Breast cancer: The most common cancer in women


Breast cancer - what is it?

Breast cancer - doctors speak of breast cancer - is a malignant tumor in the mammary gland. Breast cancer is by far the most common cancer among women: according to the Robert Koch Institute, more than 55,000 women in Germany suffer from it each year, almost every second one of them is less than 60 years old. Five years after the treatment, four out of five patients are still alive.

Who gets breast cancer?

Physicians assume that breast cancer is caused by a combination of genetic predisposition, lifestyle and environmental influences. Four to nine percent of all breast cancer cases are hereditary: The doctors now know six breast cancer genes. However, their presence does not always lead to breast cancer. However, if close relatives suffer from breast cancer, one can assume an increased risk.

The female sex hormones estrogen and progestin play an important role in the development of breast cancer. Therefore, hormone replacement therapy, as it is sometimes prescribed for menopausal symptoms, increases the risk of getting breast cancer: it can cause undetected breast cancer cells to grow.

When women drink excessively or are overweight, estrogen levels in the blood and thus the risk of breast cancer increase. Smokers are more likely to develop breast cancer than non-smokers. Women who had their first rule early and entered menopause late are more likely to develop breast cancer. Likewise, childless women are slightly more at risk than women who have already had multiple children. At risk are also women with nodular changes in the chest (mastopathy).



Which complaints should make me sit up?

Breast cancer is not felt for a long time. Mostly he notices a woman only when a knot has already formed in the chest. In addition, there may also be changes in the breast. When the breast becomes hard, tense, itching or squeezing, the skin becomes inflamed, the nipple changes shape or fluid leaks, these are signs that indicate breast cancer.

How does the doctor determine if I am affected?

Often, the doctor diagnoses breast cancer during palpation, which involves scanning the chest, lymph nodes in the armpits, and above the collarbone. Suspected breast cancer is followed by a mammogram, in which the breast is transilluminated with low-dose X-rays. Ultrasound can be used to determine if the lumps are tissue or cysts filled with fluid.

To determine whether a nodule is benign or malignant, the doctor uses a punch needle to take a tissue sample that is examined under the microscope. In addition, different statements about the tumor can be made: If its cells have receptors for estrogen and progesterone, hormone therapy is an option. If the body's own protein HER2 is present in the tumor, its growth can be inhibited with the cancer drug Herceptin.



How can you treat breast cancer?

To get rid of breast cancer, surgery usually needs to be done. In 70 percent of cases, a breast conserving surgery is possible today. Usually, the lymph nodes are removed under the armpit. If the tumors are already larger than three centimeters, the patient will receive chemotherapy before surgery to reduce the size of the tumors. Radiation therapy is essential after a breast conserving surgery: this way, all cancer cells that may not have been excised are killed. Sometimes, however, a better aesthetic result is achieved if the breast is first amputated and later rebuilt.

There are also several cases in which a mastectomy, also called ablation or masectomy, is inevitable, such as in larger tumors, when the cancer has spread far into the milk ducts or has a connection to the nipple. After amputation, the breast is rebuilt, either with the body's own tissue or an implant.

Radiation therapy is used only in exceptional cases as the only treatment, for example, if a woman does not want surgery. Irradiation is obligatory after breast conserving surgery, but not necessary after amputation. It usually begins six to eight weeks after surgery, unless it is followed by chemotherapy.

After surgery, it can also be followed by outpatient chemotherapy, which lasts about half a year. The patient receives by infusion a series of drugs called cytotoxic drugs. There is a break of several weeks between treatment cycles so that the body can recover from the therapy. Chemotherapy today is much better tolerated than it used to be, but there are still side effects such as nausea, diarrhea and vomiting.In addition, fall out of most women's hair. Chemotherapy also helps alleviate discomfort when the cancer is already well advanced and therefore incurable.

Some tumor cells have receptors for the female sex hormones estrogen and progestin. In this case, hormone therapy is possible. There are several possibilities: Anti-estrogens occupy the receptors on the tumor cells so that the estrogen can not dock. Bleeding may occur during treatment and the risk of thrombosis increases. Aromatase inhibitors prevent estrogen from being released; as a side effect they can cause muscle and joint complaints.

