Calamintha in her backpack; In addition, the most beautiful bouquets of thyme, mint and sage, lemon balm and garlic mace, rosemary and wild fennel are gradually being added.



"Pig fattening"

In the brick oven of Rusticos A fire is already burning as we set out after a siesta to process our yield. In the small dark kitchen Marinella prepares yeast and short crust pastry with Hilde and Christina. Scarlett reaps amused looks as she cuts the anchovies for the tomato sauce with a knife and fork, so that her fingers just do not smell like fish; Outside in the sun, the rest of the troop is gathering huge quantities of herbs for the Torta Verde, an appetizer made of vegetables, herbs and eggs, covered with shortcrust pastry, plucked and chopped. The dip in focaccia, the "oil bread", includes thyme, wild fennel, pimpinelle and rosemary; in the savory tomato sauce, the most important thing about the Ligurian pizza, in addition Scarlet's anchovy quantities of oregano. By the way, Marinella also explains how we can make herbal creams and tinctures, for example a medicine for stomach problems: pluck wormwood or yarrow, chop them and put them in a glass. Fill up with vodka, grain or grappa and let it rest for about three weeks. Then filter and fill in small dark bottles with a pipette. Also helps if you ate too much pizza and focaccia.

Refreshing watermelon

The next day picks up a young woman with the minibus in the piazza of Apricale. We drive north, in tight turns up the mountain to Triora, in the "witch village" in the Argentinatalatal. Soon there will be no more silver olive groves outside, but we will see medlar trees and figs, holm oaks and chestnuts, tree berries with beautiful white flowers, pinkish rock roses and blue rattle flowers, even bluer than the sky above us. What a contrast then to Triora: dark streets and vaults and an ancient-looking smoke smell in the air. Although the medieval village is considered a gem of art history, but causes in most of us violent oppression. During the Inquisition, a group of women were blamed for famine, declared witches, imprisoned, tortured and burned.I almost feel their fear and their pain, and the others are happy when we finally step out of the narrow streets in the sun again. More interesting than the Witch Museum and various souvenirs we find the three panels at Bottega delle Streghe, a little house outside the village, where the witches allegedly met with the devil. Among other things, it explains what these "witches" really were - wise women who made remedies with herbs.

Wild gladiolus

Before we last night cook a big farewell dinner, there is another trip to the city. Fridays is big market in Ventimiglia - last chance to buy souvenirs and presents. But before we throw ourselves into piles of fashionable leather bags, rummage in the mountains of cloths and underwear and try summer dresses en masse, we focus our attention on vegetables. We buy green and purple asparagus, aubergines and lettuce, and tons of apricots, strawberries and cherries disappear into our pockets and stomachs. Then, together with Marinella, we go to the fish market, where, after much scrutiny and negotiation, she buys Merlano, small Mediterranean fish about the size of our herring, but fortunately almost no bones. Filled with sage, rosemary or thyme, turned into flour and then fried in olive oil in a large pan, they are the main course of our menu. The credo of Marinellas, a convinced follower of the Slow Food movement, proves once again to be correct: "creative cooking, eating together and above all enjoying are among the most beautiful things in life!" The hustle and bustle of the "Riviera of Flowers", as we saw on the way home from Triora, does not miss us up here in seclusion - already one week Apricale has become "our" village. The departure is very difficult, but I take with me a lot: the memory of our baseless laugh, for example, when Marinella could only climb the mountain backwards, because she had such calf cramps. The revived experience of how nice it is to be on foot and constantly having intense odors in your nose. And, not to forget, the Posy Calamintha.

To the recipes:

Hefefladen mit Kräutern (Focaccia) Ligurian Pizza (Sardeneira)

tip

If you prefer the north, you can also look for wild herbs near the Baltic Sea. Krämergarten Pommerland offers herbal courses for women in the Lassaner Winkel in front of the Usedom peninsula. Information: www.kraeutergarten-pommerland.de or Tel. 03 83 74/806 49. E-Mail: [email protected]

You can find further information about this and other trips with Marinella Klug (culture, languages, music) at www.incammino.de or Tel. 041 41/92 16 55. E-Mail: [email protected]

How To Grow Gladiolus/Gladioli From Bulbs (July 2020).



