Johanna Maier: Every day a new experiment


How do we know her?

Johanna Maier manages together with her husband Dietmar the "Hotel Hubertus" in Filzmoos in Austria, only 50 kilometers from the border to Germany. She has revolutionized the Austrian cuisine with a lot of self-confidence and creativity and has been awarded several times.

Today, the restaurant decorates four hoods, that's all there is to it. The company is one of the best three restaurants in Austria. The jury of the Michelin Guide tastes their food as good as the colleagues of Gault Millau: It gives her two out of three possible stars. Johanna Maier likes to reveal the secrets of her cooking skills - she is the author of several cookbooks.



What is your cooking philosophy?

"To have good taste - and to produce - you can learn," says the top chef. Johanna Maier explains in conversation with ChroniquesDuVasteMonde.com that she has taught herself most of the cooking. "That's why I can empathize with amateur cooks," she says. Only a few chefs would have the right feeling for cooking right from the start - even they would not have had it.

"Every day, it's a taster, a taste, an experiment, a feeling for the perfect," says Johanna Maier. Ideas for new dishes she finds when going for a walk, when she perceives different colors and smells. Then she goes with anticipation into the kitchen and experiments until she is satisfied, because "cooking is never over".

Of course, she has help in the kitchen, but it is very important to her that she cooks the dishes herself. She is convinced that her guests expect that too. She compares her restaurant guests with visitors to a museum: "If you go to a museum to see a picture of Picasso, then you should have painted it and not some young artist".



First successes?

In the sports hotel of her Austrian hometown Radstadt, Johanna Maier completed a cookery and waiter apprenticeship in the 1970s. At that time, she had no idea that she would later earn her living as a top chef. In an apprentice competition she met her future husband Dietmar Maier - with him she has four children today. The two got involved in the operation of his parents.

During the first ten years, Johanna Maier took care of the service and guest rooms while her husband and mother-in-law were in charge of the kitchen. After her mother-in-law's death in 1984, Johanna Maier also worked in the hotel kitchen and cooked as she had learned. But she wanted more.

Then the key experience after their first season as a cook: A meal in a top-class restaurant, at the Obauers in nearby Werfen. Johanna Maier is enthusiastic and now knows: "That's how I want to cook". She attends a cooking seminar at the three-star chef Dieter Müller, is inspired by him. With success: The first hood of the delicatessen guide Gault Millau in 1987 was just the beginning.



And otherwise?

There is not much life next to the cooking pot for Johanna Maier. Your day in the kitchen starts at 9 o'clock - long before the first lunchtime guests order their menu. Before midnight, she usually does not manage to get away from the stove. She finds the necessary balance every day while jogging, sometimes with yoga training, cycling or dancing.

"You have to give a lot for this profession," she says and her voice sounds wistful. Nevertheless, she can no longer imagine a life without cooking. "It took me a long time to get there, but it was absolutely right."

For their family there is usually a fast and healthy kitchen. Vegetables, salad and herbs are always there, but the dishes must be funny and taste interesting. "But that's quick and easy, if you can," says the top chef with a laugh.

Cooking with Johanna Maier: books and cooking classes

Books: "My cooking school" with DVD by Johanna Maier (October 2005, 45 Euro, Collection Rolf Heyne) and "Johanna Maier" by Johanna Maier (September 2003, 35 Euro, Collection Rolf Heyne)

Courses: Johanna Maier offers cooking courses for those interested. Currently, however, all courses are fully booked until further notice. Information and contact at www.hotelhubertus.at

Your recipe for ChroniquesDuVasteMonde.com: Lukewarm asparagus with seafood

Everything you think you know about addiction is wrong | Johann Hari (July 2020).



Austria, Gault-Millau, Germany, restaurant, Michelin Guide, top chef, Johanna Maier

Johanna Maier: chaque jour une nouvelle expérience

Comment la connaissons-nous?

Johanna Maier gère avec son mari Dietmar l'hôtel Hubertus à Filzmoos en Autriche, à seulement 50 kilomètres de la frontière allemande. Elle a révolutionné la cuisine autrichienne avec beaucoup de confiance en soi et de créativité et a été récompensée à plusieurs reprises.

Aujourd'hui, le restaurant décore quatre hottes, c'est tout. La société est l’un des trois meilleurs restaurants en Autriche. Le jury du Guide Michelin goûte leur nourriture ainsi que les collègues de Gault Millau: Cela lui donne deux étoiles sur trois possibles. Johanna Maier aime révéler les secrets de ses compétences culinaires - elle est l'auteur de plusieurs livres de cuisine.