Other forms of treatment start directly on the ovaries: it is possible to surgically remove the ovaries or switch them off by radiation treatment. If a woman wants to have children later, using GnRH analogues can temporarily prevent the ovaries from producing estrogen. All of these measures put the woman in a state similar to menopause.

If the protein HER2 is present in the tumor, you can slow down its growth with antibody therapy. Here, the cancer drug Herceptin is used, which has been approved for therapy since the summer of 2006.



Are there any gentle healing methods?

Breast cancer is a dangerous disease that needs to be treated by primary care physicians. Alternative therapies can help to improve women's health during therapy. Relaxation exercises such as autogenic training or yoga help in situations of exhaustion, acupuncture can relieve nausea and pain. Patients should always talk to their doctor before using alternative therapies in addition to their therapy.

For many alternative healing methods, it has not been scientifically proven that they really work, warns the cancer information service of the German Cancer Research Center. Also often lack information about possible side effects and interactions with conventional medicine. Because that supposedly "gentle" means with natural active ingredients are generally harmless, is a mistake.

In addition, Krebs attracts many business people, who use the despair of the patients to pull the money out of their pockets. As a precaution, the Cancer Information Service advises above all:

  • if the provider forbids the patient to consult with his school medical doctor about the alternative therapy.
  • if the provider advises to cancel the conventional medical therapy.
  • If the vendor promises his cure will help against all types of cancer and cancer at all stages.
  • if the provider requires payment in advance.
  • if the provider is located abroad and / or the funds can only be ordered via the Internet.

Nutrition does not affect cancer. Cancer diets and fasting that are supposed to starve the tumor can even be dangerous: they often ban energy and vitamin supplements, which would be important for patients in the course of exhausting cancer therapy.

The most well-known alternative cure for cancer is mistletoe therapy, which has its origins in anthroposophical teaching. Widely unknown outside the German-speaking world, it is widespread in Germany. In many cases, the health insurance companies pay for the treatment. Here, mistletoe extract available over the counter is injected under the skin. The manufacturers of mistletoe preparations promise a variety of effects: The means should increase appetite, relieve pain, make more resistant to infections, improve mood and well-being.

Many women are convinced that mistletoe helps them to feel better. To date, however, experts are not in agreement whether mistletoe preparations actually improve the state of health or even tumors can slow down or cure, as has been claimed on several occasions. The current scientific studies on mistletoe therapy are of little value, although there is evidence that it improves the well-being of breast cancer patients during chemotherapy. But there are no reliable studies on the side effects of mistletoe - the manufacturers of the preparations make various statements, such as fever, chills or allergic reactions.

More scientific information on alternative cancer treatments can be found on the cancer information service website.

In conventional cancer therapy, sometimes drastic side effects can not be prevented: Chemotherapy, for example, causes hair to fall out, radiation irritates the skin, and hormone therapy triggers hot flashes. Here, the Cancer Information Service has compiled extensive information on how to treat side effects such as these - in a gentle and orthodox way.

How can I protect myself?

A healthy lifestyle significantly reduces the risk of breast cancer, so women should drink less alcohol, pay attention to their weight, and exercise regularly. In certain circumstances, hormone replacement therapy for menopausal symptoms may increase breast cancer risk. Women with a familial risk should therefore avoid this treatment.

Although early detection can not prevent breast cancer, it helps to detect and treat it in good time. Every woman should periodically scan her breast. The best time for this is between the seventh and twelfth day after the start of the menstrual period. On the occasion you should also check in the mirror, if the appearance of the breast has changed. For women over 30 pay the health insurance once a year a palpation examination at the gynecologist.

Since 2007, there has been a comprehensive mammography screening in Germany for women between the ages of 50 and 69: every two years, women of this age are invited to undergo chest X-rays; the costs for the mammography carry the health insurance. In the US it is being discussed whether healthy women with a family history of increased breast cancer risk should have their breasts amputated as a precautionary measure. This is a drastic step that should only be considered after consultation with the doctor.

Where can I get more information?

The association women self-help after cancer offers the contact to numerous local self-help groups. There you will also find a breast cancer risk check.

On the website of the initiative Mamazone are among other things a comprehensive lexicon and under the point "diagnosis breast cancer" helpful checklists to find.

The Association Breast Cancer Germany provides many brochures on its homepage for download, for example with tips for correct palpation of the breast or against the side effects of chemotherapy.

Breast cancer most common cancer in women (July 2020).



