3,000 baby carriers for Syrian mothers


Every day, boats with Syrian refugees land on Greek beaches. On board are often mothers with their babies. As soon as they have survived the journey across the water, the dangerous journey continues, long stretches on foot. Their babies have to carry their mothers and fathers in their arms all the time, in addition to their small luggage.

These are pictures that immediately appeal to every mother. Because they all know how burdensome a long walk with baby can be. How hard does it take to get away for days at risk of mortal danger?

Cristal Logothetis, a mother and blogger from California, could not shake off this idea. Her idea: to donate baby carriers that make travel easier for parents. Because the straps are light, protect the body of the child and the wearer, you have your arms free for other things - and the child still feels secure.

Together with relatives living in Greece, she started a donation call. If you want to help, you can donate both money and used baby carriers, which are sent to the volunteers in Greece and distributed directly to the refugees on the Greek island of Kos.

Initiatives such as "Kos Kindness" or "Urban BabyWearer", which already distributes aid on the ground, have confirmed to Cristal how urgently the baby carriers are needed. The happy face of this woman speaks volumes.



Almost $ 30,000 has been donated so far

The idea arrives: Cristal's goal was 100 baby carriers and 2500 dollars. Her appeal was that she could now distribute 3,000 baby carriers and get nearly $ 30,000 in donations.

In an update, Cristal Logothetis thanks all donors and announces that the aid will now be extended to the island of Lesbos and Athens. "We will definitely focus on Greece because most Syrians are starting their journey to Europe there," says Cristal.

Cristal also plans to travel to Kos with a team of volunteers to coordinate the assistance. "Our strategy is simple: we go to the beaches every morning at 5 o'clock and hand over the carriers as soon as the boats arrive," explains Cristal. Then the work continues in the camps.

Since the refugees are under time pressure upon arrival, Cristal's team recommends donating baby wears rather than diaper wraps because they are easier to explain.

On her blog mamabebeblog.com and her Facebook page, Cristal regularly reports on the status of the campaign.



Also uses the baby carrier privately: Mama blogger Cristal Logothetis

You want to help too?

Donations are still welcome. We asked Cristal how to send baby carriers from Germany directly to Greece without going through the US. As soon as we have an answer, we will publish it here!

Nonprofit Lightens Load For Syrian Refugees With Baby Carriers (July 2020).



Greece, California, Refugees, Baby Carrying, Baby Carrier, Mothers, Help, Greece, Syria

3000 porte-bébés pour les mères syriennes

Chaque jour, des bateaux avec des réfugiés syriens débarquent sur les plages grecques. À bord se trouvent souvent des mères avec leurs bébés. Dès qu'ils ont survécu à la traversée de l'eau, le dangereux voyage continue, de longues distances à pied. Leurs bébés doivent toujours porter leur mère et leur père dans leurs bras, en plus de leurs petits bagages.

Ce sont des images qui plaisent immédiatement à chaque mère. Parce qu'ils savent tous à quel point une longue promenade avec bébé peut être fastidieuse. Combien de temps cela prend-il pour s’échapper pendant des jours au risque de mortel?

Cristal Logothetis, une mère et une blogueuse californienne, ne pouvait se défaire de cette idée. Son idée: donner des porte-bébés qui facilitent les déplacements des parents. Parce que les sangles sont légères, protégez le corps de l'enfant et du porteur, vos bras sont libres, entre autres choses - et l'enfant se sent toujours en sécurité.

Avec des parents vivant en Grèce, elle a lancé un appel de dons. Si vous voulez aider, vous pouvez donner de l'argent et des porte-bébés usagés, qui sont envoyés aux volontaires en Grèce et distribués directement aux réfugiés de l'île grecque de Kos.

Des initiatives telles que "Kos Kindness" ou "Urban BabyWearer", qui distribue déjà de l'aide sur le terrain, ont confirmé à Cristal à quel point il était urgent de disposer d'un porte-bébé. Le visage heureux de cette femme en dit long.

Près de 30 000 $ ont été donnés jusqu'à présent

L'idée vient: l'objectif de Cristal était de 100 porte-bébés et 2 500 dollars. Son appel était qu'elle pouvait maintenant distribuer 3 000 porte-bébés et recevoir près de 30 000 dollars en dons.

Dans une mise à jour, Cristal Logothetis remercie tous les donateurs et annonce que l’aide sera désormais étendue à l’île de Lesbos et à Athènes. "Nous allons certainement nous concentrer sur la Grèce car la plupart des Syriens commencent leur voyage vers l'Europe", a déclaré Cristal.

Cristal prévoit également de se rendre à Kos avec une équipe de volontaires pour coordonner l’assistance. "Notre stratégie est simple: nous allons aux plages tous les matins à 17 heures et remettons les porte-avions dès que les bateaux arrivent", explique Cristal. Ensuite, le travail continue dans les camps.

Comme les réfugiés sont pressés par le temps à leur arrivée, l'équipe de Cristal recommande de faire un don de vêtements de bébé plutôt que d'enveloppes-couches, car ils sont plus faciles à expliquer.

Sur son blog mamabebeblog.com et sa page Facebook, Cristal rend compte régulièrement de l'état de la campagne.

Utilise également le porte-bébé à titre privé: Cristal Logothetis, une blogueuse maman

Vous voulez aider aussi?

Les dons sont toujours les bienvenus. Nous avons demandé à Cristal comment envoyer des porte-bébés d’Allemagne directement en Grèce sans passer par les États-Unis. Dès que nous aurons une réponse, nous la publierons ici!

Des enfants en cage pour frapper les esprits en Syrie et immersion avec les "fouilleurs" de Côte... (Septembre 2019).


Grèce, Californie, Réfugiés, Porte-bébé, Porte-bébé, Mères, Aide, Grèce, Syrie