Liguria, Germany, England, France, southern Germany, wild herbs

Où poussent les glaïeuls et la menthe

Tu es assis au milieu du thym! " Surprise, Mélanie se leva brusquement, un morceau de fromage dans une main et une tasse de vin dans l'autre. Nous, dix femmes allemandes âgées de 20 à 60 ans, et Marinella Klug, notre "herboriste", prenons une pause pique-nique entre d’anciens oliviers. De douces collines à perte de vue, des oiseaux qui chantent de tous les côtés et ce doux parfum de Robinien qui se trouve sur son chemin - une pure romance, aucune raison d’abuser autant du thym. Après tout, non seulement il a un goût délicieux dans la sauce pour pâtes, mais en tant que thé, il est également un médicament contre la bronchite et le rhume, comme l'explique Marinella.

Fleur de la barbe de chèvre de prairie



Pour une semaine Nous voulons partir en randonnée dans les montagnes de leur patrie ligure avec un italien chaleureux et réaliste, cueillir des herbes et cuisiner ensemble. Après tout, les plats traditionnels de cette région sont considérés comme des points forts de la cuisine méditerranéenne. Le jeune homme de 54 ans a grandi dans le village de livres d'images d'Apricale, où nous logerons également dans des appartements cette semaine. Même enfant, elle cueillait des plantes sauvages et médicinales comme d’autres figurines Playmobil; Marinella a appris les langues comme fille au pair en Angleterre, en Allemagne et en France, en cuisinant au travail dans des restaurants internationaux. "J'ai appris la plupart de ce que je sais", dit joyeusement Marinella; Elle n'a étudié que la phytothérapie et l'aromathérapie à la Heilpraktikerschule et au Kurator-Institut, dans le sud de l'Allemagne. À Stade, où elle vit avec sa famille depuis près de douze ans, elle enseigne également les langues, la cuisine et des cours à base de plantes, donne des conférences ou organise des voyages dans son pays natal.



Mariella connaît chaque plante

Elle a eu une fois l'amour en Allemagne, sa "passion" est toujours la Ligurie. Après un pique-nique, nous longeons une petite rivière le long d’une petite rivière. Marinella marchait toujours, chaussée de bottes jusqu’à la longue jupe noire, puis empruntait de petits sentiers qui montaient régulièrement jusqu’à son rustico, son pavillon de montagne. Encore et encore, elle s’arrête et nous explique ce qui pousse en chemin, elle connaît les noms en allemand, italien et latin et chaque plante a une petite histoire: Frauenfarm, par exemple, est fabuleusement adapté à la production de revitalisants capillaires; La menthe (Calamintha) promeut l’amour romantique, Ingrassa Porco, cependant, beaucoup plus à la main, comme l’indique clairement le nom allemand: "longe de porc" est le nom de la plante. Aucun d'entre nous qui a furtivement rangé quelques tiges de Calamintha dans son sac à dos; De plus, les plus beaux bouquets de thym, de menthe et de sauge, de mélisse et de macis à l'ail, de romarin et de fenouil sauvage sont progressivement ajoutés.



« Porcherie »

Au four à briques de Rusticos Un feu brûle déjà alors que nous partons après une sieste pour traiter notre rendement. Dans la petite cuisine sombre, Marinella prépare la levure et la pâte brisée avec Hilde et Christina. Scarlett récolte des regards amusés en coupant les anchois pour la sauce tomate avec un couteau et une fourchette, de sorte que ses doigts ne sentent tout simplement pas le poisson; Dehors, au soleil, le reste de la troupe rassemble d’énormes quantités d’herbes pour la Torta Verde, un apéritif à base de légumes, herbes et œufs recouvert de pâte sablée cueillie et hachée. La trempette dans la focaccia, le "pain à l'huile", comprend du thym, du fenouil sauvage, de la pimpinelle et du romarin; dans la sauce tomate savoureuse, la chose la plus importante de la pizza ligure, en plus des quantités d'anchois de Scarlet d'origan. À propos, Marinella explique également comment nous pouvons fabriquer des crèmes et des teintures à base de plantes, par exemple un médicament pour les problèmes d'estomac: cueillez l'absinthe ou l'achillée millefeuille, hachez-les et mettez-les dans un verre. Remplissez-vous de vodka, de céréales ou de grappa et laissez reposer pendant environ trois semaines. Puis filtrez et remplissez les petites bouteilles sombres avec une pipette. Cela aide également si vous avez mangé trop de pizza et de focaccia.