Women's Health, Cancer, Germany, Chemotherapy, RKI, Estrogen, Tumor, Health Encyclopedia, Breast Cancer

Cancer du sein: le cancer le plus répandu chez les femmes

Cancer du sein - qu'est-ce que c'est?

Le cancer du sein - les médecins parlent de cancer du sein - est une tumeur maligne de la glande mammaire. Le cancer du sein est de loin le cancer le plus répandu chez les femmes: selon l'Institut Robert Koch, plus de 55 000 femmes en Allemagne en souffrent chaque année, dont presque toutes les deux ont moins de 60 ans. Cinq ans après le traitement, quatre patients sur cinq sont toujours en vie.

Qui a le cancer du sein?

Les médecins supposent que le cancer du sein est causé par une combinaison de prédispositions génétiques, de modes de vie et d'influences environnementales. Quatre à neuf pour cent des cas de cancer du sein sont héréditaires: les médecins connaissent maintenant six gènes du cancer du sein. Cependant, leur présence ne conduit pas toujours au cancer du sein. Cependant, si des parents proches souffrent d'un cancer du sein, on peut assumer un risque accru.

Les hormones sexuelles féminines œstrogène et progestatif jouent un rôle important dans le développement du cancer du sein. Par conséquent, le traitement hormonal substitutif, comme il est parfois prescrit pour les symptômes de la ménopause, augmente le risque de cancer du sein: il peut provoquer la croissance de cellules du cancer du sein non détectées.

Lorsque les femmes boivent excessivement ou font de l'embonpoint, le taux d'œstrogènes dans le sang augmente donc le risque de cancer du sein. Les fumeurs sont plus susceptibles de développer un cancer du sein que les non-fumeurs. Les femmes qui ont eu leur première règle tôt et sont entrées ménopausées tardivement sont plus susceptibles de développer un cancer du sein. De même, les femmes sans enfants sont légèrement plus à risque que les femmes qui ont déjà eu plusieurs enfants. Les femmes à risque présentent également des modifications thoraciques nodulaires (mastopathie).



Quelles plaintes devraient me faire m'asseoir?

Le cancer du sein ne se fait pas sentir longtemps. Généralement, il ne remarque une femme que lorsqu'un nœud s'est déjà formé dans la poitrine. En outre, il peut aussi y avoir des changements dans la poitrine. Lorsque le sein devient dur, tendu, démangeaisons ou se contracte, la peau s'enflamme, le mamelon change de forme ou des fuites de liquide, ce sont des signes indiquant un cancer du sein.

Comment le médecin détermine-t-il si je suis affecté?

Souvent, le médecin diagnostique un cancer du sein lors de la palpation, ce qui implique un balayage du thorax, des ganglions lymphatiques sous les aisselles et au-dessus de la clavicule. Le cancer du sein présumé est suivi d'une mammographie au cours de laquelle une transillumination du sein est réalisée à l'aide de rayons X à faible dose. Les ultrasons peuvent être utilisés pour déterminer si les masses sont des tissus ou des kystes remplis de liquide.

Pour déterminer si un nodule est bénin ou malin, le médecin utilise une aiguille à punch pour prélever un échantillon de tissu examiné au microscope. En outre, différentes affirmations peuvent être faites sur la tumeur: si ses cellules possèdent des récepteurs aux œstrogènes et à la progestérone, l’hormonothérapie est une option. Si la protéine HER2 du corps est présente dans la tumeur, sa croissance peut être inhibée avec le médicament anticancéreux Herceptin.



Comment pouvez-vous traiter le cancer du sein?

Pour se débarrasser du cancer du sein, il faut généralement subir une intervention chirurgicale. Dans 70% des cas, une chirurgie conservatrice du sein est possible aujourd'hui. Habituellement, les ganglions lymphatiques sont enlevés sous l'aisselle. Si les tumeurs mesurent déjà plus de trois centimètres, le patient recevra une chimiothérapie avant une intervention chirurgicale afin de réduire la taille des tumeurs. La radiothérapie est essentielle après une chirurgie mammaire conservatrice: ainsi, toutes les cellules cancéreuses non excisées sont éliminées. Parfois, cependant, un meilleur résultat esthétique est obtenu si le sein est d'abord amputé puis reconstruit.