Quelle est votre philosophie de cuisine?

"Pour avoir du bon goût - et produire - vous pouvez apprendre", déclare le grand chef. Johanna Maier explique dans une conversation avec ChroniquesDuVasteMonde.com qu'elle a appris la majeure partie de sa cuisine. "C'est pourquoi je peux comprendre les cuisiniers amateurs", dit-elle. Dès le début, seuls quelques chefs auraient le sentiment de cuisiner, même s'ils ne l'auraient pas eu.

"Chaque jour, c'est un goûteur, un goût, une expérience, un sentiment du parfait", déclare Johanna Maier. Idées de nouveaux plats qu’elle trouve lors d’une promenade, quand elle perçoit des couleurs et des odeurs différentes. Puis elle entre dans la cuisine avec anticipation et fait des expériences jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit satisfaite, car "la cuisine n'est jamais finie".

Bien sûr, elle a de l'aide dans la cuisine, mais il est très important pour elle de cuisiner elle-même. Elle est convaincue que ses invités l'attendent aussi. Elle compare ses clients au restaurant avec les visiteurs d'un musée: "Si vous allez dans un musée pour voir une image de Picasso, vous devez la peindre et non un jeune artiste".



Premiers succès?

Dans l’hôtel du sport de sa ville natale autrichienne de Radstadt, Johanna Maier a terminé un apprentissage de la cuisine et des serveurs dans les années 1970. À cette époque, elle ne savait pas qu'elle gagnerait plus tard sa vie en tant que grand chef. Lors d'un concours d'apprentis, elle a rencontré son futur mari, Dietmar Maier. Elle a aujourd'hui quatre enfants avec lui. Les deux se sont impliqués dans l'opération de ses parents.

Au cours des dix premières années, Johanna Maier s'est occupée du service et des chambres tandis que son mari et sa belle-mère étaient responsables de la cuisine. Après le décès de sa belle-mère en 1984, Johanna Maier travailla également dans la cuisine de l'hôtel et cuisinait comme elle l'avait appris. Mais elle en voulait plus.

Puis l'expérience clé après leur première saison en tant que cuisinière: Un repas dans un restaurant de grande classe, chez les Obauers à Werfen, à proximité. Johanna Maier est enthousiaste et sait maintenant: "C'est comme ça que je veux cuisiner". Elle assiste à un séminaire de cuisine chez le chef trois étoiles Dieter Müller, s'inspire de lui. Avec succès: le premier capot du guide de charcuterie Gault Millau en 1987 n’était que le début.



Et sinon?

Pour Johanna Maier, il n’ya pas beaucoup de vie à côté de la marmite. Votre journée dans la cuisine commence à 9 heures, bien avant que les premiers invités de midi commandent leur menu. Avant minuit, elle ne parvient généralement pas à s'éloigner du poêle. Elle trouve tous les jours l’équilibre nécessaire en faisant du jogging, parfois avec des cours de yoga, du vélo ou de la danse.

"Vous devez donner beaucoup pour ce métier", dit-elle, sa voix est mélancolique. Néanmoins, elle ne peut plus imaginer une vie sans cuisiner. "Cela m'a pris beaucoup de temps pour y arriver, mais c'était absolument juste."

Pour leur famille, il existe généralement une cuisine rapide et saine. Les légumes, la salade et les herbes sont toujours présents, mais les plats doivent être amusants et avoir un goût intéressant. "Mais c'est rapide et facile, si vous le pouvez", dit en riant le grand chef.

Cuisiner avec Johanna Maier: livres et cours de cuisine

Livres: "Mon école de cuisine" avec DVD de Johanna Maier (octobre 2005, 45 euros, Collection Rolf Heyne) et "Johanna Maier" de Johanna Maier (septembre 2003, 35 euros, Collection Rolf Heyne)

cours: Johanna Maier propose des cours de cuisine pour les personnes intéressées. Actuellement, cependant, tous les cours sont complets jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Informations et contact sur www.hotelhubertus.at

Votre recette pour ChroniquesDuVasteMonde.com: Asperges tièdes aux fruits de mer

Photographer’s in Focus: Issui Enomoto (Septembre 2020).



Autriche, Gault-Millau, Allemagne, restaurant, Guide Michelin, meilleur chef, Johanna Maier