Pastèque rafraîchissante

Le lendemain ramasse une jeune femme avec le minibus sur la place d'Apricale. Nous roulons vers le nord, dans des virages serrés vers Triora, dans le "village des sorcières" de l'Argentinatal. Bientôt, il n’y aura plus d’oliviers argentés à l’extérieur, mais nous verrons des néfliers et des figues, des chênes verts et des châtaigniers, des baies arborant de belles fleurs blanches, des rosiers roses et des fleurs de hochet bleu, encore plus bleu que le ciel au-dessus de nous. Quel contraste puis à Triora: rues et voûtes sombres et une odeur de fumée à l’ancienne. Bien que le village médiéval soit considéré comme un joyau de l’histoire de l’art, il provoque dans la plupart d’entre nous une oppression violente. Au cours de l'Inquisition, un groupe de femmes ont été accusées de famine, ont déclaré des sorcières, ont été emprisonnées, torturées et brûlées.Je ressens presque leur peur et leur douleur, et les autres sont heureux quand nous sortons enfin des rues étroites au soleil. Plus intéressant que le musée de la sorcière et divers souvenirs, nous trouvons les trois panneaux de Bottega delle Streghe, une petite maison en dehors du village, où les sorcières auraient rencontré le diable. Entre autres choses, il explique ce qu'étaient réellement ces "sorcières" - des femmes sages qui fabriquaient des remèdes à base d'herbes.

Glaïeul sauvage

Avant nous la nuit dernière cuisiner un grand dîner d'adieu, il y a un autre voyage à la ville. Le vendredi est le grand marché de Vintimille - dernière chance d’acheter des souvenirs et des cadeaux. Mais avant de nous jeter dans des piles de sacs en cuir à la mode, de fouiller dans les montagnes de vêtements et de sous-vêtements et d’essayer en masse les robes d’été, nous concentrons notre attention sur les légumes. Nous achetons des asperges vertes et violettes, des aubergines et de la laitue, ainsi que des tonnes d'abricots, de fraises et de cerises qui disparaissent dans nos poches et notre estomac. Ensuite, avec Marinella, nous allons au marché aux poissons où, après mûre réflexion et négociation, elle achète à Merlano, un petit poisson méditerranéen de la taille de notre hareng, mais heureusement, il n’ya presque pas d’os. Remplies de sauge, de romarin ou de thym, transformées en farine puis frites à l'huile d'olive dans une grande casserole, elles constituent le plat principal de notre menu. Le credo de Marinellas, adepte convaincue du mouvement Slow Food, prouve une fois de plus son exactitude: "la cuisine créative, manger ensemble et, avant tout, savourer sont parmi les plus belles choses de la vie!" L'agitation de la "Riviera des Fleurs", comme nous l'avons vu en rentrant chez nous après Triora, ne nous manque pas ici dans la solitude - une semaine déjà, Apricale est devenue "notre" village. Le départ est très difficile, mais je prends beaucoup avec moi: le souvenir de notre rire sans fondement, par exemple, lorsque Marinella ne pouvait que gravir la montagne en arrière, car elle avait de tels crampes. L’expérience renouvelée de la beauté de la marche à pied et des odeurs intenses dans le nez. Et, pour ne pas oublier, le Posy Calamintha.

Aux recettes:

Hefefladen mit Kräutern (Focaccia) Pizza ligure (Sardeneira)

allusion

Si vous préférez le nord, vous pouvez également rechercher des herbes sauvages près de la mer Baltique. Le Krämergarten Pommerland propose des cours aux herbes pour les femmes dans le Lassaner Winkel, en face de la péninsule d'Usedom. Informations: www.kraeutergarten-pommerland.de ou téléphone 03 83 74/806 49. E-Mail: [email protected]

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur ce voyage et sur d’autres voyages avec Marinella Klug (culture, langues, musique) sur le site www.incammino.de ou par téléphone au 041 41/92 16 55. E-mail: [email protected]

Comment bien planter des graines en pot (Janvier 2020).



Ligurie, Allemagne, Angleterre, France, Allemagne du Sud, herbes sauvages