Il existe également plusieurs cas dans lesquels une mastectomie, également appelée ablation ou masectomie, est inévitable, par exemple dans les tumeurs plus grosses, lorsque le cancer s'est propagé loin dans les canaux lactifères ou est relié au mamelon. Après l'amputation, le sein est reconstruit, soit avec les propres tissus du corps, soit avec un implant.

La radiothérapie n'est utilisée que dans des cas exceptionnels comme traitement unique, par exemple si une femme ne veut pas être opérée. L'irradiation est obligatoire après une chirurgie conservatrice du sein, mais n'est pas nécessaire après l'amputation. Il commence généralement six à huit semaines après la chirurgie, à moins d'être suivi d'une chimiothérapie.

Après la chirurgie, il peut également être suivi d'une chimiothérapie en consultation externe, qui dure environ six mois. Le patient reçoit par perfusion une série de médicaments appelés médicaments cytotoxiques. Il y a une pause de plusieurs semaines entre les cycles de traitement afin que le corps puisse se remettre de la thérapie. La chimiothérapie est aujourd'hui beaucoup mieux tolérée qu’elle ne l’était auparavant, mais il existe encore des effets secondaires tels que nausées, diarrhée et vomissements.En outre, tombez dans les cheveux de la plupart des femmes. La chimiothérapie aide également à soulager l’inconfort lorsque le cancer est déjà bien avancé et donc incurable.

Certaines cellules tumorales possèdent des récepteurs pour les hormones sexuelles féminines œstrogène et progestatif. Dans ce cas, l'hormonothérapie est possible. Plusieurs possibilités s'offrent à vous: Les anti-œstrogènes occupent les récepteurs situés sur les cellules tumorales, de sorte que les œstrogènes ne peuvent pas se bloquer Des saignements peuvent survenir pendant le traitement et le risque de thrombose augmente. Les inhibiteurs d’aromatase empêchent la libération d’œstrogènes; comme effet secondaire, ils peuvent causer des problèmes musculaires et articulaires.

D'autres formes de traitement commencent directement sur les ovaires: il est possible de retirer chirurgicalement les ovaires ou de les couper par radiothérapie. Si une femme souhaite avoir des enfants plus tard, l'utilisation d'analogues de la GnRH peut empêcher temporairement les ovaires de produire de l'œstrogène. Toutes ces mesures placent la femme dans un état semblable à celui de la ménopause.

Si la protéine HER2 est présente dans la tumeur, vous pouvez ralentir sa croissance avec un traitement par anticorps. Ici, on utilise le médicament anticancéreux Herceptin, dont le traitement a été approuvé depuis l'été 2006.



Existe-t-il des méthodes de guérison douces?

Le cancer du sein est une maladie dangereuse qui doit être traitée par les médecins de premier recours. Les thérapies alternatives peuvent aider à améliorer la santé des femmes pendant le traitement. Les exercices de relaxation tels que l'entraînement autogène ou l'aide du yoga dans les situations d'épuisement, l'acupuncture peuvent soulager les nausées et la douleur. Les patients doivent toujours consulter leur médecin avant d'utiliser des thérapies alternatives en plus de leur thérapie.

Pour de nombreuses méthodes de guérison alternatives, il n'a pas été scientifiquement prouvé qu'elles fonctionnent réellement, prévient le service d'information sur le cancer du Centre allemand de recherche sur le cancer. Manquent également souvent d'informations sur les effets secondaires possibles et les interactions avec la médecine conventionnelle. Parce que cela soi-disant "doux" signifie avec des ingrédients actifs naturels sont généralement inoffensifs, est une erreur.

En outre, Krebs attire de nombreux hommes d’affaires qui profitent du désespoir des patients pour retirer de l’argent de leurs poches. Par précaution, le Service d’information sur le cancer conseille avant tout:

  • si le prestataire interdit au patient de consulter son médecin traitant à propos du traitement alternatif.
  • si le prestataire conseille d'annuler le traitement médical conventionnel.
  • Si le vendeur promet, sa guérison aidera à lutter contre tous les types de cancer et le cancer à tous les stades.
  • si le fournisseur exige un paiement à l'avance.
  • si le fournisseur est situé à l'étranger et / ou les fonds ne peuvent être commandés que par Internet.

