One who does not just watch: how Harald Höppner saves refugees in distress


"We are a floating eye on the sea that can call for help"

The idea arose at a Brandenburg kitchen table: The entrepreneur Harald Höppner, who had never sailed at sea, discussed the situation of the refugees on the Mediterranean with friends. Everyone agreed that they did not want to stand by dying. They decided to merge for a ship that helps refugees in distress.

The helpfulness was great

In the winter, they bought a fishing boat that was almost 100 years old, which was last used as a living ship, and made it seaworthy again. Höppner and his friends were surprised at how easy it was to find volunteers who wanted to work: captains, doctors, mechanics, lawyers, social workers, journalists, SMEs, craftsmen, educators and engineers - "ordinary people", as Höppner says.



The goal: to provide first aid

The ship is too small to accommodate refugees. The goal is to provide first aid. It has inflatable life rafts on board and is well equipped for communication. "We are a floating eye on the sea that can call for help."

The plan is to patrol the sea between Libya and Lampedusa and give emergency calls to the Italian Sea Rescue and Coast Guard. "The Italians are very anxious to help, unlike Frontex," says a helper. Frontex's job is to protect the EU's borders - not the refugees.

So you can support

On 19 April, the "MS Sea Watch" set sail from Hamburg. The ship does not arrive one minute too early: probably more than 1000 refugees drowned in the Mediterranean last weekend. The situation has worsened since Operation Mare Nostrum, which has saved more than 130,000 lives, has been suspended by the EU.

The project is financed by private funds. If Sea-Watch is to be successful in the long term, it depends on donations. You can support it at //sea-watch.org.



Join in the ChroniquesDuVasteMonde community

What should be done about the refugee disaster? In the ChroniquesDuVasteMonde community you can talk: refugee catastrophe on the Mediterranean - how can the situation be improved?

Sea Watch - Saving lives in the Mediterranean sea (subtitled) (July 2020).



Mediterranean, ship, EU

Quelqu'un qui ne fait pas que regarder: comment Harald Höppner sauve les réfugiés en détresse

"Nous sommes un oeil flottant sur la mer qui peut appeler à l'aide"

L'idée est née à une table de cuisine brandebourgeoise: l'entrepreneur Harald Höppner, qui n'avait jamais navigué en mer, a discuté de la situation des réfugiés sur la Méditerranée avec des amis. Tout le monde a convenu qu'ils ne voulaient pas rester morts. Ils ont décidé de fusionner pour un navire qui aide les réfugiés en détresse.

La serviabilité était super

En hiver, ils ont acheté un bateau de pêche vieux de près de 100 ans, utilisé pour la dernière fois comme navire vivant, et l'ont rendu à nouveau en état de naviguer. Höppner et ses amis ont été surpris de voir à quel point il était facile de trouver des volontaires qui souhaitaient travailler: capitaines, médecins, mécaniciens, avocats, travailleurs sociaux, journalistes, PME, artisans, éducateurs et ingénieurs - des "gens ordinaires", comme le dit Höppner.

L'objectif: fournir les premiers secours

Le navire est trop petit pour accueillir des réfugiés. L'objectif est de fournir les premiers secours. Il a des radeaux de sauvetage gonflables à bord et est bien équipé pour la communication. "Nous sommes un oeil flottant sur la mer qui peut appeler à l'aide."

Il est prévu de patrouiller la mer entre la Libye et Lampedusa et d'appeler d'urgence les services italiens de sauvetage en mer et de garde-côtes. "Les Italiens sont très désireux d'aider, contrairement à Frontex", déclare un assistant. Le travail de Frontex est de protéger les frontières de l'UE - pas les réfugiés.

Afin que vous puissiez soutenir

Le 19 avril, le "MS Sea Watch" a quitté Hambourg. Le navire n'arrive pas une minute trop tôt: probablement plus de 1000 réfugiés se sont noyés en Méditerranée ce week-end. La situation s'est aggravée depuis que l'opération Mare Nostrum, qui a permis de sauver plus de 130 000 vies, a été abandonnée par l'UE.

Le projet est financé par des fonds privés. Si Sea-Watch veut réussir à long terme, cela dépend des dons. Vous pouvez le soutenir sur //sea-watch.org.

Rejoignez la communauté ChroniquesDuVasteMonde

Que devrait-on faire à propos de la catastrophe des réfugiés? Dans la communauté ChroniquesDuVasteMonde, vous pouvez parler: catastrophe des réfugiés en Méditerranée - comment améliorer la situation?

Sea-Watch: Saving lives in the Mediterranean Sea (WDR 2015) [SUBTITLES ENG/FR] (Décembre 2019).


Méditerranée, bateau, UE