Lanzarote

The ferry stops at Playa Blanca, the place in southern Lanzarote. On the right is the bright Papagayo beach, where lavas, which flowed into the sea centuries ago, have divided into bays. Finally, on the port side, a colorful harbor with bars and restaurants behind which white holiday bungalows have conquered the hillside - Playa Blanca!

Wild game of color contrasts

The road to the north. On the right Yaiza appears, a village on the edge of hell. And Yaiza shines! The snow-white houses shine with their bottle-green window frames; green date palms and dragon trees, and the red hibiscus flames. It is this wild play of contrasts that makes up Lanzarote's character.



Lanzarote has hardly any groundwater. And rain falls as seldom as on Fuerteventura. But this island has wine, lots of wine. Already Shakespeare's Falstaff took possession of Lanzarote's heavy Malvasia. Because the Lanzaroteños had discovered early that the Picón helps them to grow. Picón they call the fine-grained lava, which was distributed in the volcanic eruptions far across the island. The dew condenses on the porous stones and seeps into the soil. So the campesinos dug holes in the asphalt layer until they found fertile ground. They put the plants in each of them - each in its own funnel.

The sunset gilds the city

Teguise, the oldest city in the Canary Islands, is just a few kilometers away. Silence. A few tourists only, a few old men in front of a bar. The white of the houses and the churches reflects the afternoon sun and blinds the eyes. The city is built entirely in Andalusian style, unlike Arrecife, the capital, otherwise as Haría in the north. Teguise could also be in Mexico or southern California.



The next day I meet Mario Perdomo in Arrecife. The 38-year-old journalist is a member of the board of "El Guincho", the most important cultural and environmental organization in Lanzarote. One of its founders more than ten years ago was the painter and sculptor César Manrique, who shaped the face of the island like no other.

The island as a Gesamtkunstwerk

It was Manrique's idea to turn this island of contrasts into a total work of art through human intervention. He created the lookout point on the strait between Lanzarote and La Graciosa, influenced the island architecture, built restaurants and hotels in a style appropriate to the grandiose landscape; and at every important intersection are his wind chimes. The largest near the village of Tahiche, where Manrique was killed in a traffic accident in 1992. César Manrique was the unwanted father of that mass tourism who devoured the land in Puerto del Carmen, Playa Blanca and Costa Teguise.



In the footsteps of the volcano

The hell of Timanfaya: From 1730 on, the volcanoes roared in Lanzarote for 6 years, burying 14 villages and an area of ​​200 square kilometers under their magma. On a dead straight road I drive through black, violent, hostile country. One still thinks to feel the heat and the fire, which broke over the people at that time. In front of me the Montañas del Fuego, the mountains of fire. They shine in every imaginable red and yellow tones. They are the colors of death and destruction.

The sun is burning and the storm stifles every word in this landscape. At the viewpoint Islote de Hilario, where Manrique built the restaurant "El Diablo", I change to a bus. Slowly he drives through hollow paths of solidified slag to the crater rim of Timanfaya. Music by Beethoven and the finale of Richard Strauss' "Zarathustra" - a background for a bizarre color play of nature, for a beautiful tragedy.

travel service

residential: Hotel "Meliá Salinas", luxury hotel, designed for the César Manrique the jungle-like courtyard and the beautiful pool landscape. Two first class restaurants. It is considered one of the best hostels in Spain.

to eat and drink

"El Amanecer", c / Garita in Arrieta, Tel. 0034-28-83 54 84: Canarian cuisine, fish specialties.

"La Canada", c / Cesar Manrique 3, Puerto del Carmen, tel. 0034-28-51 21 08: upscale style, freshly caught fish, lamb and rabbit dishes.

"El Moreno", c / Quintero 24 in San Bartolomé, Tel. 0034-28-52 03 87: rustic and local, large portions, especially spit slices, crabs in garlic.

"El Bar del Club" in the marina of Puerto Calero, nice view, great service, Fridays barbecue with live music. "LagOmar" in Oasis de Nazaret, below the Casa Omar Sharif, Tel. 0034-28-84 56 65: fantastic complex with crater lake and waterfall, first-class cuisine.

holiday reading

the novel "Océano" by Alberto Vázquez-Figueroa, set in the late forties, is the first part of a trilogy about the fate of the Lanzaroteñan fisherman family Perdomo (Goldman Paperback).

Lanzarote Vacation Travel Guide | Expedia (October 2020).



Lanzarote, Restaurant, Fuerteventura, Canary Islands, Spain, Canary Islands, Lanzarote

Lanzarote


Le ferry s'arrête à Playa Blanca, la ville du sud de Lanzarote. Sur la droite, la brillante plage de Papagayo, où les laves qui se sont déversées dans la mer il y a plusieurs siècles se sont divisées en baies. Enfin, du côté du port, un port coloré avec des bars et des restaurants derrière lequel des bungalows de vacances blancs ont conquis la colline - Playa Blanca!