La nutrition n'affecte pas le cancer. Les régimes anticancéreux et les jeûnes censés affamer la tumeur peuvent même être dangereux: ils interdisent souvent les suppléments énergétiques et vitaminiques, ce qui serait important pour les patients qui suivent un traitement anticancéreux épuisant.

Le traitement alternatif le plus connu contre le cancer est la thérapie au gui, qui trouve son origine dans l'enseignement anthroposophique. Largement inconnu en dehors du monde germanophone, il est répandu en Allemagne. Dans de nombreux cas, les compagnies d’assurance maladie paient le traitement. Ici, l’extrait de gui disponible au comptoir est injecté sous la peau. Les fabricants de préparations à base de gui promettent divers effets: les moyens devraient augmenter l'appétit, soulager la douleur, rendre plus résistante aux infections, améliorer l'humeur et le bien-être.

Beaucoup de femmes sont convaincues que le gui les aide à se sentir mieux. À ce jour, toutefois, les experts ne sont pas d’accord sur le point de savoir si les préparations à base de gui améliorent réellement l’état de santé ou même si les tumeurs peuvent ralentir ou guérir, comme cela a été affirmé à plusieurs reprises. Les études scientifiques actuelles sur le traitement par le gui ont peu d’utilité, même s’il est prouvé que ce traitement améliore le bien-être des patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein pendant la chimiothérapie. Mais il n’existe pas d’étude fiable sur les effets secondaires du gui - les fabricants des préparations font diverses déclarations, telles que fièvre, frissons ou réactions allergiques.

Vous trouverez plus d'informations scientifiques sur les traitements alternatifs du cancer sur le site Web du service d'information sur le cancer.

Dans le traitement conventionnel du cancer, il est parfois impossible d'éviter des effets secondaires graves: la chimiothérapie, par exemple, provoque la chute des cheveux, les radiations irritent la peau et l'hormonothérapie déclenche des bouffées de chaleur. Ici, le Service d'information sur le cancer a rassemblé de nombreuses informations sur la manière de traiter les effets secondaires tels que ceux-ci - de manière douce et orthodoxe.

Comment puis-je me protéger?

Un mode de vie sain réduit considérablement le risque de cancer du sein. Les femmes doivent donc boire moins d’alcool, faire attention à leur poids et faire de l’exercice régulièrement. Dans certaines circonstances, un traitement hormonal substitutif des symptômes de la ménopause peut augmenter le risque de cancer du sein. Les femmes à risque familial doivent donc éviter ce traitement.

Bien que le dépistage précoce ne puisse prévenir le cancer du sein, il permet de le détecter et de le traiter à temps. Chaque femme devrait périodiquement scanner son sein. Le meilleur moment pour cela est entre le septième et le douzième jour après le début de la période menstruelle. À cette occasion, vérifiez également dans le miroir si l'apparence du sein a changé. Pour les femmes de plus de 30 ans, payez à l'assurance maladie une fois par an un examen de palpation chez le gynécologue.

Depuis 2007, un dépistage mammographique complet est organisé en Allemagne pour les femmes âgées de 50 à 69 ans: tous les deux ans, les femmes de cet âge sont invitées à subir un examen radiologique du sein; les frais pour la mammographie sont couverts par l'assurance maladie. Aux États-Unis, on s’interroge sur la question de savoir si les femmes en bonne santé ayant des antécédents familiaux de risque accru de cancer du sein devraient se faire amputer les seins par mesure de précaution. Il s'agit d'une étape radicale qui ne devrait être envisagée qu'après consultation avec le médecin.

Où puis-je obtenir plus d'informations?

L'association femmes auto-assistance après un cancer offre le contact à de nombreux groupes d'entraide locaux. Vous y trouverez également une analyse du risque de cancer du sein.

Sur le site Web de l’initiative, Mamazone propose entre autres un lexique complet et, sous le point "Diagnostic du cancer du sein", des listes de contrôle utiles à trouver.

L’Association Breast Cancer Germany propose de nombreuses brochures sur sa page d’accueil à télécharger, par exemple avec des conseils pour une palpation correcte du sein ou contre les effets secondaires de la chimiothérapie.

Le cancer du sein du diagnostic au traitement loco-régional (Septembre 2020).



Santé des femmes, Cancer, Allemagne, Chimiothérapie, RKI, Oestrogène, Tumeur, Encyclopédie de la santé, Cancer du sein