Jeu sauvage de contrastes de couleurs

La route au nord. Sur la droite, Yaiza apparaît, un village au bord de l'enfer. Et Yaiza brille! Les maisons blanches comme la neige brillent de par leurs fenêtres de couleur vert bouteille. palmiers dattiers verts et dragonniers, et les flammes d'hibiscus rouge. C'est ce jeu de contraste sauvage qui compose le personnage de Lanzarote.



Lanzarote n'a pratiquement pas d'eau souterraine. Et la pluie tombe aussi rarement qu'à Fuerteventura. Mais cette île a du vin, beaucoup de vin. Déjà, le Falstaff de Shakespeare a pris possession du lourd Malvasia de Lanzarote. Parce que les Lanzaroteños avaient découvert très tôt que le Picón les aidait à grandir. Picón, ils appellent la lave à grain fin, qui a été distribuée dans les éruptions volcaniques loin de l'île. La rosée se condense sur les pierres poreuses et s'infiltre dans le sol. Les campesinos ont donc creusé des trous dans la couche d’asphalte jusqu’à ce qu’ils trouvent un terrain fertile. Ils ont mis les plantes dans chacune d’elles - chacune dans son propre entonnoir.

Le coucher de soleil dore la ville

Teguise, la plus ancienne ville des îles Canaries, se trouve à seulement quelques kilomètres. Silence. Quelques touristes seulement, quelques vieillards devant un bar.Le blanc des maisons et des églises reflète le soleil de l’après-midi et aveugle les yeux. La ville est entièrement construite dans le style andalou, contrairement à Arrecife, la capitale, sinon à Haría au nord. Teguise pourrait aussi être au Mexique ou dans le sud de la Californie.



Le lendemain, je rencontre Mario Perdomo à Arrecife. Le journaliste, âgé de 38 ans, est membre du conseil d'administration de "El Guincho", la plus importante organisation culturelle et environnementale de Lanzarote. Il y a plus de dix ans, l'un de ses fondateurs était le peintre et sculpteur César Manrique, qui a façonné le visage de l'île à nul autre pareil.

L'île en tant que Gesamtkunstwerk

Manrique a eu l'idée de transformer cette île de contrastes en une œuvre d'art totale par l'intervention humaine. Il créa le belvédère sur le détroit entre Lanzarote et La Graciosa, influença l'architecture de l'île, construisit des restaurants et des hôtels dans un style approprié au paysage grandiose. et à chaque intersection importante sont ses carillons éoliens. Le plus important près du village de Tahiche, où Manrique a été tué dans un accident de la circulation en 1992. César Manrique était le père indésirable de ce tourisme de masse qui a dévoré les terres de Puerto del Carmen, Playa Blanca et Costa Teguise.



Sur les traces du volcan

L'enfer de Timanfaya: À partir de 1730, les volcans ont rugi à Lanzarote pendant 6 ans, ensevelissant 14 villages et une superficie de 200 kilomètres carrés sous leur magma. Sur une route droite et morte, je traverse un pays noir, violent et hostile. On pense encore à sentir la chaleur et le feu qui ont envahi les gens à cette époque. Devant moi les Montañas del Fuego, les montagnes de feu. Ils brillent dans tous les tons imaginables de rouge et de jaune. Ils sont les couleurs de la mort et de la destruction.

Le soleil brûle et la tempête étouffe chaque mot de ce paysage. Au point de vue Islote de Hilario, où Manrique a construit le restaurant "El Diablo", je change de bus. Lentement, il traverse des chemins creux de scories solidifiées jusqu'au bord du cratère de Timanfaya. Musique de Beethoven et finale de "Zarathustra" de Richard Strauss - un fond pour un jeu de couleurs bizarre de la nature, pour une belle tragédie.

Service Voyage

résidentiel: Hôtel "Meliá Salinas", hôtel de luxe, conçu pour le César Manrique, sa cour et sa belle piscine. Deux restaurants de première classe. Il est considéré comme l'un des meilleurs auberges d'Espagne.

Nourriture et boisson

"El Amanecer", c / Garita à Arrieta, 0034-28-83 54 84: cuisine canarienne, spécialités de poisson.

"La Canada", C / César Manrique 3, Puerto del Carmen, tél 0034-28-51 21 08: style haut de gamme, plats de poisson, d'agneau et de lapin fraîchement pêchés.

"El Moreno", c / Quintero 24 à San Bartolomé, tél .: 0034-28-52 03 87: rustique et typique du pays, grandes portions, notamment tranches de broche, crabes à l'ail.

"El Bar del Club" dans la marina de Puerto Calero, belle vue, excellent service, barbecue le vendredi avec musique en direct. "LAGOMAR" à Oasis de Nazaret, au-dessous de la Casa Omar Sharif, tél .: 0034-28-84 56 65: complexe fantastique avec lac de cratère et cascade, cuisine de première classe.

lecture de vacances

Le roman "Océano" de Alberto Vázquez-Figueroa, à la fin des années 40, est la première partie d’une trilogie sur le sort de la famille de pêcheurs de Lanzaroteñan, Perdomo (Goldman Paperback).

Lanzarote Vacation Travel Guide | Expedia (Août 2020).



Lanzarote, restaurant, Fuerteventura, îles Canaries, Espagne, îles Canaries, Lanzarote